We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations exceeded.”
Review of Cala Reale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cala Reale
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Stintino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the service at the hotel was fantastic. We were immediately made welcome on checking in and we finalised the arrangements for the trip to Asinara Island which the hotel had pre booked for us in advance (a simple email a few weeks before we arrived was all that was required in order to reserve tickets). The hotel arranged a packed lunch for us to take on the excursion and they made sure we knew exactly which boat to board and how to get there. The staff also provided us with plenty of information about Stintino and the surrounding area. Nothing was too much trouble, even when my friends safe wouldn't open, it was fixed immediately. Service was very attentive throughout the stay.
The free shuttle bus to Pelosa was very handy and we were picked back up at the arranged time.
Location is ideal, a 10 minute walk into the main area of Stintino and about the same to walk down to the tourist harbour where the boats to Asinara leave from. There is a bus stop for the local buses and also the bus which goes to the airport and onwards to Alghero situated 5 mins up the main road from the hotel.
The hotel was very peaceful even though it is just off the main road, lovely gardens and a huge clean pool area, with plenty of sun loungers.
Rooms were good with a balcony.
In summary for the price we paid for this hotel and the service we received whilst there more than exceeded our expectations. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank arcangelboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Nice little hotel, the famous La Pelosa Beach is 7 minutes by free shuttle bus. The pool it's big and relaxing. Breakfast it's basic and the same every day but good quality. The are it's quiet one and beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Overall it is a nice hotel, with quite big pool (which is unsual for that price around Stintino) and nice breakfast. Stintino marina with restaurants is walking distance (10-15 minutes), a bit uphill on a way back. Beach La Pelosa is few km away, I used rental car to get there (keep in mind parking costs 2 euro per hour). All in all – the thing that can change your feelings about this hotel is WHICH ROOM YOU GET. On the arrival, we got ground floor room, facing the street. It was 3 pax room (though we were two) and for sure too small for three. It was dark, and very noisy starting 5 am. Patio with plastic chairs with view right on the street. Nah-a. I asked for a different room in the morning – we got first floor room, smaller, but way brighter, facing the pool, garden, see and the heels, with great wooden chairs on a quite big terrace. Heaven! Both rooms – same price, but your impression about it – its like heaven and hell. And its just a matter of luck which one of the two, youd get. So im gonna rate it basing on the second room. If i stick to the first one, I would give one-two stars less in value, sleep quantity and rooms positions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights, the hotel is very clean, conveniently located, you do not have to worry about parking at La Pelosa beach, there is a free quick shuttle bus from the hotel to the beach, small playground for kids and a nice swimming pool. People very friendly and helpful. Food nice.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank joekozak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the cala reale from 22nd may to 5th June. It is a great little hotel, spotlessly clean, wonderful staff, fab buffet Brekkie & great rooms and pool area. We couldn't fault it. Early in season so practically had pool to ourselves. 10 minutes stroll into town for restaurants. Free bike hire, genius idea! Rooms a bit smaller than the norm but very well furnished and great shower! Really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere here and would defo book again. The only suggestion we would make is to maybe have a separate bar but other than that great spot, great food, great price.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rhonjonheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel was nice, reliable, not outstanding rooms but very clean. A short walk into Stintino. The breakfast was good. Staff were friendly. Great for kids due to the nice playground and pool. The whole family being in one room was not ideal but apart from that the whole experience was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel end of September 2013. It was conveniently located just off the main road and a few miles from Le Torri and the famous beach. There is a shuttle bus service to the beach but we just took the hire car and paid the parking which as expected was not cheap and the traffic wardens were very visible. Our room had no frills but was perfectly adequate - there was a double bed, and a single bed in the room which the manager offered to remove for us and my husband accepted. With the single bed in situ there wouldn't have been much room to move once we had our cases open. The room was clean and had a wee balcony with table and 2 chairs. The pool was very nice but we didn't use it as we went to different beaches every day and investigated the area. The hotel does have some lovely Sardinian books for your perusal and they were helpful with directions. The Italian freebee maps aren't very detailed so bring your own if you don't have sat nav. The hotel is listed as having free wifi this is true but we had to go to the hotel lobby to download our emails. Wifi was almost non-existent in the room - we did point this out to the manager but he said they were having difficulties and it would be sorted the next day......to a degree it was but only for a short period of time and then it was off again. The breakfast was good - freshly baked cakes, yoghurts, hams and cheeses and home made jams. We didn't eat at night in the hotel restaurant but tried the seafood restaurants in the nearby village which were very good and reasonably priced. We went end September but it was too windy to really sunbathe with sand being blown everywhere - swimming in the sea actually felt warmer than lying on the beach in the cold wind - apparently the mistral winds do come this time of year to this area so if we go to Sardinia again in September we would probably go south east of the island as opposed to north west but the scenery and the huge crashing waves at Le Torri were quite spectacular!

Room Tip: We had a first floor corner room which we were very happy with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottish-German
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stintino
0.9 mi away
Club Hotel Ancora
Club Hotel Ancora
#1 of 15 in Stintino
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Asinara
Park Hotel Asinara
#3 of 15 in Stintino
436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Geranio Rosso Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cala Rosa Club Hotel
Cala Rosa Club Hotel
#4 of 15 in Stintino
1,212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Club Esse Sporting
Club Esse Sporting
#2 of 15 in Stintino
435 reviews
24.3 mi away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#5 of 49 in Alghero
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cala Reale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cala Reale

Address: Loc. Ovile Del Mercante, 07040 Stintino, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Sassari > Stintino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stintino
#5 Family Hotel in Stintino
Price Range: £43 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cala Reale 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cala Reale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cala Reale Stintino, Sardinia
Cala Reale Hotel Stintino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing