We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

If you can, stay here when visiting Richmond. Hotel is beautiful especially at Christmas; decorated beautifully! Service was excellent in spite of all the parties going on while we were staying there. Room was very nice and even had turn down service each night. TJ's Bar was very nice as was Lemaire's. Staff is very friendly, attentive and accommodating. They even have car service to nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you will visit again next holiday season (or sooner)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    966
    186
    61
    22
    14
See reviews for
257
542
50
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

there are better hotels on the planet but very few. The decor is not to be forgotten and will rarely be seen outside of museums or homes of the very wealthy. staff is excellent, bellmen and parking staff are not vultures or thinking that the customers are there to serve them. One minor maintenance problem that could not be repaired in time, however accommodation was agreed upon with mutual satisfaction. If you can't stay just visit the lobby and common areas. You will be amazed with original work and masterful preservation.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Silvergoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I was truly impressed with the Jefferson Hotel. As a SPG Platinum traveler, it takes a truly amazing hotel to steer me away from a Starwood property. The Jefferson delivered.

1. Breathtaking Lobby. High decorative ceilings, impressive stairway to lower bar/entertaining area. Each bar and lobby area has its own impressive features. Their Christmas decorations are well done.
2. Unbeatable Historical Charm. 11 US Presidents have stayed plus an impressive list of others. Walking through the hotel truly feels like turning back the hands of time by 100 years, in the best of ways.
3. Spacious Room. High ceilings. Renoved bathroom.
4. Shuttle. Shuttle service is free and takes you to any destination downtown.

My only issue, was being charged for a Snickers from the minibar that I didn't eat. The front desk removed it.

I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms that end in '...01' or '...02' are the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPCLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review and for pointing out your favorite parts of your experience with us. We do apologize for the error in your mini-bar bill and are pleased to hear that it was quickly corrected. We hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is one of those hotels that you will enjoy when staying in Richmond. It is very beautiful and the service is quite good, making you feel like Richmond is your home.
I was last week, with some christmas decoration and the hotel is just gorgeous. Great restaurant, great bar, great lounge, and at the same time is comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson Hotel for your holiday travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Opulent doesn't begin to describe the main lobby of this historic hotel. You really feel transported when you walk into the Jefferson. The rooms have that same historic look, while offering modern comfort. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The restaurant and bar are top notch, though on the expensive side. This is the only place I stay in Richmond.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review and for making The Jefferson your preferred hotel when visiting Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I would move in if I could! The hotel is gorgeous, we've never had a bad room, and the staff is so courteous. Make sure you build in some time to walk around and explore. There is a small museum under the stairs that is worth seeing, as is the art on the walls. And the gift shop is really cute! We had a holiday package that included a $50 credit that could be used in the restaurant - a great value!

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others in the sasme price point. The staff is very willing to find you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lele0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your review and for mentioning our Holidays at The Jefferson package offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeWitt, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed one evening at the Jefferson an it met our high hopes and expectations. The staff was particularly helpful and we enjoyed the free shuttle to nearby locations. The interior décor is amazing. Although the hotel Is definitely upscale, we felt comfortable at all times. Definitely recommend this hotel for a special stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
693 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
1,900 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing