We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with great history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We spent two nights at The Jefferson and had a great stay. The hotel is rich in feel and history. Be sure to check out the mini museum on the lower level. We booked a studio suite to have more space and our room had a nice sitting are and large marble bathroom with a corner tub and separate shower. The service was excellent at the hotel from valet parking to check-in and the bell stand. We had appetizers and drinks both nights at the restaurant so we'd have a chance to try a wide variety of their offerings. Nice martini and wine lists! We ordered room service for breakfast both mornings which was a treat. They provide shuttle service to many restaurants as it's quite a walk. A very comfortable stay with very clean rooms and comfortable beds!

Room Tip: If you want extra room then book a Junior Studio or higher suite. We couldn't ever hear anyone i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19holes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

700 - 706 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

The most gorgeous interior throughout this historic hotel makes you feel that you have gone back in time. The paintings on the ceilings,the detailed woodwork,the furnishings, the grand staircase are a must see. You must reserve Sunday Brunch at TJ's to enjoy the grandeur vibe and the wonderful food.
Christmas time the entire hotel is decorated like a masterpiece. All ages love a holiday visit to the Jefferson. i have been coming here for years and always look forward to coming back.
70 Rooms are now in the process of being refurbished, which will give the rooms the updated look and feel they need.
The service is quick and attentive. Hurry and make your holiday reservation.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for the view and the light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review and for encouraging others to make their holiday reservations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very luxe vibe from the moment you arrive until you leave. Both lobbies and the connecting Grand Staircase are beautiful and interesting to look at. Bellmen and valets were top-notch. Front desk staff is professional and courteous, but a bit lacking in enthusiasm. Property is very well kept and clean. Governor's Suite (Room 449) is large and pretty but the bathroom is super-cramped. Nothing special about the toiletries, sink or tub/shower.

Linens, towels, and bathrobes were all first rate. Housekeeping was friendly and efficient. Room service was quick and cordial. Restaurants and bars were elegant, high quality and reasonably priced.

There are a few decent restaurants and lounges and good shopping within a mile..

Cons: considerable traffic noise. Small, unremarkable bathroom relative to the rest of the room and hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aldo_Nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope that you will visit again to enjoy the new bathroom design that is being implemented throughout the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Jefferson is unique and beautiful. The hotel has beautiful furnishings and lots of history, pictures of celebrity visits, and very interesting hotel. The main stairway is super cool. We saw a wedding with the bride and groom coming down the wide stairway. Christmas is awesome with the tree lighting, music, cider.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary And Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The stunning lobby is grand, the service is gracious, the rooms are beautiful and we will revisit this hotel. Located in downtown Richmond, our plans included a one night stay at The Jefferson and we wish we had more time. We ordered room service and also dined at the hotel restaurant. Both experiences were delightful adding another layer of good service and prompting my review.

Room Tip: Because we made our reservations late the room choices were limited and we reserved a suite. When we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dweitzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your stay and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Built in the late part of the 19th Century. Walk in the footsteps of Charlie Chaplin, Elvis and at least a dozen Presidents. The Jefferson is old Virginia and an atmosphere of history. Although not in a great neighborhood, it's close to VCU and a cab ride from the safe action of Shockoe Slip. The rooms are like the hotel, a lot of ambiance, albeit, in some cases, not a lot of space. I stayed in a very roomy 2 room suite. The amenities were great. They provide a rob, whirlpool and roomy shower.
The staff was very nice and management stand behind their product. I had an issue in a prior stay that prompted the manager,Gary, to give an incentive for this stay.
The Jefferson is also Pet friendly. Be prepared to pay for this experience. A minimal room will run about $250/nt. The suite I stayed would normally run $500/nt.
The conference staff are very good and the food is excellent. I didn't dine in the restaurant on site, but it has a great reputation.

Room Tip: Stay in a suite. The standard room is small,.as was the standard in the 19th century
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your review and for the opportunity to have you visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Great place to stay in Richmond. Not every grand old hotel maintains its charm but The Jefferson has been very well taken care of. The public spaces are really impressive, and the guest rooms are nicely and simply appointed. We will certainly stay on our next visit, too.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank mws79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We will look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 82 in Richmond
915 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#14 of 82 in Richmond
1,983 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 82 in Richmond
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £235 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing