We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot , too many kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Resort Valle Dell'Erica Thalasso & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Wonderful staff and excellent accommodation spread over an outstanding resort. Very unspoilt and hotel has made the most of the coastline with individual sun beds littered around. Food outstanding for half board, could maybe do with a restaurant somewhere between the amazing buffet and very upmarket fine dining place. Suites excellent, very spacious and everything you need but not overly luxurious. Would happily go back, a bit isolated you need a car

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda7164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 985 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed 5 days in Valle Dell'Erica in July 2013. We are a family with a 1 year old child.

Travel/Arrival: 3/5

We arrived ourselves by car in the evening, coming from the south. The resort is located on a cape and can be reached by a specific road that runs from the main road to the resort. The turn into this road well indicated by a navigation system and there is a sign as well, but this is not illuminated in the night so easy to miss. When approaching the resort there are different roads for different parts of the resort. indication is by painted signs on rocks with are not illuminated and hard to find at night. We stayed in the new "Licciola" part, which took us some time to find. There is a parking lot close to the entrance which is convenient.

Hotel and rooms 5/5

As indicated we stayed in the new Licciola part of the resort, in a superior suite with seaview balcony. It is build in a modern fashion, but with local materials and decoration, and aimed at blending into the green scenery. There is a lot of vegetation and flowers and a lot of attention to the landscaping. The furniture and the bed were very good. The main building has a spacious lobby and bar with a big seaview terrace. Very light airy and open with lots of luxurious materials. The restaurant has a roofed seaview terrace as well and is equally nice. To summarise: we found it simply stunning and among the niced we have stayed in. The rest of the resort is a little bid older. Restaurants in those areas are also nice; we have not seen the other rooms in the older area so cannot comment on those.

On our last day we requested a late check-out. Although we had to vacate our room, we got an alternative room at no extra cost. This wash nice and in line with rating and price of the hotel.

Hotel facilities: 4/5

Hotel facilities are nice. There are various well kept swimming pools, which have areas that are suited for kids. The new swimming pool has a nice pool bar (accesible from the water) with a professional bar tender that makes great coctails. Water in the swimming pool is seawater. There is also a gym, spa, and a children area. The whole resort is lanscaped in a very nice way with lots of vegetation and flowers, which give a great smell and give the resort a very intimate feeling. Little buggies drive around the resort which you can use to get around.

Beach 4/5)

There are various small beach area's around the resort with parasols and stretchers. Typically their sand area is small but the water is chrystal clear and gets quite deep relatively quick, so that is great swimming for adults. Generally speaking the coastline is rocky, which gives a nice under water scenery. There is a larger beach next to the La Licciola part of the resort, which can be reached via a small walking path. Although a public beach it has a part with parasols and stretchers for hotel guest. The water is very nice; chrystal cleal with both shallow and deep areas which makes for great swimming and snorkling. Sand has a rather rough structure which hurt your feet. Regrettably this is not very fine sand.
The resort and beaches are not suitable for kite flying (not enough space without people and/or vegetation or rocks)

From the resort the views are stunning. Corsica and the Maddalena islands can be seen, as well as the yachts passing by.

Food 3.5/5

There are various restaurants on the resort; we only ate at the restaurant in the Licciola part. The food is generally of good quality and variety. Personally we found it a bit to much ''Italian food meets Japanese preparation style". Lots of smaller cold dishes with raw fish etc. No basic food like pizza, fries or baked potatos a standard. Ice cream was also of very average industrial quality. At breakfast no freshly squeezed orange juice of boiled eggs, cheap twinning teabags and a rather small breakfast selection etc. Somewhat short of true 5 star food. Also it seemed that the restaurant staff still needs optimize their timing. At peak some of the dishes were out of stock and some of the staff seemed to run around a bit chaotically.

I have seen the other restaurants at lunchtime and It seems that they cook in a bit more traditional style; next time we probaly try those.

Atmosphere/guests/personnel 3.5/5

Personnel is a bit of a mixed bag. Firstly quite a number do not have a great command of the English language, which is not acceptable if you work at reception or restaurant of a 5 star hotel.
The reception staff was quite sterile; when arriving they had little interest in how our travel had been and they seemed most concerned at me settling the bill for the room straight away. I have never done this in a 5 star hotel before. When leaving and settling the remainder of the bill they did not ask if we enjoyed our stay; rather strange. There was one blonde female intern that was much more helpful and friendly; she arranged that the restaurant prepared salt free mashed food for our daughter which was very nice. The staf in the restaurant was very nice as well, as was the bar tender in the pool bar. He is really a professional who takes pride in his work (great fresh coctails every day) and nice to talk to as well.

Guests are predominantly (Italian) families and couples. We found the admosphere quite relaxed. Not a great deal of interaction though between hotel guests.

Activities and entertainment: n/a

We didn't realy participate in any activities, so no view on those.

Nearby city 3/5

The resort is located on a remote cape. Nearest towns are probably Porto Pollo and Palau, which you can oly reach by car (or expensive taxi). Although we had a rental car we didn't feel the need to leave the resort.

Price (quality) 3/5

Generally this hotel is expensive in every way, starting with the hotel rooms. For the rest everything is extra as well: any drinks at dinner are extra and fairly expensive, and so is the spa.

Overall: 4/5

This is a great hotel if you want to go on a beach holiday and stay in a hotel with great views and scenery, with swimming pools and beaches nearby, variety of food and a very convenient lay-out/logistics. Despite some critique points we mentioned we would come back.

If you are looking for the best price / quality or a location in a village look elsewhere.

One last tip:

For parents with you children: baby stuf like baby food, powder milk, soothers etc is not very extensively sold in supermarkets; you have to go to the pharmacist for this, or bring it yourselves.

Room Tip: Stay in the Licciola or Erica part of the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank dvanrijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Wonderful resort with great bungalows each with view on straight of Bonifacio and the La Maddalena Archipelago. Staff very kind. Pity for the points lost because of forced 10:30hrs departure after an extra hour was confirmed and in spite of the fact that the place was far from full.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pieter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This is the perfect place if you want a relaxing and pampering vacation. The resort grounds are very extensive, and even though it was full, it never felt crowded. There are various pools (salt water - I personally would have wished for one pool with clear water) and several small beaches and coves, some very secluded, but still with all the facilities (beach chairs, drinks, etc.). We traveled with our 2 kids aged 7 and 10 and stayed in the Mirtilla Junior Suite. It is very spacious and had two sofa beds for the kids. Nice Sardinian decor. The food is very good, the staff very friendly. We spent one evening at the Sardinian restaurant "Li Cuisoni", outstanding experience (at an extra charge if you have booked half board but it was totally worth it). The mini club has lots of activities for all ages and we sometimes did not see our kids for half a day as they were so busy and happy at the club. Staff at the club is excellent and they speak several languages.
On the downside, it do believe the hotel is totally overpriced. Though the prices are definitely those of a 5 stars hotel, I would rate the service and resort overall as a good 4 stars. A couple of small things bothered us, such as the unusable wifi connection (you would have to ask for a new code daily and reenter the code every time you would like to access the internet - total nightmare). I was also disappointed the gym came at an extra charge.
Overall the resort is great for families. But I don't think I would go back there without the kids.

Room Tip: Mirtilla Junior suite for families with 2 kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValerieKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The sheer size of this resort means you could stay there for 10 days and not get bored exploring. Not only that but, there's so much to do! Explore all the islands on resort's own boat, all the stunning beaches, hike, try all the pools etc etc etc...and if I had kids, I would definitely bring them here, as they have plenty to occupy them with. I loved the traditional sardinian decor, as it meant they bought all the hand-made stuff from the locals :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoSher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is just an exceptional venue for a wedding. We could not have planned a more romantic and stunning location and the food and staff made it just fantastic.Our wedding organiser Barbara was so helpful and really understood how to make the day so special and I felt totally confident with her organisation, from managing this abroad.

We held our private wedding ceremony on the beach which was particularly special, then our guests were taken by buggies to the reception at "Li Ciusoni". This is just a beautiful location and completely private so we could party till the early hours. The quality and presentation of the food was superb and all our guests were just amazed.

Although I had planned all the details for our day, I was still completely breathtaken by the whole location and the photos show just how stunning the place is.

Room Tip: Request a room in the new part "La Licciola" which is just beautiful. We had a junior sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojames7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

If you want a peaceful vacation with beautiful sea views this is the place for you, The resort stretches over a large area and has a number of secluded coves and beaches, believe it or not we never used the pools because the beaches were simply too attractive.

I would recommend that you hire a car because if you want to visit one of the many attractions in the area there is no other alternative,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Teresa Gallura
6.2 mi away
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
#6 of 17 in La Maddalena
165 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Corallaro
Grand Hotel Corallaro
#4 of 25 in Santa Teresa Gallura
528 reviews
146.2 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#5 of 33 in Villasimius
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
156.3 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
875 reviews
14.2 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#2 of 21 in Porto Cervo
694 reviews
6.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
#1 of 17 in La Maddalena
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Valle Dell'Erica Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Valle Dell'Erica Thalasso & Spa

Address: Localita Valle dell'Erica | Porto Pozzo, 07028, Santa Teresa Gallura, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Santa Teresa Gallura
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Teresa Gallura
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Teresa Gallura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Teresa Gallura
#2 Family Hotel in Santa Teresa Gallura
Price Range: £243 - £785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Resort Valle Dell'Erica Thalasso & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Valle dell’Erica. The Resort of your dreams. Valle dell’Erica is situated to the north of Palau, on the borders of the National Park of the Archipelago of La Maddalena, right opposite the fascinating uninhabited island of Spargi. It is situated 4 km from the charming village of Porto Pozzo, with its small tourist port and shops and just 12 km from S.Teresa di Gallura, a well-known tourist destination in northern Sardinia facing the Straits of Bonifacio. The first part of Valle dell’Erica, the first tourist village constructed in Sardinia, was built in 1958 (a period when it was still possible to build a few metres from the sea) by the owner of the valley, a pioneer of tourism in Sardinia. Thanks to the fascination of the area and the high quality of the structure built – indeed it received a special mention from the President of the Republic – Valle dell’Erica during the sixties became a very stylish, sought-after venue, and indeed numbered princes and kings among its guests. In 2005 it was completely refurbished by Delphina which by showing respect for the splendid natural environment surrounding it and thus in harmony with the style of the original village chosen by its founder, transformed it into a resort equipped with all modern comforts, the aim being to offer something which has become somewhat rare, that is the emotion of a truly natural holiday (as in days gone by) but also in an exclusive setting. The Resort can boast of a truly unique, unrepeatable position, a few metres from a splendid white sand bay and rocks moulded by wind and weather, in natural scenery which is among the most beautiful in Sardinia. Thanks to its extensive spaces, privacy is always guaranteed, and its numerous small bays accessible on foot, its romantic rooms with panoramic verandas, the warm atmosphere of its Thalasso and Spa Center and the services offered by its skilled staff, ensure it is a true oasis of relaxation and pleasure for couples. The Resort is also an ideal choice for family groups; indeed it has large, secure green and garden areas where the kids can play without disturbing the adults, a large, well-equipped mini club and a splendid kids’ pool. Apart from the beauty of the sea and the breathtaking views, it offers an exceptional sea water pool just a few metres from the sea and an outstanding Thalasso & Spa Centre. After dinner, in the Resort’s Plaza, there are entertaining shows with live music and various different events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Resort Valle Dell'Erica Thalasso & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Valle Dell`Erica Thalasso Hotel Santa Teresa Di Gallura
Resort Valle Dell`Erica Thalasso And Spa
Hotel Valle Dell Erica
Valle Dell Erica Hotel
Resort Valle Dell'Erica Thalasso & Spa Sardinia/Santa Teresa Gallura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing