We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun urban shopping”
Review of Carytown

Carytown
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.30*
and up
The Carytown Food Tour in Richmond
Ranked #7 of 168 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Section of Richmond that is great for walking, shopping or touring museums and galleries.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun urban shopping”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great dining and shopping. Loved The Daily, Sweet Frog, and the cute clothing boutiques. About 5 blocks of interesting. Would have loved to have caught a movie at the theater, but no time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WILOHMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    299
    81
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,427 reviews
764 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Lots of small shops and restaurants”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We walked up and down several blocks of Cary Street. Lots of small shops and restaurants. Many consignment stores selling interesting merchandise. Something to do only if you run out of other things.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chitownsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A whole different scene”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A very eclectic area for arts/crafts. The bead shop is great, as well as the toy stores. There are many restaurants-high and low end that look great. Didn't have time to eat there but the smells were permeating the air.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GmaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quaint and all Richmond”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

wonderful place to park, shop and eat at small businesses. Veery good quality and a great atmosphere for the whole family.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Reid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rose Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice outing on our getaway.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited Richmond recently for a wedding. We ended up getting to town hours before the wedding was set to start and drove through Carytown on the way to the wedding. When we found out we were super early we decided to "go back where they was paintings on the wall". We found a spot put on our sneakers and just walked. There was food, shops, art and locals (I LOVE LOCALS!). It was a very nice way to kill time while waiting for the wedding to start. Would highly recommend on a nice spring/summer day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyE4514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carytown also viewed

 

Been to Carytown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing