We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for our anniversary!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
“Perfect place for our anniversary!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We can't say enough good things about the Jefferson Hotel, where we stayed for our anniversary. Highly trained staff, immaculate room, outstanding food, including dinner at Lamiere and breakfast in bed. It truly ranks as one of the best hotels in the state, if not the entire country. Our highest recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alashas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for choosing The Jefferson for your anniversary celebration and for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    178
    60
    21
    13
See reviews for
247
510
48
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Stay in this Richmond gem for a wedding. The room was spacious, breakfast was fabulous and the staff took care of you like family. This was a really great weekend and the hotel made it special. Really recommend the breakfast in there dining room, the chef is very creative and presentation on the target. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerrySchaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson for such a special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

It's pretty rare forms to say a hotel was perfect, but that's the only word I can use to describe The Jefferson! Our stay this past weekend was absolutely enjoyable, and I only wish that could have stayed longer. Our room was very comfortable, and the entire hotel was extremely beautiful. We used the hotel's transportation service for a night out on Saturday, and it was very convenient and a good alternative to driving. The highlight of our stay was Sunday Brunch! The service was impeccable, and our champagne glasses never ran dry! The food was amazing, too! I hope that next time we are in Richmond, we will get another opportunity to stay at The Jefferson!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your "perfect" review! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

First visit to Jefferson and it exceeded my high expectations. Staff was especially welcoming and professional. Enjoyed the pool and athletic facilities, loved dinner and breakfast at Lamiere, but the it's worth the money just to sit in the luxurious areas and absorb the grand surroundings. There's very few national treasures like this still around. Their web site offers numerous packages with very reasonable rates. A great way to celebrate our 44th anniversary - affordable luxury that did not disappoint.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grandparents2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for choosing The Jefferson and Lemaire for your 44th anniversary celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Jefferson, which dates from late 1895, is a grand hotel, with opulent public spaces and traditional décor in guest rooms. So, after years of promising ourselves a stay at The Jefferson “someday,” we finally booked a two-night visit for a weekend “mini break.” It was worth the wait! We had a wonderful time, both at the hotel and exploring Richmond (rather than simply driving past it en route elsewhere). Our booking was made via the hotel website and took advantage of the “Great Summer Getaway” package, which included a credit (“gift card”) to use for other hotel services, such as meals. We opted to use our credit for dinner at the hotel’s Lemaire Restaurant.

The Jefferson’s rooms may be of traditional style, but our double room (two beds) was very modern in terms of comfort and appointments. We especially liked the room’s layout, with the bath “around the corner” from the sleeping/sitting area. We also liked the exceptionally plush bath towels, generously sized and made from heavy, thick, absorbent 100-percent cotton. The only element lacking in the bath (often true in other hotels): no direct lighting over the bathtub/shower. That, coupled with an opaque shower curtain, results in a rather dim bathing environment.

We appreciated the small safe placed in the back wall of the closet. The safe’s configuration was a bit narrow and vertical, but it offered enough room to secure certain items we did not need to carry with us at all times. On the plus side, in-room high speed wireless Internet access is complementary (that’s a rarity in many hotels!). In fact, wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel. An iPod/iPhone dock and a USB port in the clock radio was another welcome detail.

We enjoyed three meals at the Jefferson: In addition to cocktails and dinner at the Lemaire, we had two breakfasts—one in the Lemaire (Sunday morning) and one in TJs the following day. The hotel’s house coffee (“Royal Cup”) was delicious (we prefer strong coffee with good flavor), and we both enjoyed the well-prepared “Jefferson Omelet,” and the local grits (it’s a southern thing!). The Jefferson staff—both in the restaurants and elsewhere in the hotel—is unfailingly charming and helpful.

While we did observe the set up for the impressive Sunday brunch—served in the grand Palm Court—we did not try it this time. For that, we will need a second visit. Suffice it to say, that brunch probably would be one’s only meal on a given day! We had an opportunity to hear the trio that entertains during brunch—an added inducement to consider a second visit.

We would recommend The Jefferson to anyone contemplating a visit to Richmond. We recommend it to ourselves for a return visit—soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jruthg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you were so pleased with your stay and we look forward to your return for another getaway with brunch. We regularly offer packages, like the Great Summer Getaway, that include brunch as an option!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

my husband and i love Richmond, and we we love to stay at the Jefferson whenever we can. the hotel is a beautiful building, rich in history. and the service is incredible. from the minute you pull up to the valet, to when it's time to check-out. it's a full-service hotel and they aim to please!
the best part of the stay for me, besides being surrounded by some amazing moments of American history, is the champagne brunch. this is the most spectacular brunch i have ever been lucky enough to enjoy. if you can splurge a little, go for it! endless champagne, and some of the most wonderful food. make reservations, though...this brunch fills up fast!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your review and for continuing to choose The Jefferson and our Sunday Brunch during your visits to Richmond. We hope to have you visit with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

11 presidents have stayed there and Washington DC is near by.
The grits with shrimp for breakfast was excellent. The food was amongst the best in the US and the hotel is grand America at its very best. Will go back just to stay there and the staff are friendly helpful and enhanced our stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDiscerningHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your review and your visit to Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
992 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing