We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay - comfortable and excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed a few nights in Richmond when we were there on holidays recently. We were lucky enough to be able to be there for the Sunday Brunch - if you can make it there for that alone, I'd recommend you do...

The room was very pleasant and the bed comfortable, bathroom was very clean. Overall a very comfortable room.

We ate in the bar one night and the food there was also lovely. The nuts on the bar were smoked in-house, lovely flavour and I am going to try that myself. Nice beers as well as wines available.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and review. Good luck with recreating the smoked nuts served at Lemaire's bar. They are addictive!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

997 - 1,003 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012

My mother and I went here for the day, just for lunch. We were amazed at the beauty of the hotel. My mother is seventy and just wanted to get away for the day, so she, had her hair done in the salon. Then we had lunch the food was out of this world, and the service could get no better.This hotel is only an hour away from our home and for someone her age a day trip that would put a smile on her face is well worth it. So I would recommend that you just put your mother in the car and spend the day here it is well worth it. I would love to spend the night but she wants to be in her own bed. So for a memorable moment that will last forever go for the ride.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teressa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for including The Jefferson in your special day with your mother! We are so glad that you both enjoyed your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had our wedding ceremony and reception at The Jefferson Hotel June 2011. Planning the wedding from out of town, I was expecting several trips back and forth to Richmond (8 hr drive from my current residence). Luckily, the Jefferson was able to make this easy and I pretty much got everything done in just a couple trips all together! The hotel offered a wedding coordinator (Ashton-she was great!), floral services, catering for the event, bakery/cake services and of course accommodations including a complimentary room for the bride/groom. I only had to arrange for my dress and photographer/videographer/DJ and lighting.

The hotel itself is magnificent and makes for beautiful photographs. I did my bridal portraits there as well. The enormous staircase was one of the highlights of the wedding, when you get announced "Mr and Mrs" with all of your wedding guests at the bottom of the stairs. It's almost like a second walk down the aisle except this time you are with your husband! Great experience!

The food of course is exceptional and you get to taste everything that will be served the day of the wedding ahead of time. Delicious! Prior to the ceremony, we had chocolate covered strawberries, champagne, eggs benedict and pastries served for breakfast while the girls and I were getting ready. All of the food was exceptional!

The rooms are also beautiful, large and comfortable. By the time we reached the room all of the gifts were arranged in a separate sitting area. The staff had arranged a beautiful table with two slices of our wedding cake (which we hadn't had time to really eat during the wedding) and a bottle of Asti with rose petals on the table.

Overall our experience with The Jefferson Hotel was nothing short of amazing. If I had to do it all over again, I would 100% choose to have my wedding at this historic hotel. The staff and service are amazing, surroundings gorgeous, and food exceptional! A huge thank you to the Jefferson Hotel and Ashton for a perfect wedding!

-Rachel & Matt D

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for allowing The Jefferson to be a part of your wedding day! Ashton is terrific and we so appreciate you recognizing her and the great service that she provides. Congratulations and warmest wishes for many happy years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We went to a gorgeous wedding at this hotel. The lobbies, ballroooms, and restaurants were all beautiful. The service was top notch! BUT - they need to redo the sleeping rooms. The mattress was VERY soft and would move around like a roller coaster at every turn had a horrible sleep. I was not the only one in my family that also noted similar issues. The room smelled a bit musty as well. I really wanted to be blown away by the sleeping rooms, but was not impressed. Also, unless I missed something, it would be great to have coffee makers in the rooms. Maybe there is some kind of ordinance that they cannot have them in the rooms because it is a historical site? If they can work out freshening up those rooms - I would be SO ready to come back. Overall we enjoyed ourselves, but I would probably stay elsewhere when I come back to Richmond and come over to the Jeffrerson for the yummy looking brunch. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djsabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to report that new mattresses are currently being installed in the hotel and that process will be ongoing until all have been replaced. Our sincere apologies that this created a less than satisfactory experience for you and others within your party. We do hope that you will decide to return to The Jefferson again when visiting Richmond to try the new mattresses for yourself.
Thank you also for your observations on the in-room coffee machines. We prefer to invite guests to join us in the lobby each morning for complimentary coffee and hot tea service. Our goal is to provide guests with a wider variety of offerings and a much better quality. It's also not much fun to have to make your own! Hope you will join us in the lobby on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

After attending a wedding in the suburbs, we celebrated our own anniversary at the Jefferson with a package that included the hotel’s, justifiably famous, Sunday champagne brunch. We booked a standard room which, like those in many historic hotels, was small but beautifully appointed. As others have mentioned, the entire staff knows you by name and service was excellent everywhere from reception to bell service to the restaurants. We ate a late dinner at TJ’s (the hotel’s bar) and could’t have been more pleased by the service and food particularly the hot dog with fried oysters, (yes, really a great combination). The Sunday brunch was excellent with a good mix of breakfast and main courses. We had a terrific and knowledgeable server. The hotel has beautiful architecture in a Southern, rococo style. The Jefferson is located on the edge of downtown which may impact business travelers but it does offer car service for guests. The hotel (and staff) fully deserve the 5 star rating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouringLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for choosing The Jefferson for your anniversary stay! We appreciate your review and your mention of our great staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

While the grandeur of the Old South faded years ago, a good bit of ante-bellum charm and sophistication can still be found in the former capital of the confederacy in Richmond, Virginia if you opt to stay at the Jefferson Hotel. There is really nothing else in Virginia to compare with the Jefferson. It is a place that has to be recognized as a world class hotel.

Many hotels eschew the old in favor of the new, but not at the Jefferson. Everything old and traditional is carefully restored and maintained, so that it can be appreciated and celebrated daily. The celebration begins at the formal entrance, with a dignified welcome and gracious attention from the front door staff. The dutiful service continues on through the reception and on into the grand lobby, which is appropriately adorned with classical marble columns, arches, and plush decor reminiscent of the glory of Paris in its belle epoque.

The rooms at the Jefferson are all unique, no cookie cutters were ever used here. The well appointed, plush rooms have all the modern conveniences one would expect from a world class hotel, and then some. Service, amenities, and dining (whether formal or informal) are all top notch at the Jefferson. Price should not be an object if you are staying at the Jefferson. But, oddly enough, at the end of your stay you may likely say, as we did, that the experience was well worth the price differential, usually just a few dollars above the going rate for most upper category chain hotels.

For special occasions, receptions, weddings and the like, the Jefferson is well known in the area. But even if you are just passing through Richmond, it's worth those few turns off I-95 to stay at the Jefferson instead of at a chain. Don't miss a ride through Richmond's famous Fan district (a treasure trove of Victorian designed homes) and Monument Avenue.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance, especially for weekends or during the Virginia General Assembly session fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for the terrific review and for mentioning so many aspects of our commitment to preserving The Jefferson's rich history while also providing guests with a comfortable and luxurious experience. We appreciate your eloquent descriptions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Spectacular is the only word to describe this hotel. I am a business traveler but during this stay my husband traveled with me. It is a perfect hotel for the business traveler or anyone visiting the Richmond area, The customer service defines perfection. Each employee greeted us by name and went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. The ambience was eloquent with a touch of history. Lemaires offered a wonderful happy hour with great cocktails prepared by an exquisite chef. The van took us to the local restaurants and recommended local attractions based on our interests. Vivian was our favorite employee from the housekeeping department as she added special touches to our room. Gary Burke is the GM and has mastered providing the perfect hotel experience. As an International traveler, this is one of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FanofRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thank you for the terrific review and for mentioning Vivian's excellent service, as well as, that of our Hotel Manager. We hope that your business travels will bring you back to The Jefferson again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,092 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
802 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £224 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing