We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jefferson Hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My experience at the Jefferson Hotel was from a vacation- I treated myself to a one night stay and Oh my God it was great. The hotel is very elegant. The customer service was very nice. The food was excellent. The hotel suite was heaven and peaceful very beautiful.
I thoroughly enjoyed and I would recommend to all. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fawnda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thank you for your reivew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,279)
There are newer reviews for The Jefferson Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

923 - 929 of 1,279 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

Wow oh wow. What a beautiful hotel, the lobby is something to behold, a sweeping stair case down to the Rotunda where you can have breakfast at TJs. The elegance is of a by gone era and you feel that Southern hospitality is not lost.
They provide shuttle buses to shokoe slip where there is a choice of restaurants , and they even come and bring you back. What service. The concierge was very helpful and advised on where to go and not to go.
A great 3 nights. Well done Jefferson

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JONBAX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thank you for your review and for mentioning Shockoe Slip. It's another treasure of Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I have stayed at The Jefferson a number of times over the past few years. It is unfortunate that not every visit has been great, we have stayed in renevated and non renevated rooms. This particular visit we were in room 430 not so great. The bed and linens were very comforftable, super small room.

We ate at Lemaire the drinks and service were excellent, the food was extremely salty.

The Jefferson is a lovely hotel in a great area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bizone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thank you for your review. We regret that you did not find your room to your liking during this visit. We have over 50 different configurations so we are generally able to find just the perfect room for each of our guests. Please let us know some of your preferences the next time you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This hotel is one of the nicest I've stayed at. The property is beautiful, the rooms are very nice, and the service is outstanding. I ate at Lemaire twice, and three times at TJ's. Both restaurants were excellent. Great for business. I could not be happier with my stay, and might even return for leisure. Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyclex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 2 July 2012

Thank you for your review. We hope you will return for a weekend getaway soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We discovered The Jefferson Hotel traveling I-95. At one time it was our migration south. Now live in NC and FL, and The Jefferson continues to be our favorite stop when we visit family and friends up north. The Hotel is amazing and so beautiful especially at Christmas. Go early and take time to wander through the restored Hotel. It is beautiful and steeped with history. Dinner reservations are a must. The food and service are marvelous and it's perfect for a romantic evening. Expensive but well worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for making us your "go-to" stop when traveling north!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We thought that we would try stopping in Richmond as part of our annual north-south migration but had a dreadful expectation of commercial hotels/motels with the attendant risk of car break ins to our packed vehicle.
We tried the Jefferson and were wonderfully surprised. This is an old, elegant hotel that has been totally refurbished to its original elegance.
The location is quiet, the rooms are excellent and spacious and the restaurant is extremely good.
This was our second stay and will not be our last.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cicada72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

Thank you for making The Jefferson a part of your annual pilgrimage and for sharing this idea with others. We look forward to welcoming you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I attended a wedding and stayed at the Jefferson Hotel in Richmond, VA. Everything was perfect and elegant. The staff is friendly and attentive to any needs.
While the bride was the most beautiful, the hotel came in second and everything from the ceremony through the reception and the after party in the bar was picture perfect. The food was great and the reception room was decorated with beautiful, large, flower arrangements. Everyone who attended received a gift upon leaving - a pen and ink drawing of the historic Jefferson Hotel.
I highly recommend it.

Wedding guests received a highly discounted rate to stay at the Jefferson Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2012

We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,060 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,944 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £225 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing