We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is the Nicest Part of Richmond”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Hill, VA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hotel is the Nicest Part of Richmond”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Our room was the quietest room I've ever been in. Nice view of the city from the big window. Room and bath were small, but had every comfort you could think of. The bath robes were nice and soft. Wonderful dinner and breakfast. Absolutley no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    187
    61
    23
    14
See reviews for
262
553
50
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, PA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Our excellent stay started and finished with phenomenal treatment from the Jefferson's staff. The front desk was kind enough to upgrade us during our stay for our anniversary. The bellman was friendly and knowledgeable. The concierge provide a great deal of assistance with dining options, area attractions and shopping, and transportation needs. The concierge staff went out of their way to be helpful. Their knowledge and assistance greatly enhanced our stay. The staff of Lemaire, hotel's main restaurant,exceeded our expectations. Our room was large and comfortable. The towels were the nicest I have encountered at any stay in my 12 years of business and personal travel. We will definitely be back. The only thing that I did not like at the hotel was the shower nozzle. It had a nice strong spray that was eco-friendly and presumably cost-saving for the hotel, but it doesn't actually put out that much water, which could result in feeling somewhat cold even when the water was hot.

Room Tip: The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius. We used it three times w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyrdestroyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson for your anniversary celebration. We appreciate all your observations, including the feedback on the shower head. We are constantly trying new products so this is a good tip for our future experimentation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The best reason for visiting Richmond -- that and the world-class Fine Arts Museum. A magnificent hotel (it could be a movie set), superb food, and a delightful indoor swimming pool. Luxurious comfort. Attentive, friendly staff. Complimentary limouse service at the front door to take you wherever you want to go and return. We had a package we saw on a link from the Museum -- a bargain price plus a $50 credit toward hotel purchases (we used it for dinner)(reservations a must), and complimentary valet parking. Only downsides: windows wouldn't open (although AC was excellent), no frig or coffee maker (but coffee and many other refreshments available in gift shop snack bar). Most fun: watching boaters navigate the rapids on the James River along the Canal Walk. Funky Careytown also worth visiting. I always wanted to visit this legendary hotel and we weren't disappointed.

Room Tip: Some rooms seem to front on an inside courtyard. I imagine they are less desirable than the very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for your review and for sharing some of your favorite things about Richmond too! You'll enjoy knowing that the hotel has served as a movie set for several feature films over the years, including Presidential Kid, My Dinner with Andre and Ironed Jawed Angels, just to name a few.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We picked this hotel for the family brunch at the restaurant, frankly the service is poor the waitress took too long to get our food on top she forgot one of the order without apologized. Overall the food is average, the ham is too salty, egg is over cook but the fresh squeezed orange juice is the best. Love the hotel atmosphere, nice decorations and good location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purpletravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your review. We were, however, very disappointed to hear that the service that you received during breakfast was less than perfect. Please accept our apologies and be assured that we will address your concerns with our breakfast service and kitchen staffs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babylon, NY
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

First of all, I wasn't aware that Richmond was a not so safe town. We were kept up all night by fire engines, police and ambulance sirens. Apparently the college campus was riddled with crime that night and that was too close and annoying for comfort. Second, this hotel is very beautiful and the staff were very nice but the a/c kept going off in the middle if the night in August and the pillows felt like I was sleeping on cement. All in all between the three problems we checked out that following morning and called this family a vacation a complete wash.

Room Tip: clearly not with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinmommy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience. Your comments have been shared with our Engineering and Housekeeping departments.
We also are sorry to hear that events outside of the hotel that evening prevented you from resting. Generally, our location near to the campus is a positive but they did expereince some unusal cirecumstances that night that we are confident won't soon be repeated. We are truly sorry, however, that your stay coincided with those unfortunate occurances. We hope that you will consider a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County NJ
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This was our second stay at The Jefferson and it was a fabulous as our initial visit. It is a beautiful hotel with topnotch accommodations and amenities. It is the well trained staff, however, which earns this hotel 5 stars. They anticipate your every need without being obsequious or fawning. The concierge, wait staff, and driver were knowledgeable and helpful with every request.

Dinner at Lemaire and breakfast in the morning were very good.

I have traveled extensively stateside and abroad and would rate this as one of the nicest hotels I have had the pleasure to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zillexamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your review and your return visit to The Jefferson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012 via mobile

Five star plushness. Doesn't get too much better. Staff is very accommodating and up to the five star rating. Wish we could have stayed another night as we didn't have enough time to explore and enjoy all the amenities. Free shuttle service too!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,050 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
5.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 82 in Richmond
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing