We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“invite the mark warner staff to dinner”
Review of Hotel Abamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abamar
Reviewed 20 June 2008

INVITE THE STAFF TO DINNER,they do not get the same food as the guests.
The hotel was ok,rooms not bad,kept very clean.Nice bar area, a bit overpriced but the supermarket on the main road is cheap.
Mark Warner staff were very good,friendly and helpful.
The hotel is a bit isolated,nothing else to do around although Pula is ok for a couple of hours.
My main complaint about the hotel was the food,,Good choice of food,good variety, BUT 75% OF IT WAS LUKE WARM OR COLD.

SORT IT OUT. This let the hotel and Mark Warner down.
Oh Yes...there was a microwave to heat it up so it was,nt all bad.Ha Ha

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKYZIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2008

The Mark Warner staff made this a very enjoyable holiday. Everything was done efficiently and with a smile, right from the moment we were met at Cagliari airport until our departure.

The Abamar had been spruced up and thoroughly cleaned, the furniture in public areas was in good condition, and the housekeeping staff kept our room spotless throughout our stay.

Try to get a room on the 3rd, 4th or 5th floor with a sea view, as these seem to be the nicest and brightest. We started off in 304 which had a view of the car park and seemed dark as the sun didn't get round to it at this time of year. We got a move the next day to 310 which was still a standard room but much brighter and with a nice sea view.

The rooms are functional, with plenty of cupboards and drawers, a dressing table, fridge (in some) and full length mirror (again in some). We found the bed too hard, but we like a soft bed so others may be perfectly comfortable. The bathroom had a shower, loo, sink, bidet and plenty of shelves for your toiletries. It had seen better days but as mentioned earlier it was kept very clean so no complaints there. The towels were a bit thin but this meant they dried easily which is handy in a hot climate when you're taking plenty of showers.

The meals were all served alfresco in the seafront restaurant. Starters were local meats, cheeses and bread plus a choice of salads. Mains consisted of a pasta dish, fish and meat, usually with rice and potatoes and a choice of veg. Dessert was fruit, cake and a mousse or creme caramel. There was plenty of water and wine, and the tables were cleaned as soon as you put down your fork. More variety in the daily menu would have been appreciated, but really the only complaint here is that the plates were cold, and as this was outside at the start of the season in fairly high winds, so was the food!

Abamar is an adult only club apart from school holidays, so as this was half term over 6's were allowed. We travelled as a couple and were never once bothered by children because they were entertained throughout the holiday by the Mark Warner childcare staff.

There were plenty of activities on offer for the adults too. The watersports were limited by high winds but the staff still managed to offer land-based tuition and most people managed to sail by the end of the week.

Tennis was very popular - there was a daily scramble for slots on the one tennis court.

The only disappointment was the mountain biking. We've previously been on a Crystal Active holiday in the alps, where the choice of equipment was extensive and all of the bikes were maintained on site. Mark Warner aren't in the same league at the moment, and seemed to be just trying it out. There were only six bikes, one of which was for the guide, and one was already broken before the first guided ride. As a result the rides booked up really fast and the guide had to put on an extra one each day to ease the pressure (which reduced the opportunity to hire bikes and do your own thing because they had to be back within a couple of hours). The main complaint, however, was that none of the bikes were equipped with tool kits, not even a spare inner tube, which seemed risky particularly for the off-road rides.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pottermiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Having read some terrible reviews of this hotel we set out on this Mark Warner holiday with some trepidation.
I am delighted to say all our fears were unfounded and we had an excellent fun and activity packed week. 3 things were great:
1. The range of activities on offer and the good standard of the kit provided.
2. The wonderful Mark Warner staff who were always helpful, enthusiastic and very proffessional instructors.
3. The great bunch of other guests there on this the last week of the season.

True the hotel is looking a little tired in places, the rooms were basic (but spotlessly clean with firm and comfortable beds) and the bar prices expensive. The self service food choice was good with always lots of fresh fruit and vegetables whilst the table wines were quite acceptable and the waiters cheerful and helpful.
If you are looking for a 4 star hotel with 'haute cuisine' this is NOT the place for you. If however you want a value for money active fun filled week with adequate accomodation and food, in the company of enthusiastic staff and like minded people, then this holiday might well suit you.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

I too travelled with some trepidation having seen earlier reviews. I feel sorry for any family whose holiday is ruined by food poisoning, and the hotel is in need of improvement. However, it was one of the best breaks I have had. The hotel is in a great location. Our room at the front was very clean, with beautiful sea views, but the mountainviews at the back of the hotel are also wonderful - the showers do need thermosats though - quite exciting without them!
Hotel staff were pleasant, helpful and efficient throughout, and the food good with plenty of choice. Lower October temperatures and the comments from earlier customers may well have improved things, but by the last week of the season it all seemed just right to me. The icing on the cake for this Mark Warner holiday however is the their own staff. They are quite excellent, particualrly on the waterfront where I spent most time. The atmosphere too is very friendly and the combination of like-minded guests and free wine has left me with great memories of a fabulous holiday.
All the organisation, flights, transfers etc worked well, and MW staff even arranged a screening of the England rugby game a local bar - what a great win!
Be prepared for less than perfect accomodation, and a great holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

We struggled to find anywhere in Sardinia at short notice and were surprised to find plenty of availability at the Hotel Abamar. We booked quickly and were then stunned to read the negative reviews here on tripadvisor. If we had read them before booking we would not have booked-simple as.

But thank goodness we did book, because our fears did not materialise. Au Contraire, towels were changed whenever you wanted, bottled water was delivered to our room daily and kept chilled in our fridge. The Buffet style food was great 3 days and OK for 4. The complimentary wine with lunch and dinner was poor quality though.The hotel and MW staff were friendly and helpfull. Our room was cleaned daily and the beds were very comfortable.

tbh Mark Warner does generally attract Sloany, West London, Pretentious types, who tend to be quite insular so the night life is very tame, but if it's water sports and activities you are after ,combined with an early night then this resort will tick the boxes. We also found enough "NORMAL" people to pal about with and have a laugh while we were there !!

Bar prices are extorionate. One beer and a double JD was over 20 euros. Luckily Franko's bar is just 200 yards away and is far more reasonable.

I'd recommend car hire as the south coast is lovely and the road to Vilasimius is very similar to the Amalfi Coast except it has awesome beaches as well. Take care though as some of the driving is awful especially in Cagliari during rush hour.

One word of caution- we flew with Excel Airways- there was a 6.5 hour delay going out and all they compensated us with, was an 8 euro voucher each which came nowhere near our food and bar bill. Also the Air Stewardess's were sullen and clearly did not enjoy their jobs. No smiling, eye contact or thank you's attall.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StockholmSyndrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2007

This holiday was a surprise holiday for me from my partner - I only knew a couple of days before we left. He had mentioned that he had read a couple of reviews and the hotel may be a little dated. Me being me ! I had to check as well - and I was a little worried by other comments
When we arrived the hotel was actually not as bad as we expected - it is a little jaded but it has a fab position and fantastic beach.
The rooms were clean and towels and linen clean - the only gripe I would have is that you only get one towel change per week - but the rooms were cleaned every day
The food was good - although the free wine a little rough and dinner is only served between 8-9pm -(so get in early if you want a selection) and it is lovely to sit outside eating
The beachfront and sea are lovely and there are plenty of sunbeds- water nice and clean

We booked with Mark Warner (we have travelled with them before) and although I would say it may be better if the site was purely dedicated to Mark Warner customers (you are sharing with Italians mainly in August - who really only tolerate us British)
we had an absolutely fantastic holiday

I cannot thank the Mark Warner staff enough - Laura runs a great team - but all staff we met were upbeat and cheerful - even at 7am in the morning (when they had frequented the bar next door!!)
If you get the chance make sure you join in Martin's Aqua Aerobics - it was the best ever ! and just a warning he is a slave driver in the Legs Bums and Tums classes - so be prepared to be unable to walk for a few days !

I believe a holiday is what you make it and slight differences in how each country does things is to be expected

GO AND ENJOY !!

Victoria

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank viclittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

Having read some reviews here, i was worried before i went to the hotel. i should have used my own judgement and realised, some people in the UK are just not happy !!!

the hotel location is great, right on the beach front, quiet and peaceful . The Mark Warner staff could not do enough for you, priase to Lauara for running a great place.

I liked the traditional italian food, if i wanted british food i would have stayed in england. some people during my week were not happy with any of the meals, whilst i thought there was variety for everyone.

the hotel is old, but the rooms were cleaned daily, had hot water and a balcony. i did not spend much time in my room.

Overall go and enjoy the hotel, location and food.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gregory44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Margherita di Pula hotels
4.6 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
873 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Barcavela Hotel
New Barcavela Hotel
#11 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
54 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#10 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Is Morus Relais
Is Morus Relais
#9 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Bouganville
Forte Village Resort - Hotel Bou...
#5 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Il Castello
Hotel Il Castello
#1 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abamar

Address: S. Margherita di Pula, Km. 40, 09010 Santa Margherita di Pula, Pula, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Pula > Santa Margherita di Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
#12 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita di Pula
Price Range: £73 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abamar 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Abamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abamar Hotel
Hotel Abamar Sardinia/Santa Margherita Di Pula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing