We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds, great value but needs a little updating in places”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Hotel Ancora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Hotel Ancora
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stintino
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, great value but needs a little updating in places”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights after a week in Alghero. At first glace it looked almost as if you were arriving at dated (think 60s) housing estate (only 2 floors high though) - although this could be to blend into the overall surroundings - which it did very well.

However on walking up to the hotel from the car park - the grounds are beautiful - lovely landscaped lawns with views to the very gorgeous sea around La Pelosa and a lovely seating area just outside reception with comfy chairs and sofas and shade from the very hot summer sun.

The reception and main areas are again a little dated, but reception was helpful, friendly and provided you with all the information you need including details on the free shuttle bus to La Pelosa throughout the day.

Our room was lovely - we booked a superior room as from previous reviews the standard rooms are in need of improvement and look very dated - the superior however was very chic, modern, clean and very, very comfy. With a superior room you are given one free drink per person at the bar and have a stocked mini bar (all non alcholic) as well as a free fruit plate on arrival. The bathroom had a large walk in shower and included two bath robes and large towels.

Breakfast was great in the morning - lots and lots to choose from - pastries, cakes, meats, cheese and they will make fresh coffee or tea for you when you sit down into the lovely outside area near the restaurant.

The shuttle service to the beach is great - just make sure you book the night before in advance as it gets pretty busy and you may have to wait to a later slot. You can wallk to L Pelosa beach but its a good 20 mins and in the hot sunshine that's quite a challenge!

The only thing I object to is having to pay 22 euros per person for the 'club card' - this isn't optional. It essentially covers the hotel's 'animation team' (which is a team who organise day and evening events to keep kids happy - note this is all in italian) as well as giving you a discount on the Yacht club (this can be accessed via a walkway from the hotel's grounds) for sunbeds, pool and the beach - but with La Pelosa on your doorstep why would you bother?

There aren't a lot of resturants around the area so we drove to Stintino in the evening which is a lovely little village with some lovely little bars and places to eat. We didn't try the hotel evening meals.

Overall, a lovely little hotel but needs a little bit of love here and there.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room which were modern and chic - the standard rooms looked very dated and in ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italiagirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    165
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
226
172
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I enjoyed three lovely nights at Ancora at the end of September. At less than 100€ for a superior room, we got an excellent deal and our cheapest accommodations of our cross-Sardinia trip.

Our room was very comfortable and quiet. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and the common areas are all very pleasant. The beach adjacent to the hotel itself is nothing to get excited about, but la Pelosa a short walk away is incredible. We also made use of the little yacht club to rent sailboats, which was a ton of fun.

The restaurant was good for both breakfast and dinner.

My only complaint during our four days at Ancora was the inescapable elevator music! The repeated the same album of piano musak over and over and over in the restaurant and all common areas. By the end of our stay I wanted to tear my ears out!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meli299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed in the Club Hotel Ancora for two weeks this July 2012 and found it much better that what was shown in their publicity. The place is magnificent, the food just gorgeous and the staff incredibly attentive to the clients' needs. Being a small structure, it has a homely atmosphere. The private beach is just superb and safe for children of all ages. The Hotel also provides an excellent entertainment program assured by a very capable group of young and dynamic people.
We'll definitively go again!

Room Tip: all rooms have a nice balcony. Ask for a room at the first floor to have a view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyager347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

In my view this is the most attractive hotel in the Stintino area and, forgetting the quality of some of the bedrooms, the only one with well deserved 3 stars (and better than most 4 starts I have seen in Italy).
Despite the post war design of the hotel the use of stones and ivy makes it more attractive that one would expect at first glance. The wonderful well kept garden with views of the sea from afar is just delightful . The outdoor bar and the restaurant are also very attractive, but strangely the indoor restaurant and bar are fairly unattractive. This dichotomy is reflected in the bedrooms: some are old and dingy with uncomfortable beds and bathroom, others have been renovated in a simple but fresh and attractive decor, and better beds. You may be very unfortunate and be given one of the tiny bedrooms on the back, with small windows and lack of privacy.
Breakfast was the freshest I have tried in my tour of hotels in the area but targeted exclusively to Mediterraneans who do not eat hot food for breakfast, but only pastries, cereals, bread and jam. Nevertheless I found irritating that, even if most of the tables were free in the morning, one could not choose where to seat since many tables were reserved for those who also had half or full board at the hotel.
Another dichotomy was the extremely pleasant and friendly staff at the lobby, and the unpleasant waiters (although some were better than others). A very blond waitress with glasses was particularly disagreeable.
The very limited timetable of the shuttle service was a bit of a problem, particularly because it stopped before the end of breakfast.
The most irritating thing about the hotel is to have to pay for a silly show that a more sophisticated clientele would just abhor and pay not to see it.
During our stay this hotel, and all the others I have visited in the Stintino, were filled with mostly Italian middle class families with small children.
I would advise the hotel to urgently renovate the remaining old bedrooms and the indoor restaurant, make the breakfast sitting a bit more flexible, add some hot food and increase the shuttle service. This hotel has the potential to become one of the best in the region.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GuydeBeelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Staff do not speak English and neither do the Animation team who you have to pay 25 Euros per week for.
Rooms are basic and dated.
View from hotel and Beach is fantastic
Food was good
Paid 810 Euros for 6 nights and was put in to Staff Accomodation which is a 10 minute walk up hill away from Hotel
After complaining we were moved to a room within the complex but still not up to my standard.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linzeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

What a truly horrible experience. Our room was quite basic with saggy mattresses on all beds. Worst of all, the air condition was very loud didn't work properly when we arrived. The hotel tried to fix it on day two but even though it improved things a little the air condition still failed to properly cool the room.

To add insult to injury, our room was not cleaned on the second day or our stay and so we found ourselves coming back to an uncomfortably warm room with no fresh towels and unmade beds.

After almost an hour of discussing the situation with the reception we were offered a paltry € 10 refund on our € 450 stay.

The only saving grace for the hotel are its proximity to La Pelose, by far the best beach we encountered during our time in Sardinia. The breakfast is also good in comparison to the other hotels that we stayed at during our trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We just returned from our honeymoon in Stintino. We had only breakfast included.
The hotel was in a beautiful location near a quiet beach and our room had beautiful scenery. You need to walk downhill to the beach for approximately 5min. For someone with physical limitations this may be a bit challenging as you have to climb on the way back. For an active couple like us the location was perfect and near enough restaurants in town to have dinner there in the evenings. The hotel had bikes to rent so we had the option of taking bikes out rather than driving to town. The area is really nice for cycling as there are some hills to make the experience more enjoyable. The staff were nice and friendly. I would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari7549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stintino hotels
0.4 mi away
Cala Rosa Club Hotel
Cala Rosa Club Hotel
#2 of 16 in Stintino
1,078 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Asinara
Park Hotel Asinara
#1 of 16 in Stintino
390 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Hotel La Pelosetta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Club Esse Sporting
Club Esse Sporting
#3 of 16 in Stintino
347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cala Reale
Cala Reale
#5 of 16 in Stintino
479 reviews
3.0 mi away
Stintino Country Paradise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Ancora

Property: Club Hotel Ancora
Address: Lottizzazione Ancora, 07040 Stintino, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Stintino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stintino
#4 Family Hotel in Stintino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Hotel Ancora 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Hotel Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancora Hotel Stintino
Club Hotel Ancora Stintino, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing