We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended by Local Folks!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LuLu's

LuLu's
Reserve with OpenTable
LuLu's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Recommended by Local Folks!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The goal on this trip is to not eat at any chain restaurants and this was highly recommended from the locals and we are glad we listened. Our group ate the red velvet waffle, Atlantic omelet and french toast. Portions were good and price was good for the area. It may not look like much on the outside, but inside, the staff were friendly and the food is good. Looking forward to returning on my next visit to Richmond, Virginia.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xtremern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    37
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

After hearing such good things about this restaurant, we headed there for Sunday Brunch. There was a ten to fifteen minute wait. However, four seats opened up at the bar, so we ate there. The bartender was very friendly and attentive. We ordered a couple of Poinsettias while we waited for our food. They weren't the best Poinsettias, they put a ton of ice in them, which waters them down. I'm used to having mine in a champagne flute and not a regular glass. The best part about sitting at the bar is that you can watch the chef. He was getting it in! It was amazing how talented and quick he was. It didn't take long for our food to come out and the restaurant was pretty full. I ordered the Crab Enchilada, which is usually out of my comfort zone. It came with a side of house potatoes. I don't know where to start...this was the best enchilada I've ever had in my life. The crab and egg complimented each other perfectly. There was sour cream and Sirracha to add to that delicious taste. The house potatoes were good too. We also had an extra side of French toast. This was not your normal French toast. I've never had anything like it. So sweet and fruity. I really enjoyed it. I can't wait to go back to this place and try other things on the menu.

Helpful?
Thank echappell86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lectured by a Rude Manager; food wasn't that good either”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Food was OK at best, overpriced for the quality. There was only one other table but our waitress only came around three times the entire meal. One of our grandchildren accidentally knocked a chicken breast off the table and we asked for a replacement. Instead we got another chicken sandwich meal and were shocked to see a full charge on the bill. The waitress wouldn't help, the manager came over and proceeded to lecture us on why we should pay full price for something we didn't ask for and how to handle children in a restaurant even though she admitted to having none of her own. Her tone of voice and attitude were downright rude and something we have never encountered before. Charge me $3 for what I ordered, fine; refuse to even discount the full price for something we didn't order is WRONG. After coming back to lecture us rudely TWICE she had the nerve to follow us out of the restaurant into the street to tell us we had better not write a bad review. It would not have been a great review without the chicken dinner screwing and rude lectures by the manager; but with those she really didn't leave me a choice. We will NEVER eat there again! Also told the concierge at our hotel what happened (one of the largest in Richmond) and will continue spreading the word. And all the rude lectures over a $3 chicken breast! Amazing, but explains why the place was almost empty on a Saturday night with thousands of visitors in town for the marathon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
216 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Have eaten here several times and look forward to going back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is one of the downtown restaurants our business group often goes to. We have Vegans, Vegetarians, Carnivores and some just picky eaters in our group. Lulu's is able to satisfy them all. Good drink selection including some microbrews. Go early it is not a huge place.
The prices are $$1/2

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Brunch food is great, interesting menu, very good service. It can get pretty crowded at prime weekends, but the location is great, right next to the market downtown.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruth4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LuLu's also viewed

 

Been to LuLu's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing