We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
Ranked #22 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overall very nice”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at this property this past weekend. Overall, it was very nice.

We got two connecting rooms- a double and a king. The connecting point was in the sitting room- a very nice set up. It offered much more privacy over on the bedroom side. The "bedrooms" were not fully detached- there was a wall but no door, but the privacy was more than adequate for our group.

The sitting room has a small sofa and a chair, coffee table, a desk and desk chair, a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and a nice touch- a wet sink. The television was situated between the sitting room and the bedroom, and you could swivel it to face either side. It was a good-sized flat screen TV, but the picture wasn't the best. Maybe the cable connection was bad...

The bathroom was very nice- a great improvement over some of the closet sized bathroom some hotels offer. There was plenty of room to move around, and the sink and mirror were outside the bathroom, separate from the bathtub and toilet. This is great when you have more than one person trying to get ready at the same time.

One thing that I thought was odd- the double room had a full-sized ironing board, while the king had a little tabletop board...

The beds were comfortable, with decent linens and towels. The beds in the double were small- double, not queen- something to keep in mind if you need a larger bed.

The breakfast in the morning was typical and adequate. The breakfast attendant was VERY nice and quite helpful. She brought milk to the table when I could not fid it for my kids. We were leaving the hotel at the end of the meal period and she offered the leftover bananas to my little ones- they were too ripe to last another day, and it was a thoughtful gesture. At one point the dining area was quite crowded, but when we went down first thing, everything was fresh and fully stocked. Even during the busy time, it looked like everything was well-tended.

The pool was a little chilly for a "heated" pool, and while not filthy, it could have been cleaner. It sure didn't look as clean as it does in the pictures! It is small, but perfectly fine for letting the kids splash around and work off some energy. The spa tub, on the other hand... it wasn't even as warm as bath water, and had a lot of foam on top. On closer inspection, the foam looked pretty dirty. Ick.

The internet connection was SLOW SLOW SLOW... so slow it was nearly unusable.

Overall, we were quite pleased with our stay. We usually stay at a different property in the area, but I think we may switch over to this one, as it is quite nice and offers nice space.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STVUstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    88
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
109
43
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Although it is a beautiful daytime drive especially during the fall season, there isn't much action along I-64W between Richmond & Charlottesville. This exit has many restaurants & amenities, and this hotel in particular is a good stopping point especially for those who do not want to drive through higher elevations at night. Another plus is you would be paying two to three times the price for the same accommodations in Charlottesville. The hotel itself is newer, clean, comfortable; it has separate bedroom & living area with flatscreen tv. It is tucked amidst a business park with Crackel Barrell restaurant a stone's throw away. Breakfast is sufficient with sausages/eggs, etc. Can't comment on the pool/spa, fitness room, internet; we didn't use them. Hotel is consistent with the Marriott chain.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnimae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My family and I (two parents and two teenagers) stayed here recently for a family wedding. This was our second stay in a SpringHill Suites property. We were very pleased with our visit. The hotel has excellent access to restaurants and interstates.
The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly and accommodating (My teenager was wearing her Clemson gear up in the heart of Virginia Tech territory and that opened up lots of fun conversation with the hotel staff .) The size of these suites is perfect for our family of four. It gives room for relaxing during down time. The two double beds and the sofa beds are comfortable and the microwave and fridge are a great addition for families traveling together. The staff was quick to meet our requests. The lobby was nice and allowed all the family members to get together outside the hotel rooms. Free internet is also an added bonus.
The breakfast was good and a bonus to families traveling together.
The prices at SpringHill Suites is reasonable and gives us a much larger room than standard hotels for the same price !
Thanks SpringHill suites for a great stay !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank go2beach4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I don't typically stay at Springhill properties, however, this particular visit was worth the exception.

The location was very central for businesses in the northwest and the rates were attractive for those wishing to get out of downtown and not mind traffic to get to the office.

Rooms were large with a clean and comfortable living area, vaulted ceiling and very spacious bathroom.

Common areas were standard fare with friendly staff. Property seemed new and was in very clean condition. As a picky traveler I felt in good hands here on the clean scale.

All in all, would stay here again.

Room Tip: First floor had rooms near the common area where breakfast was served...probably not the best locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBFNCNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, PA
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I consider the newer SpringHill Suites I have stayed at to be clear four-star hotels, but I just can't give the somewhat older versions like this one the same marks. There was no huge problem, but a chain of smaller issues when compared with the newer Suite properties. Relatively speaking, the breakfast area was very cramped, the two beds were doubles instead of queens, there were no earphones in the fitness center and there was no lounge. It is a solid spot for a family to stay while in transit - enhanced by the Cracker Barrel that somewhat shares the parking lot. While I would not discourage an acquaintance from staying here, we considered it only slightly better than average.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_and_B_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share some comments about your experience at our hotel. While we can not change the physcial age and layout of the building itself, we certainly take pride in the hard work and dedication our staff puts into each day, making sure that our building looks new and our customer service experts are ready to take care of each guest from the moment they arrive, through their departure. We hope to see you again when travels bring you back through the Richmond area.

Warm Regards,

Jonathan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times for business in Richmond. It's location makes it easy to get around Richmond easily. The hotel is clean, the selection of food at breakfast is excellent, and the staff is always friendly and cheerful. The hotel is near Broad Street and there are many good restaurants nearby (Firebirds, Calfornia Pizza Kitchen, Maggiano's, etc.) There is also abundant shopping nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan B, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
My team and I wanted to take a moment and thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. Positive comments from our guests like yourself are priceless and we really appreciate you sharing your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you again.

All our best,

Jonathan and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We picked this hotel from our previous stay at a Springhill Suites. We had driven up and gone to Skyline Drive and wanted a room to stay close to home. This fit the bill. The area has abundant restaurants available close by.

Room Tip: Marriott Rewards and ask for upgrades at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momma0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
HYATT House Richmond-West
HYATT House Richmond-West
#5 of 81 in Richmond
800 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Northwest/Short Pump
3.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest

Property: SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
Address: 9960 Independence Park Dr, Richmond, VA 23233-1446
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Richmond
#15 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Richmond Northwest Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing