We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the jellyfish!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Capo Testa

Capo Testa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adderbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Watch out for the jellyfish!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The beaches on Capo Testa are lovely and well worth visiting. However, when we were there in early September, there were lots of jellyfish. We'd been to a number of beaches around Sardinia in the previous week, and hadn't seen them before. i went snorkeling, and was stung in the first 5 seconds. When I stood up I saw them all around. Don't know if it was just the time of year or if they are there all of the time

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OxfordTraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    258
    34
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“road less travelled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

take the inland mountain trail route to walk or mountain bike - awesome!! cuts across the main road here and there but gets you into real coastal isolation splendour

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank solent_swinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middle East
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Striking landscape, beach ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

A lovely hike to get there from Santa Theresa, perhaps fifty minutes or so, but when we got there the beach had bluebottles and we couldn't swim, and was quite rough. There was also seaweed, and our beautiful beach back at Santa Theresa seemed so much nicer!! In the heat of the day we didn't want to walk back, but there was no bus, so we paid a local fellow to drive us back to our hotel. The beaches were still crowded with people who had driven there, so it wasn't quite the remote location we had imagined.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finuala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Old and nice to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

A attraction for a little time but nice to see, an old building with history. It is on the way to Santa Teresa di Gallura and take your time to visit it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank robertvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
415 reviews
306 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“landscape like on another planet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

the capo teste, located on the northcoast from sardinia is a hotspot, which everyone should visit during his stay in the gallura. the cape has countless bizarre rock formations and the vegetation seems like in a stonegarden, because theres nearly no possibility for higher plants to grow. also the spectacular "cala spinosa" is located on capo teste, which everyone can find as a motive on the postcards. the cape gives the impression as if you were on another planet, because the permanent strong wind formed the rocks in different ways. some are very smooth, others are rough and ground with many spikes. a old lighthouse and some ruins project over the craggy rocks, some sheeps and goats feed on the sparse vegetation. the best time to visit capo teste is the late afternoon, because the coulours of the water of cala spinosa is extraordinary and the sunset is perfect observable. it is better to wear good shous because there are only unpaved paths. families with children should stay far from this place, because there are a lot of places which are dangerous.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chocdikrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capo Testa also viewed

Baunei, Province of Ogliastra
Baunei, Province of Ogliastra
 
Santa Teresa Gallura, Province of Olbia-Tempio
 

Been to Capo Testa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing