We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment”
Review of Hotel Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Flamingo
Worcestershire England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had booked this for a special occasion - what a sad disappointment. Although the setting is lovely, the hotel is really badly let down by the staff and their general attitude. In particular reception staff are totally uninterested in their customers and have no interest in helping their clientele. Requests for information are met with shrugs of the shoulders. No one seemed to care and sadly we noticed an old woman had been injured and they took no interest. Other people around us were complaining about the rudeness of staff. As for the food it wasn't bad but the service was terrible so we often had to wait a long time between courses - maybe they hoped they could increase our bar bills that way. My advice - there are lots of better places in Sardinia now - nice in the past - not so good now - needs to move on and so do we.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lucindah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    302
    150
    107
    88
See reviews for
313
297
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We chose to book our honeymoon to this place with secret escapes, the overall experience was good and we were lucky enough to be there for the bank holiday known as a Ferugosta, which was on the Friday of our stay, this involved lots of feasting on great food and lots of wine, the hotel really pulled out all the stops and it was great to be a part of it.

The hotel was clean and tidy and the rooms were adequate, free wifi in the lobby was helpful, the food and standard of the place was quite good too, the private beach included was nice but we would recommend visiting Turreda beach which was very beautiful, the rep wasn't overly helpful from Sardatur holidays but the local excursion guide by the name of Sandra LoPinto was very helpful and offered a great few days out, very knowledgeable. We would go back to Sardinia again but we would probably visit another part of the island, it was a great trip away and we met some lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korby2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed for one week in the hotel in August with 2 small children. Overall we had a nice holiday, but there are a few issues that management could simply sort out to make this a perfect stay.
- food quality overall was good with a nice variety of menu options, however service can be slow. The waiters are all working very hard but there seem to be too few, often we had coffee at the end of breakfast and water and wine half way through the dinner. The buffet does not get filled up quick enough to make the process smoothly. No separate kids menu, but waiters are happy to provide alternative food options, so it's ok. The cakes and deserts have been fantastic.
- rooms: if your are in a Nidi room or suit or fully refurbished rooms you are fine, the other rooms may be not so great and smell of mildew. Even the Nidi suits should be better maintained...broken lights, telephone not working, door for shower broken, etc....would be great to have a kettle in the room.
- no wifi in the rooms, and sometimes in reception not working.
- would not leave the kids in the kids club alone under any circumstances, it is not a safe environment, they can easily run off or get hurt. It might be different if you speak Italian.
- evening entertainment sometimes great, such as the Zumba nights
- location: if all you want is a relaxing holiday with good beach access you are at the right place. Apart from beach, pool, tennis and mini golf ( perfect early afternoon activity for the kids as nicely shaded within trees, but in need of an upgrade) there is not much else to do)
- as recommended by others, we took the bus to Pula to buy water at the supermarket which was much cheaper
- on the upside, overall the resort was relatively quiet, although fully booked and it never felt crowed.
Tips for management: make sure telephones are actually working, maintain your rooms better, have late check out options as standard, a bigger luggage room, more waiters, more English training for staff, better kids club facilities and activities, better trained reception staff, greater excursion program.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SC12314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for a week in all inclusive basis and overall it was very good. The complex is right on the beach and the room was good and clean. The hotel has 2 swimming pools you can use and we made use of sun loungers for free on the beach but apparently you had to pay for it. Although there were lots of families with small kids it was very quiet and peaceful. The food was great. The buffet lunch had still several choices of pasta and meats and dinner was always delicious with something new every night a la carte and lots of Sardinian specialities. The Sardinian wine was very good as well. The only thing the hotel is a bit cut off but there's a shuttle bus or renting a car is recommended if you want to explore the surroundings. The Chia peninsula have the best beaches 30 mins away so highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in I Nidi rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anabel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stay in the hotel was agreable. We were accommodated in the standard rooms The hotel benefits from good location - it is closed to the beach that is really wonderful. Food was good and tasty. However, I had the impression that you have to pay for everything in this hotel. There is no shop near the hotel: one bottle of water costs 3Euro, one bed on the beach 10Eur/per day. You can go by bus to Pula and do a shopping there. Our delegate brought us some packages of water. Wifi around the reception is not working. Air-conditioning on the room was quite warm. It seems to be four star hotel but we had only three stars on room keys. I suppose the hotel has transformed recently. The level of service was really poor. The dinner is late as it starts at 19:30 and it takes sometimes too much time to get your meal on dinner.We have spent our time mainly on the beach so we enjoyed our holidays.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanicePrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great location with the beach right on the Hotel door step. Very friendly staff who were more than helpful. The hotel pool area is well looked after and spacious. The bar waitress operated mostly on her own and was superb always with a smile and efficient an absolute credit.
One very small criticism confusion reigned over which restaurant we should be in. Partly due to communication between hotel, holiday company and us the client. Other than that I would seriously recommend the hotel. Overall the most relaxing holiday we have ever had.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Nidi rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Wonderful hotel, great food, brilliant staff, relaxing beach, wonderful location. We had a great time relaxing on the beach looking around the area great food every day at the hotel and very friendly helpful staff. The gardens and grounds are very pleasant and the beach is right next to the hotel. A shuttle bus to Pula makes it very easy and cheap to get to.

Wonderful holiday

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Margherita di Pula
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mare Pineta
Hotel Mare Pineta
#13 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baia di Nora
Baia di Nora
#5 of 26 in Pula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Il Castello
Hotel Il Castello
#1 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.6 mi away
Is Morus Relais
Is Morus Relais
#10 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
29.7 mi away
Hotel Cormoran
Hotel Cormoran
#9 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flamingo

Property: Hotel Flamingo
Address: 800 (Localita S. Margherita) Strada Statale 195 33, 09010 Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Pula > Santa Margherita di Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Flamingo 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 35 km distance from port and airport of Sardinia's capital Cagliari, situated in a beautiful landscape, Hotel Flamingo is overlooking it's own beach of soft white sand and the crystal clear turquoise sea. The hotel is situated in an area rich of artistic and cultural sites which can be explored by car. In the year 2004 new opening of 64 rooms, including 20 suites and a Wellness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel
Hotel Flamingo Sardinia/Santa Margherita Di Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing