We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So excited..! just booked my holiday at the Flamingo (Again)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Flamingo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So excited..! just booked my holiday at the Flamingo (Again)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We are going back again to the Flamingo this August... we must have had at least 10 holidays there, and have never been disappointed, The staff are amazing, they never fail to deliver- nothing is too much trouble for them. We always stay in a Niddi suite - Fabulous ! big and roomy with huge terrace per suite, The hotel itself is right on a beautiful clean and safe beach, the food is very good, I have an ITALIAN husband who is very fussy about his food....! and he is always happy. Compared to hotels in general in Sardinia.. The flamingo great value for money ....

Room Tip: Corner Suite..For us its NO 534 Sun all day Long.... and very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacktallu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    300
    148
    107
    88
See reviews for
313
295
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Got back from a week at this hotel about week ago. What a massive disappointment! Would not recommend it to anyone for the following reasons:

Reception staff were rude, not knowledgeable and unhelpful. The information they gave out was in dribs and drabs and changed from one day to the next. They have absolutely no idea about customer service.

The food was yuk. It was felt like we were sitting in a school canteen and the quality was not much better. Example, is it acceptable to give guests crisps as the potato element of a main course? or use instant mash in a potato croquette? The portions of the main courses were tiny and more often than not we were hungry (and no, we are not people with excessive appetites!), their was a lack of fresh fruit or veg (even at breakfast). I eventually had to get a bus to a town to buy fruit and saw half of the hotel guests there doing the same thing!! It says it all that I lost half stone in a week.

The drinks were very expensive and there are no nearby supermarkets from which to buy cheaper options. The hotel is isolated from the town by about 5

A taxi to the town was 20€ for a 5km drive.

The entertainers spoke Italian exclusively and seemed to be very focused on the young children, A baby disco with very annoying music as the main event for the evening. What were the adults supposed to do if they wanted to enjoy a drink or two on the main terrace? Wear ear plugs? Or sit there looking at 2 and 3 year olds looking very tired and bewildered on the stage. Bizarre!

Showers in the room were rubbish. Hand held and low pressure with lukewarm water.

Paying for towels? And parasol & sunbeds too? Seriously? At a four star?

I have never ever experienced a four star hotel like this. I have stayed in Italian hotels before and the three star ones were far bette than this one with amazing customer service and good food. The Hotel Flamingo should be stripped of its four star status NOW.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Margherita di Pula hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The good:
1. Great animation team. They do everything from yoga to crèche at the beach.
2. Half board dinner is decent quality (service is another story!) and tasty in the main restaurant (the coral), and even better at the wild duck restaurant on the other side of the resort. The latter offers a finer more sophisticated menu, but caters well for families.
3. Well maintained gardens and trees. They have a little playground which, despite needing maintenance, offers a spot out of the sun for kids
4. Hotel is right at the beach! Easy access to a lovely sandy beach with calm waters, and only seconds away from the hotel swimming pools. So, in this regard, it offers quite a relaxing atmosphere for a beach holiday.
5. Our room was spacious and comfortable (but we did stay in a nidi suite)
But that's where it ends!

The bad:
1. Worst reception service I have ever encountered at any hotel. The older woman at the reception was very cold and did not seem interested in offering any sort of service. We overheard another guest complaining about the wi-fi being down, and she had a "not my problem" attitude about it. The younger staff were friendlier, but depending on who you get and/or the time of the day, you get different answers! They all seem clueless, probably due to poor management.
2. Really bad dining service at the main restaurant. Most of the waiters appear to be trainees, and on top of that they appeared understaffed. Dinner was abit of a waiting game between courses, and took an age to finish (tricky when you have very young and restless children with you). One morning, we even had to clear our own breakfast table, as there was only 1 waiter for about 15 tables. The wild duck was significantly better, but still a little slow.
3. Breakfast and lunch options are not up to scratch. The only hot option they had was scrambled eggs that looked like they were made the night before. Lunch buffet is not worth the 25euros they were charging, very basic options. You are better off going to the bar to order a cheap and cheerful pizza, salad or ham toastie. The problem is that you are limited only to those options. So, if you may very well be stuck with this menu for a whole week, if you remain in the hotel.
4. Mealtimes start too late, especially for families. Breakfast only starts at 7.30, lunch at 12.30 (bar serves food from 12), and dinner at 7.30pm. The bar does not serve any snacks before 12, and there are no shops in the hotel that offers snacks (only one shop which sells swimming amenities, toiletries, not much else). You will find yourself constantly hungry in this hotel! The nearest proper grocery shops are 5kms away in town! There is a "baby disco" entertainment for kids at 9.30pm, which the kids seemed to love, but you have bedtime meltdown to deal with afterwards, since you are battling both exhaustion and adrenaline, not a good combination for little ones!
5. You get charged for beach towels, and for the use of sun decks and table at the beach. You also need to pay 15euros to use the wellness centre downstairs (unless you have a nidi suite). Wi-fi is also very expensive and only works in the main reception area.
6. The wellness centre is too cold, water is too cold to be relaxing. The Turkish bath was broken when we were there, and I found a small piece of plastic floating in the pool....
7. Shower in bedroom is not well designed. Water seeps easily into the wooden doorframe, giving the room a damp smell, unless you turn on the air conditioning. (Which we did not want to be doing the whole time)
8. Both restaurants catered poorly for vegetarians
9.mini gold and tennis courts require maintenance, looking quite run down
10. Room does not offer moisturisers or conditioners. For a 4-star, I would have expected this
11. Minor point, but there was a lack of bins in the hotel! I found myself constantly searching for bins whilst out of the room.
12. We got a waft of sewage one morning when we opened the door to our balcony. It was only that morning, must have been quite windy, but it can imagine this is not a very pleasant experience for rooms closer the the source of the smell...
13. Too expensive for what it is, not a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C2014K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have just returned from this hotel. Mainly we had a pleasant stay, but there are some very important issues this hotel needs to address urgently.
Hotel maintainance is poor and we found many things that had been poorly maintained and could cause accidents. Cracked tiles around the pool area. Leaking water in hotel bathrooms and toilets.Towel rails hanging loose. Loose curtain rails. Unmaintained disabled access.
The hotel management's attitude is very casual and sometimes very unprofessional and rude. Complaints are dismissed with a shrug and are rarely dealt with. Air conditioning and safe not working in room. We complained twice about this, but nothing was done. The Sardatur rep was hopeless, and knew nothing about the hotel, transport etc. She was more
interested in flogging her day trips.
Some of the staff including the cleaners and waiters are excellent. Nicholetta, Nichola and Valentina are fantastic and deserve the highest praise for their professional and friendly service. The reception staff however, need to go back to hospitality school, to learn how to be efficient, pleasant and welcoming. One particular German woman who works on the desk, is unbelievably rude. I cannot understand why she is employed at this hotel. She can barely raise a smile and has nothing but distain for the guests. She does nothing for the hotels image and everyone we met said the same.There is definitely a defensive attitude and this hotel, which we just can't understand.
The hotel entainment was bad and all in Italian, which is fine but none of the entertainers spoke any English, which is poor, when you are dealing with international guests. The huge metal structure in the middle of the pool area, put up for the entainment was ugly and unnecessary, and spoiled the look of gardens and pool.
The food is quite good and plenty of choice, but often cold. Poor choice for desserts. Cheese would be nice option ,I think.
Bar prices are a bit expensive €8 for a G and T.
Overall this hotel is quite old fashioned. It needs to be modernised with proper multi channel flat screen tv's in rooms and to improve the wifi so that it can be obtained throughout the hotel, and not just in reception, as it is at the moment. It is a pretty hotel in lovely surroundings, with good food and drink, but desperately needs some investment in modernisation and staff training. The management is very poor and it is so sad to see a lovely hotel ruined by uncaring and casual staff. We asked three times for our luggage to be brought to reception from our rooms, on leaving. It was never done and in the end we had to struggle on our own and nearly missed our coach. Not good enough.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deelite17
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We travelled to Sardinia for a friends wedding and stayed at the Hotel Flamingo. I thought the hotel was lovely. The cleaners came to the room everyday so your room was always spotless. Massive pool and plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas so you will always find a place! In the afternoon the pool area is quite quiet, so although the hotel was fully booked you still have a lovely peacefull setting. Private beach too. you have to pay for a bed if you want it at the front but there are plenty of free beds. The hotel bar did a great Tuna Salad every day. Not much variety in the salads, but for me Tuna is my favourite so was great for me. You can't used cash so everything is put on your room, so i would say that is a little bit of a downside as you have to watch what your spending. We ate in the main restaurant twice, and the food was good, but not fantastic. The waiters rush around so quickly that you don't seem to relax and enjoy the food. It almost seems like they want to get you in and out as fast as possible. The food came out cold both nights, which was a shame as i think if it was hot, it would of been much nicer.
Taxi's are quite expensive (€15 for 2 mile journey). The town of Pula is not too far away where the food and drink is really cheap and great.

overall I had a fantastic time at the hotel and would recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Hire a car if you don't want to spend too much money on taxis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deelite17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The service was great. Staff were friendly and helpful from the start. Nicoletta, Giovanni, and Valentina were the best!! We were upgraded from Mare Pineta to Flamingo and we loved it! The beach was a 1 minute walk from the hotel. The pool area is fantastic. Breakfast was buffet style, very tasty, and dinner was a different menu every night with a selection of local dishes. Pula is only a short bus ride away if you don't have a car, and if you do, you can explore the nearby beaches of Chia. Overall we had an incredible holiday. Definitely recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony over the pool have a view of the sea as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andres V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Beautifully set hotel, on its own private beach. Plenty of room around the pool on sunbeds, and lots of seating areas inside and around pool. Very relaxing atmosphere and staff could not be more helpful. Hotel was spotless and with very good decor. Food was varied and tasty. The town of Pula is a 10minute bus ride away, Calghari an hour away, both worth a visit.
Sardinia is a beautiful, untouched island with regard to not being taken over by too much tourism, and I think this should be born in mind when considering a holiday there. Our hotel, as are many out there, was very secluded with no surrounding nightlife, so not one for young adults, but absolutely ideal for couples and young families.

Room Tip: Try a Nidi Superior room. Room quite compact, but balcony terrace was wonderful! Table chairs, umbre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 983juliej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita di Pula
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mare Pineta
Hotel Mare Pineta
#13 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baia di Nora
Baia di Nora
#6 of 26 in Pula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Castello
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Cas...
#1 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.6 mi away
Is Morus Relais
Is Morus Relais
#11 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
29.7 mi away
Hotel Cormoran
Hotel Cormoran
#7 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Property: Hotel Flamingo
Address: 800 (Localita S. Margherita) Strada Statale 195 33, 09010 Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Pula > Santa Margherita di Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Flamingo 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 35 km distance from port and airport of Sardinia's capital Cagliari, situated in a beautiful landscape, Hotel Flamingo is overlooking it's own beach of soft white sand and the crystal clear turquoise sea. The hotel is situated in an area rich of artistic and cultural sites which can be explored by car. In the year 2004 new opening of 64 rooms, including 20 suites and a Wellness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel
Hotel Flamingo Sardinia/Santa Margherita Di Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing