We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend getaway anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
“Best weekend getaway anywhere”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My husband i live in Williamsburg, just 51 miles from Richmond, but our favorite "go to" hotel for 20 years was The Jefferson, and we decided sometimes on a Friday aft to go for the weekend. It is luxurious in every respect, and we have always been treated like royalty at each visit. We loved eating at TJs and Lemaire and exploring Richmond where there is much more to see than you could ever imagine. Sadly, my husband passed away last summer, and i recently decided to take a baby step vacation alone. My first and only thought was The Jefferson. I had been in touch with the GM to let him know i would be alone this time, and i was taken aback by his kindness. A bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries were sent to my room the first night; i was given a suite instead of the superior room i expected; and knowing i wanted to see the exhibition at the Virginia Museum of Art, a ticket was waiting for me at check in. The hotel was decorated beautifully, and although seeing families and couples together was sad for me, there is no place i would rather have been during my first holiday season without my husband. THIS is what The Jefferson embodies for me: the kindness of staff and management, excellent accommodations (wait'll you see the TV in the bathroom mirror if you choose to watch an NFL game while getting ready for bed!), great food, courtesy at every point, and just a bit of sorrow the weekend had to end. Thank you to all of you at The Jefferson!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janbrown16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We so appreciate that you and your husband visited with us on so many occasions in the past and that you entrusted us with your holiday stay. We are truly sorry for your loss but hope that in some very small way we were able to make your holiday season just a little brighter and filled with happy memories. We look forward to your return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    185
    61
    22
    14
See reviews for
256
541
50
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

A visit to the Jefferson at Christmas is a special time. The sight of the Christmas tree beyond the grand staircase will set the tone for your holiday celebration at the Jefferson. We try to include the Jefferson in our holiday plans each year. Every facet of this grand hotel and its staff are five star worthy.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmac006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I recently made reservations at the Jefferson Hotel to include a room for 2 nights, a tea reservation, a dinner reservation and a special in-room breakfast reservation. Two days before the scheduled date, I had to cancel the reservation. During the call to the hotel, I specifically mentioned ALL the reservations and asked if I would need to speak with someone else about the dining. The hotel representative assured me that this would not be necessary. She first cancelled the room, then moved on to the tea and then the dinner reservations, assuring me that everything had been cancelled. The day of our previously scheduled arrival, I got a phone message from the tea room saying that I had failed to cancel the tea reservation and that I would be charged. I called and spoke with the person whose voice I recognized as the earlier caller. I told her that ALL the reservations had been cancelled and that the hotel representative had assured me that no further action on my part would be required. She told me that the manager would have to call me the next day to resolve the matter. Two weeks later--no call, but a $63 charge on my credit card. That in itself is interesting, in that the reservation was for 2 people and the charge for the tea is $24. Does not compute, even allowing for tax. This is supposedly a high class hotel, but apparently they are of the opinion that they never make mistakes and that the customer is never right. Interesting that the other reservations--room and dining--were, in fact, cancelled. I've wasted a lot of time trying to get this matter corrected, but almost two weeks later and it is not. This is a beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, I can't say the same for the management.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ELSIE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you have encountered with our error in not properly cancelling your tea reservation at the time your other reservation cancellations were accepted. Thank you for speaking with our Room Service Manager and please be assured that the charges will be removed from your credit card as quickly as possible and a full investigation of the scenario that you have provided for us is underway so that we can make any needed corrections to our procedures.
Thank you again for making us aware of our error through TripAdvisor and for the opportunity to make that correction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

If you can, stay here when visiting Richmond. Hotel is beautiful especially at Christmas; decorated beautifully! Service was excellent in spite of all the parties going on while we were staying there. Room was very nice and even had turn down service each night. TJ's Bar was very nice as was Lemaire's. Staff is very friendly, attentive and accommodating. They even have car service to nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you will visit again next holiday season (or sooner)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

there are better hotels on the planet but very few. The decor is not to be forgotten and will rarely be seen outside of museums or homes of the very wealthy. staff is excellent, bellmen and parking staff are not vultures or thinking that the customers are there to serve them. One minor maintenance problem that could not be repaired in time, however accommodation was agreed upon with mutual satisfaction. If you can't stay just visit the lobby and common areas. You will be amazed with original work and masterful preservation.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Silvergoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I was truly impressed with the Jefferson Hotel. As a SPG Platinum traveler, it takes a truly amazing hotel to steer me away from a Starwood property. The Jefferson delivered.

1. Breathtaking Lobby. High decorative ceilings, impressive stairway to lower bar/entertaining area. Each bar and lobby area has its own impressive features. Their Christmas decorations are well done.
2. Unbeatable Historical Charm. 11 US Presidents have stayed plus an impressive list of others. Walking through the hotel truly feels like turning back the hands of time by 100 years, in the best of ways.
3. Spacious Room. High ceilings. Renoved bathroom.
4. Shuttle. Shuttle service is free and takes you to any destination downtown.

My only issue, was being charged for a Snickers from the minibar that I didn't eat. The front desk removed it.

I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms that end in '...01' or '...02' are the corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPCLDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review and for pointing out your favorite parts of your experience with us. We do apologize for the error in your mini-bar bill and are pleased to hear that it was quickly corrected. We hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is one of those hotels that you will enjoy when staying in Richmond. It is very beautiful and the service is quite good, making you feel like Richmond is your home.
I was last week, with some christmas decoration and the hotel is just gorgeous. Great restaurant, great bar, great lounge, and at the same time is comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Jefferson Hotel for your holiday travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
690 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 81 in Richmond
1,896 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing