We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jefferson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginny, USandA
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Classic Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Spent a June 2012 weekend there, on a package, which included dinner on Saturday night as well as breakfast on Sunday morning--this was a fantastic deal.

Greeting and bell staff were excellent, attentive almost to the point of distraction. Very helpful. Concierge staff was very knowledgeable, providing me a fascinating lecture on a neighboring building from my simple ignorant question about it--very interesting.

Dinner at Lemaire was quite good. Staff was very good, but just a little bit slow. Food was outstanding, as was the beer and wine selections. Dining room was busy, but not loud. Breakfast at Lemaire was very quick, also with very good service.

The room was very nice, and everything worked. It did take a while to figure out the TV system, and the regular TV channels took forever to change and then to load. Pay per view movies were dated, and the selection was not very extensive. The room was not crowded, and very clean. The king bed was very squishy. Nighttime was okay, except for the drunken wedding reception guests in the halls between midnight and 4am.

Would we go back? Most definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside view, or you'll be looking at the roofs in the interior court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rugby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your review of your stay using the Lemaire Dinner Package. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have created. Thank you also for your positive comments and your decision to return again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    178
    60
    21
    13
See reviews for
244
507
48
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
226 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

You will be having a lifetime memory when you stay at the Jefferson Hotel in downtown historic Richmond VA. We loved our spacious corner room with super high ceilings. The Sunday brunch was delicious, the staff was very attentive. Walk around the hotel and enjoy all it has to offer. Bring your pet dog and it will be pampered too!

Room Tip: Parking is easy on the hotel property, ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your review and for joining us for Sunday Brunch during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We are thrilled that be booked at the architectural gem, The Jefferson Hotel. Every service experience was top notch. Well done.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

My family stayed here one night on our way to Williamsburg, we wanted a day to soak up the history in Richmond and we were not disappointed. The hotel is gorgeous, the concierge found us a great place for dinner and the free hotel shuttle took us there and back. The pool area is lovely, it's indoors with an attached outdoor sunning space. The entry lobby with the stained glass is simply stunning, and the huge staircase is a step back in time. But by far the package we bought, which included tickets to two civil war museums, valet parking and breakfast (including gratuity!) was an amazing adventure. My family thoroughly loved our stay, it was a great way to start a vacation in Virginia!

Room Tip: Being on floor one means you are just down the hall from the pool and a short walk from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aksnt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing our Civil War Package for your visit. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Virginia and that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights recently when we turned his business trip into a long weekend. Richmond is certainly not the most exciting city in the world, but this hotel is beautiful. All staff members were extremely nice and helpful, and I really appreciated the concierge's suggestions and free shuttle rides. I guess I am just not used to staying in a luxury hotel though, as I really did not like the turn-down service. Housekeeping leaves 2 lights and the radio on after turn-down, which is just an egregious waste of electricity when you have no idea when the guests will return to the room. We missed out on the Sunday brunch, but saw the staff setting up while we were checking out, and it looked really lovely.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for spending a long weekend with us and for your review. Our apologies that our turn down service was not to your liking. We take many measures within the hotel to conserve energy but we do continue with this service at turndown so that guests are made to feel welcome upon their return to their room. Thank you for sharing your perspective so that we can continue to gauge our success at meeting guest's travel preferences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel is historic and beautiful. The regular rooms (king bed) are not anything too special but it was clean and comfortable. The rest of the hotel special is amazing and definitely worth walking around. The restaurant is really great but far from cheap unless you just get a main course. The location is alright but not much within walking distance. This is a wonderful hotel if you want to spend the money and enjoy a historic building with a lot of beauty.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlea_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Jefferson Hotel is over 100 years old, but it has been kept in excellent conditions over the years. The architecture and stained glass windows are very beautiful to enjoy. The food in the restaurant is excellent and not very expensive given the quality of food and the nice surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing