We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were in Richmond for a family wedding and stayed a few days in this magnificent hotel.
We had brunch on Sunday and it was beyond anything I have ever seen.
The food was delicious and it went on for miles..... and miles.

Our stay at the Jefferson was a great addition to a happy family event.
We wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review and for selecting The Jefferson for your family's special celebration. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy Sunday Champagne brunch during your stay. It's a bit of a tradition here in Richmond and a terrific way to end of wedding weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

702 - 708 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed one night for a business trip. Excellent concierge service which arranged for free local transportation (and pick up when I was ready to come back to the hotel). Drivers were excellent ambassadors for their great city. Had lunch at TJs - sat in bar area which had a beautiful view of their breathtaking lobby. Room service breakfast was great. Wished they were not sold out so I could stay longer! Hotel was beautiful and elegant all over.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank EBY_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope that business travel or a weekend getaway will bring you back to Richmond for another stay at The Jefferson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My family and I recently took a trip down to Kiawah Island, SC and stayed here overnight halfway through our drive. Immediately upon entering the hotel, you are kindly escorted to the front desk. The lobby is magnificent, reminiscing on classic New York Hotels like the Waldorf-Astoria and the Plaza. This hotel is massive. There are two enormous rooms situated in the lobby are where there are multiple seating areas, and a grand staircase that will blow you away.

The rooms are gorgeous as well. They are very warm and cozy. The beds are to die for!! I don't even know how the maids are capable of tucking the bed sheets so tight!! One of the unique things about this hotel is that the rooms have large windows in them, and since it is an old hotel, even booking just a deluxe room makes you feel like you are in a suite.

The hotel restaurant is very good, especially for breakfast. They have these red velvet pancakes that are to die for! The pool, which is on the second level, is very spacious and very elegant. We also brought along our dogs, as the hotel is pet friendly (don't get turned away if you don't have any pets, the place is so massive that you'll never hear a bark!).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Richmond, and if you are traveling to South Carolina or even North Carolina, The Jefferson is the place to stop for a halfway overnight stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review and your recommendations to other traveling to points south of Richmond. We hope you'll return to The Jefferson and Kiawah (our sister property) again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here because of a wedding reception. The staff was friendly and helpful - the valet parking attendant, the desk clerk, and all the help at the reception. The lobby is astounding, and there was an interesting exhibit about the history of the hotel. Our room for 3 was not large, but adequate with a little sitting alcove. The bathroom was modern and very clean. We would have liked a coffee pot in the room, but there was a little place with coffee and muffins for sale on the ground floor. I recommend this hotel if you want a very elegant historic place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travgal0766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your review. Our apologies that you would have preferred to have a coffee pot in your room. The hotel does offer complimentary coffee and tea service in the Palm Court lobby each morning from 7-9am and we hope that you will enjoy that service on future visits to the hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was a very special gift from my daughter who'd visited The Jefferson while on business in Richmond & was so charmed by it, she planned a weekend for me, her sister & my granddauther, Bella. From the first steps into the lobby, you're greeted with grandeur--a stunning stained glass dome that dominates the ceiling is just breath taking. We were there just a few days before Christmas & it was clear that nothing had been spared in decorating for the holiday. Everything was beautifully done & there was so much to see! A full-sized Santa sleigh made entirely of gingerbread & confections, a gigantic Christmas tree in the gorgeous Palm Room with its grand staircase, a lovely Nativity scene, & true to its alligator legend, the fountain outside boasted a sculpture of one all lit in green lights. A full-sized sculpture of a 'gator just inside the entrance doors was the first thing my little granddaughter spotted--two adorable little girls were sitting on him having pics taken by grandmother, so of course, our Bella had to pose for the camera--which she did by putting her head in its mouth! We had been a little concerned that our room might be a bit cramped for the four of us, but not so--we had plenty of space & were very comfortable. The cozy robes & chocolates didn't hurt either! The staff was gracious, helpful, & attentive to every need; we never encountered anything but excellent service. Hot cocoa & coffee in the lobby was a nice perk, too. We had a lovely breakfast at TJ's & later relaxed by the huge indoor pool while granddaughter had a swim, tickled that she had it all to herself. Thick towels were waiting for her afterward. There's a reason this hotel is listed as five stars & it was evident during our short, but certainly memorable, stay. Anyone who wants to experience luxury & stellar service should consider a stay at the grand & beautiful Jefferson. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: We were three adults & one child & thought our room might be too small, but were surprised t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for making The Jefferson a part of your holiday getaway for the girls! We appreciate your review and hope that you and your family will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Jefferson and the hotel lived up to its reputation as an excellent place to stay. We learned our lesson this time and made a reservation in advance for LeMaire restaurant. Between the rockfish, squash ravioli and creme brulee we had an excellent meal. Same thing with eating at TJ's, the salads and peanut soup were delicious, as were the items we ordered through room service. The gym has good workout equipment and the fruit and chilled towels a nice touch. We had massages in our room from the staff from the spa and they were friendly and professional. We had our own music playing which made it nicer; I don't think the masseuses had brought any music with them. The staff was friendly and everyone seemed to know that it was a special event for us, offering congratulations. The staff was also informative, readily offering information about the city and making suggestions for shopping and dining. This visit we didn't go out much, instead we took advantage of the fact that we had a beautiful room, good food, a gym, movies to order, a great jacuzzi tub, spa services onsite and in general a nice place where we could just stay in and relax.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VaTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your loyalty and will hope to have you back with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was our first stay at the Jefferson. First the good: this historic hotel is beautifully decorated and maintained; the public areas are elegant and the room was very clean with a recently updated bathroom. However, the room was quite small so that access to the right side of the bed was almost totally blocked by a big wing chair/ottoman. Made it difficult to get up during the night in unfamiliar surroundings. For some reason, our turn down service was only for one--one robe laid out, one chocolate.

At check-in, the staff gave us no information about the hotel but basically handed us the keys. We did confirm that check-out was noon. When we arrived at TJs Restaurant--their only restaurant that serves breakfast--at a few minutes after 10 am for breakfast, we discovered (from a staffer yelling at us from the bar) that it totally closes down between 10 and 11 am. This leaves room service as guests' only option for food during that hour. And there are very few options for breakfast close by in the neighborhood. Based on our timing and the small space in our room, going back up and ordering room service was not an option. When I mentioned the inconvenient breakfast shut down at check-out, the two staffers behind the desk started arguing with me that it creates no inconvenience because I should have gone back to the room for room service or waited an hour for TJs to open for lunch; and if I felt my room was too small for room service to be comfortable, I should have paid for a bigger room!

Needless to say, we were shocked that a hotel of this caliber and price that touts its service would inconveniently close its only breakfast outlet for an hour (two hours before check-out) and have staff that yells, argues and insinuates that the guest has done something wrong.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vakamalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for making us aware of your experiences. Based upon our research, we believe that you have already spoken with our Hotel Manager directly when he responded to your comment card that was left at the hotel and we appreciate that opportunity.
If this is not accurate, we would request that you direct message us with your contact information so that we may reach out to you more personally to provide resolution to your stay. We sincerely apologize and have taken action to make sure that this lacking in service does not reoccur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,093 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
966 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
803 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 82 in Richmond
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £223 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing