We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We were in Richmond this past weekend for a family wedding and were fortunate enough to stay at The Jefferson Hotel. As others have noted, the hotel is an architectural beauty and warrants a stay for that reason alone. The hotel also offers the full array of services that you would expect, and the service is top-notch as this brief story illustrates:

As part of the wedding celebration, the bride had asked grandparents, aunts and uncles to bring along their wedding photos to display at the reception -- a nice idea. Our job was to bring our wedding photo...and the only wedding photo that exists of the bride's maternal grandparents. In our rush to leave for Richmond on time, we forgot the grandparents' wedding photo. With the help of a good friend and neighbor, and some timely printing by FedEx Kinko's, we were able to get a reproduction of the photo in time, but not a suitable frame. When we explained our dilemma to Austin Murden, a newly-minted Concierge at The Jefferson, he immediately searched their "odds and ends" drawer and found a perfectly nice frame that he was able to "loan" us for a few hours. It worked like a charm and our problem was solved.

While Austin certainly deserves credit for finding the solution in a timely manner, it was his good nature, polite attention, and eagerness to help that made the difference. In fact, every encounter we had with the Jefferson team this weekend was similarly courteous and responsive.

Although the wedding reception and rehearsal dinner were not held at The Jefferson, the hotel provided many of us with a beautiful, comfortable and well-appointed room, good food, and gracious service during our stay. It greatly enhanced what was a truly memorable weekend and wonderful family wedding experience. We would recommend this hotel to anyone without reservation. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdvanceTeamDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for your review and for recognizing Austin. We look forward to your return to The Jefferson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,300 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

Front desk was so kind and welcoming. My daughter was not feeling well, so they got us into a room promptly even though check-in was hours away. Our room type was not ready yet, so Pat put us in a junior suite so that we could rest. When we called on the drive to request the early check-in, she said, "your room is not ready, but you come in and we will take care of you". AMAZING!!!

In addition, when I went down to get tea, I ran into Pat Coles (the front desk person who is mentioned above). I asked her a question about the museum. By the time I walked across the lobby to get my tea, the concierge stopped me. Without asking, Pat had spoken to the concierge who then answered my question and offered the hotel car to take me. Special thanks and kudos to Pat Coles. I wish that I knew the name of the concierge.

The rooms are beautiful with a fabulous bathroom. The Molton Brown toiletries were most appreciated. The bed was extremely comfortable. The rooms were very quiet. Housekeeping is top notch.

Public areas are stunning!

We enjoyed the casual dining room downstairs and room service. The food was memorable and well presented.

We had the "summer getaway package". This package made this hotel an amazing value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for your review and for recognizing Pat and the outstanding service that she provides!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed at this hotel and had a great experience. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The loaner robes with the hotels logo were nice (available for purchase too). The interior of the lobby and its lower level parlor were were grand. The Valet service was included with in the Getaway package, as was 50$ gift card for the first night stay. We received an additional 75$ gift card for the second night we stayed there, giving us 125$ in gift card value total. We used the gift cards with in the hotels Restaurant and their gift shop. The hotel staff and hotel restaurant staff were very courteous. We used the hotel shuttle to go to a local restaurant (Tarrant's Cafe), The driver was very courteous. I enjoyed exploring the hotel and I really enjoyed the little hotel history museum they had on the lower level.

The hotel's location was close to many of Richmond's Attractions. The state Capitol Building was pretty close, but not in walking distance. Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU) main campus was very close. Most attractions were with in 5-15 miles to the location.

If I ever decide to re0visit Richmond I would differently stay at the Hotel again.

Room Tip: Be sure to book the Getaway package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for your review and your recommendation of our Great Summer Getaway Package!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I stayed at this one week ago and i can't get it out of my mind that they kept on screwing up on every order we placed in the restaurant and couldn't get a thing right when we requested stuff for our room. Its very hard to want to go back there and have to go through what i did last week!

Room Tip: Room 538 was beautiful and spacious with lots of sunlight because it was a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoyoGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for making us aware that you were not pleased with our service. I have sent you a direct message in hopes that you will be willing to share more specifics with us so that we can address these areas and your concerns. Thank you in advance for your consideration of our request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Spent a June 2012 weekend there, on a package, which included dinner on Saturday night as well as breakfast on Sunday morning--this was a fantastic deal.

Greeting and bell staff were excellent, attentive almost to the point of distraction. Very helpful. Concierge staff was very knowledgeable, providing me a fascinating lecture on a neighboring building from my simple ignorant question about it--very interesting.

Dinner at Lemaire was quite good. Staff was very good, but just a little bit slow. Food was outstanding, as was the beer and wine selections. Dining room was busy, but not loud. Breakfast at Lemaire was very quick, also with very good service.

The room was very nice, and everything worked. It did take a while to figure out the TV system, and the regular TV channels took forever to change and then to load. Pay per view movies were dated, and the selection was not very extensive. The room was not crowded, and very clean. The king bed was very squishy. Nighttime was okay, except for the drunken wedding reception guests in the halls between midnight and 4am.

Would we go back? Most definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an outside view, or you'll be looking at the roofs in the interior court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rugby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for your review of your stay using the Lemaire Dinner Package. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have created. Thank you also for your positive comments and your decision to return again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

You will be having a lifetime memory when you stay at the Jefferson Hotel in downtown historic Richmond VA. We loved our spacious corner room with super high ceilings. The Sunday brunch was delicious, the staff was very attentive. Walk around the hotel and enjoy all it has to offer. Bring your pet dog and it will be pampered too!

Room Tip: Parking is easy on the hotel property, ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for your review and for joining us for Sunday Brunch during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We are thrilled that be booked at the architectural gem, The Jefferson Hotel. Every service experience was top notch. Well done.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.9 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 82 in Richmond
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
778 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £235 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing