We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent location”
Review of Hotel Marinaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Marinaro
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel early June, and had a great stay.

Rooms ar small, but nice, and the rooms facing the backyard have nice terraces. Simple and good brakfast - but nothing special.

Staff Are friendly and helpful, but do not speak english very well.

The hotel is located perfectly in Santa Theresa, close to the main square and the beach, but still quiet. Also close to the bus station.

Unfortuneatly our baby blanket disappared from our room, and the staff did nothing to help us with that, and they did not take any responibilty for it. The whole thing was a bit unpleasant, but that's the only negative thing to say.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gounderground
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    68
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
109
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

The guy at the front desk was so nice when we stopped in to ask for directions, we came back to stay. If we could do it over again, we'd base ourselves here- though there's not much to do in town but relax - and do day trips. The prices listed on the internet are a good value.
It's a pretty hotel situated near the ferry on a quiet street. And easy walking distance to the middle of town. Our room on the 2nd(3rd) floor was spacious, colorful and cheery with a nice little balcony which offered a great view of the town and little, charming ochre colored houses. The bathroom had a toilet that like to groan with every flush and a shower with a Moroccan lattice window. Again, we're in the old country....
The breakfast was okay to start the day but not memorable or bad, otherwise we'd remember what we ate - but we went out to the cafe with baked goods and sandwiches on one of the little squares in town for coffee and lunch ;).
Ask the front desk to point you to dinner places in town. We went to da Thomas, a block off the main street, where it seemed ALL the locals from 2 - 89 were on a Friday night. They had some of the best food and wine we encountered. And so reasonably priced. And we even got a discount since the hotel recommended us. Hotel Marinaro is a nice surprise.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finicky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We thought the hotel was clean and fine, but nothing particularly special. The breakfast that was included was fairly mediocre. There was no wifi in the room, but the wifi in the lobby area was good and the area is so large that we enjoyed a private area there for our internet use and even a Skype with our children. There is a computer and printer available for rent in the lobby, but when I needed to use the printer, it wasn't "working" and it took two different people trying to figure out what was wrong until I noticed it was out of ink! They did replace the ink but when I needed to print out a ticket, they didn't have Adobe reader, so it couldn't print. Once the young man at reception came in, he was able to load Adobe and I eventually did print it, but it took a couple of hours to get it all figured out. The only one at the reception who spoke much English was this same young man, who was very nice. We did enjoy seeing the area, especially Capo Testa, but everything you hear about the wind at the Straits of Bonifacio was true! The wind we had in Santa Teresa di Gallura was unbelievable. So hold on to your hats! We did find a couple of good restaurants, but we were there in April and many places were still closed or just beginning to open for the season. Our favorite restaurant was Ristorante Il Chiostro. The person working there (an owner, perhaps?) was extremely nice and helpful with recommendations and the food was great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innsbruck
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

this is a v e r y nice family-business-hotel, VERY VERY CLEAN!!! all there are very nice and civilly! we feel always very good and welcome there!!!

i will always come back - have been there for sure 4 times!

its very central - you can reach all by foot, you can park in front of the hotel but only in the streat, it is a beautiful house, the beach is near and one of the m o s t beautiful!!!
the rooms are not the biggest but big enough with bath and tv - v e r y clean every day!

go there to visit it! there are the best beaches around!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We walked into this hotel without much information and planned to stay just one night and ended up staying four nights. The hotel is very charming, comfortable, and very clean. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. The location is also very good and a quick walk into the center of town and about a 10 minute to an amazing beach. There is also a wonderful pizzeria right down the street (Montanea (v. Angioy 59)) open for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Had a wonderful stay in this lovely hotel near to the centre of Santa Teresa di Gallura...near the bus stop so not too far to travel with a rucksack...basic breakfast with great coffee...amazingly friendly and helpful staff...free WIFI in the lobby and the nice outdoor seated area is very handy...they were full the last few nights of our trip, but they dropped us and our heavy bags to the B&B we booked...get a room up a few floors if you can..terrific views of the town from the balcony..only downside is the beds are hard, but the pillows make up for it, ask for extra! fantastic!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Highly recommended.
Arrived in town off the bus spur of the moment without a reservation. Just walked in, and was greeted warmly by English speaking, Nicola, who offered a nice size room (double bed and a twin bunk, private bath) at a reasonable price including a hearty, continental breakfast (plus made to order coffee delivered to the table!) The staff obviously care about the details and the comfort of their customers. A few examples: Our friends were driving into town and unsure of the hotel location. Nicola offered to drive to meet them and lead them back!! Then imagine coming back from the beach (a 10 minute walk) our first day: housekeeping ha neatened up nicely, but my teenager is upset to find her favorite t-shirt missing from on top of the bed where she had left it. You'll never guess where she found it! Folded neatly and placed under her pillow!!
WiFi in lobby plus computer available for a fee.
Tiny bar on site with outside seating in small square. Very quiet location, but only 5 minute walk to main piazza and 5 minute to the bus stop to other towns including an express bus to Olbia Airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2ndsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Teresa Gallura hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Funtana
Hotel La Funtana
#3 of 25 in Santa Teresa Gallura
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Corallaro
Grand Hotel Corallaro
#4 of 25 in Santa Teresa Gallura
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel L'Ancora
Hotel L'Ancora
#6 of 25 in Santa Teresa Gallura
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meta Hotel
Meta Hotel
#5 of 25 in Santa Teresa Gallura
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Majore
Hotel Majore
#17 of 25 in Santa Teresa Gallura
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diana Hotel
Diana Hotel
#13 of 25 in Santa Teresa Gallura
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marinaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marinaro

Property: Hotel Marinaro
Address: GM Angioy 48, 07028, Santa Teresa Gallura, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Santa Teresa Gallura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa Gallura
#6 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa Gallura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marinaro 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel open all year, it has been completely refurbished and it is situated in the historic center of the town in a quiet area. It is not far from the popular beach of "Rena Bianca" and the tourist port of S. Teresa Gallura. All the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, TV, telephone and private bathrooms. Complete with Hotel Restaurant, Meeting Room and Bar. The Hotel offers special conditions for small groups such as windsurfers, cyclists, sporting groups. The Hotel Marinaro is family run and has a nice atmosphere, all is welcome and the friendly staff are always willing to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Marinaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marinaro Sardinia/Santa Teresa Gallura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing