We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maggie Walker Review”

Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site
Ranked #24 of 171 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The remarkable life and achievements of this famous early 1900s African-American entrepreneur, first woman bank president in the U.S. and social activist are celebrated here with artifacts, photographs and memorabilia.
Marietta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maggie Walker Review”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

WOW!! This was a really nice historic site. We didn't know much about Maggie L Walker but when we left , we left with an understanding of who she was and what she did for African Americans as well as the country. In school they only touch on who she was and that was an African American who became an millionare by opening up the first charter bank. She was more than that! We took 9 youths from our church, New Generations Ministries to visit her home and once again...WOW!! We learned and saw so much!! All you have to leave is a donation. We will be visiting again soon!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    22
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Staff very friendly and knowledge of history”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This place is amazing of how it all begin. It seems Mrs. Walker was a very interesting business woman who built her business from "pennies". She had her share of tragedy but she always seemed to reach out and help someone. I had a good time. The tour does not take long.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheilagwoodtwin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“See the business success for African-Americans”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is the untold story of business success for a Black American woman in the heart of the South. Her resolve & intellect will be inspirational.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HistoryTraveler216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fascinating life story”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I admit I had never heard of Maggie Walker but I'm glad I learned bout her! Ben Anderson was the Ranger who led our tour and he is clearly well-versed in and enthusiastic about his subject. Ms. Walker is best known as the first female bank president but that is only one of many accomplishments. She led efforts to help others, especially blacks and women, get educated, have quality employment and in general have a better quality of life. The home in which she lived is well preserved with almost all original furnishings. The tour includes a film and exhibit hall to learn about her life, family and accomplishments followed by a tour of her house.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fascinating part of history”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My Husband and I were lucky enough to have a tour with only the Guide. He was obviously well versed about the history and answered each question we posed. I wish NC residents could share in this part of our history. Excellent tour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing