We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun for fans and more . . .”

Edgar Allan Poe Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.00*
and up
Richmond's Shockoe Bottom Segway Tour
Ranked #14 of 168 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Illustrations of the famous poem "The Raven" and numerous other artifacts surrounding the life of this great American author, the father of the psychological horror story, are housed in a series of buildings, including Richmond's oldest.
Miami
Level Contributor
410 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Fun for fans and more . . .”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This museum was established in 1922 and shows its age, but that is part of the charm. The facility is small, but holds a few gems for Poe fans. If you are not familiar with his life, do read a brief biography before you visit. That will help you put this small exhibit in perspective. This was one of the highlights of our visit to Richmond. The parking lot is tiny and parked up, but we were able to find free street parking close by. I was disappointed one could not take photos inside because the museum offers no post cards of the artifacts.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    127
    55
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“memorial day weekend”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I happened upon this place quite by accident. I was driving up Main Street in Richmond and happened to catch a glance of the building. I went on line to check it out. I am not necessarily a fan of Poe but this visit made me wish to study him a little more. there were lots of exhibits and a history of his life

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank blazerkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Little weird, but the house and garden is beautiful”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This place has some interesting artifacts belonging to Poe, but my favorite was the garden and the house itself. I would pay to just see the garden without the Poe stuff, but if you like Poe, this is the place to visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripprf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Although Poe never lived here, it was a very interesting place to visit. A lot of Poe items though. Beautiful garden in the Old Stone House. If you like E. A. P. this is definitely a place to check out!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Madmartigan1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Short but nice visit”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Nice space, incredible garden with fountain. Garden would serve as a good picnic location. The museum consists of several small buildings, none of which Poe lived in. Each display space is fairly small and would be tight with a large group. Decent sized collection of Poe memorabilia. You won't need more an hour to visit.

There is some visitor parking.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edgar Allan Poe Museum also viewed

 

Been to Edgar Allan Poe Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing