We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Cetarium and Castellemare”
Review of Cetarium Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cetarium Hotel
Reviewed 21 March 2008

We stayed at the Cetarium in October and loved both it and Castellamare. Unlike one of the previous writers, we found the staff to be unfailingly pleasant and helpful. They recommended restaurants, made phone calls for us (our Italian being virtually non-existent) and let me use the front desk computer to check email.

We also had a harbour view room and thought the view was wonderful. I must admit to having concerns about the bar next door (it was Saturday night) as we were in the corner room right next to it but with the balcony french doors closed and the air conditioning on, we slept just fine. I guess if you want to have the doors wide open, the noise could be a problem but ... If you are really concerned about noise, the rooms looking onto the interior courtyard appeared to be very pleasant. The rooms themselves are very nicely appointed and comfortable and the breakfast was good.

The two fish restaurants just along the harbour are both great if you love fresh fish (choose your fish in the afternoon from those bought at the dock in the morning)

And although the rest of the town doesn't seem to have too much to offer, Castellamare is a lovely (and not overly touristy) spot to use as a base for exploring the area - Segesta, Erice, Marsala, the Trapani salt flats. We would definitely recommend both the hotel and the location.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2008

Cetarium is located right by the small beach in the port area in Castellamare del Golfi in Trapani province, Sicily. The location is good for a shorter stay in this small city where everythinh is on a walking distance. In the port area you will find three restaurants and a bar.

The hotel is very modern in its interior design. The rooms are small but very clean and well equipped featuring satellite TV , etc. The breakfast is slightly more varied than in other Italian hotels, generally speaking.

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Mahee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

The room was okay apart from being bitten to death by the large amount of nats that seemed to be hiding there...take some bug spray!!

The hotel looks out onto the harbour which is very pretty, however we were not shown were anything was in the hotel and when we asked were the resturant was the pointed to the wrong area (i found out where it was on the last night) The people who ran this hotel were rude, bar one who was very sweet and tried to help us as best as possible.

NO ONE SPOKE ENGLISH!! or if they did they could not be bothered to speak to us. I got rather fed up with being treated like a second rate guest, as we not had booked directly through the hotel they did not really give to much pleasure in helping us. They told us the tourist info was the other end of town when it turned out to be just a few doors down from the hotel....hum...and when i asked again they said they knew this!!

They had several meetings at the hotel where the business men and women took over the entire patio outside our room entrance...it felt awful as there was no way you could sit out on the sits meant for the guest. Plus they made a racket.

I would advise anyone not to stay here the hotel was poop and frankly gave me a bad impression of Sicily!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Henrietta2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2007

The Cetarium is a small, modern hotel close to the seaside of Castallamare del golfo. The personnel spoke very well english and was friendly and helpful. The rooms were modern and clean, had air conditioning, a fridge and a safe along with a decent TV and a some box that was probably a digital receiver (we didn't turn on the TV though), with LAN access in every room. The WC was spacious and clean. The only drawback was that the room didn't have a window or a balcony, but since the room faced a sun terrace this was not much of a problem.

The breakfast was a typical sicilian hotel breakfast - there were croissants, small rolls, a large selection of small cakes and sweets, but no cheese, eggs or meat.

We got the room for the very reasonable price of 80 Euros a night and can fully recommend this nice little hotel, which may have been the best of the 8 hotels that we visited during our
vacation in Sicily.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Frunobulax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

This hotel is really lovely, as described in other posts. Unfortunately it is right next to a restaurant that blasts disco music into the wee hours, and there was no way to get to sleep until the music stopped.
It is right across the street from a picturesque beach with fishing boats-it could be lovely, but the beach is strewn with trash and garbage. We were paying extra for a water front view and it just wasn't pretty.
We decided to leave early due to the noise factor and were at first told we would have to pay for the remaining nights of our reservation. We were able to convince an ungracious desk clerk that this was not reasonable.
We went 10 minutes down the road and stayed at an agritourismo just before Scopello and the quiet at night was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2006

We chose this hotel because its so convenient to Palermo airport if you want a short journey on arrival!

Had no idea it was an historic tuna factory right on the quayside but renovated so wondefully in 2004 and still immaculate!

The design was stupendous throughout, the dining room slightly separate and so elegant. Super kingsized bed with crisp perfect linen, big shower cubicle with power spray, beautiful tiling!

11  Thank discerningeuropean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2005

My wife and I spent 6 nights at the Cetarium Hotel in Castellammare from September 27 thru Oct 2 2005. We found the rooms clean, and the staff very pleasent.

Great location, on the Gulf, in a small and quaint fishing village. Located between Palermo and Trapani.

14  Thank mattyair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castellammare del Golfo hotels
0.1 mi away
Cerri Hotel
Cerri Hotel
#8 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
Hotel Punta Nord-Est
#4 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
641 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sopra Le Mura
Sopra Le Mura
#5 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Marina
Hotel Cala Marina
#1 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Madarig
Hotel Al Madarig
#6 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina di Petrolo Hotel & Spa
Marina di Petrolo Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cetarium Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cetarium Hotel

Address: Via Don Leonardo Zangara, 45, 91014, Castellammare del Golfo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castellammare del Golfo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Castellammare del Golfo
Price Range: £435 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cetarium Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cetarium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cetarium Hotel Castellammare Del Golfo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing