We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel in a great location for travelers out of states!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
259 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel in a great location for travelers out of states!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Just minutes from the highway you're warmly greeted by valet service at the entrance of this grand hotel. Spectacular Tiffany glass ceilings create a memorable impression. Harpist and high tea at check in, but disappointingly, we didn't know it would be so popular that you need to reserve this in advance.

Our room was very spacious and did have a minibar if you need a frig. Lovely bath with a jetted tub but does need some updating as it was very hard to figure out the shower heads. Wonderful towels & linens.

The hotel provides a great service of free transportation to your restaurant for dinner but know that it's a mini van & they'll be taking others along as well. You just have the restaurant call to have your return ride waiting.

As our package included breakfast we ordered a la carte. I had an omelet (Very dry) and my husband had fruit and yoghurt & granola. Nothing special nor was the service. Aside from the breakfast...

I would highly recommend staying here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lcquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    178
    60
    21
    13
See reviews for
247
510
48
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loganville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Its been almost 30 years since I have felt so poorly treated at a hotel. When I walked in a room people turned to look at me as if I had something on my head. When I got up to leave guest stated "he's finally gone". I guess If I forgot that I was African American. However I was quickly reminded. When I mentioned the situation to the manager he stated he would get back to me, which he never did. I heard that this was the best hotel in Richmond. Yes the aesthetics where absolutely beautiful the but the soul of this place made it ugly. I couldn't wait to leave this place was so unfriendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
31 Thank zaylin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stopped in just to see the interior, and it was gorgeous.
Walk around and see as much of the property as you can. All of it is so beautiful.
Grand is a great way to describe it.
It is well worth a stop for teatime or brunch.
Look for the alligators inside and out.
Travelationship.com

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank heather p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for posting a recap of your walk through the hotel. We are always delighted to out of town visitors include The Jefferson on their "must see" list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

There are hotels that fall back on there name, like the Saint Regis in DC and the service is OK. Not the Jefferson from the time you pull up in front of the hotel to the minute that you leave everything is great. Last night we came back from the opera late and did not have dinner yet, we went to the restruant with a slight hope that we would be able to order something. No problem, no one rushed us, the staff was fantastic.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
987 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This Hotel is a must see, its an historic landmark, the main lobby with its stairway, featured in the very famous movie "gone with wind" will take your breath away and is really out of this world .Every time I have friends visit me, I recommend that they stay at this hotel. They all love it.The rooms( I have seen them ) are all spacious,classic and very clean. The hotel features a brunch that, it has become quite famous for, its amazing. A must see to be believed
My husband and I go several times a year to eat at its restaurant " Lemaire" one of my favorite restaurants in Richmond. This is fine dining at its best. If you are coming to Richmond you must stay/see this Hotel. Its incredible...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bornabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you! We are delighted that Lemaire is one of your favorites in Richmond and appreciate your recommendation to all your out-of-town friends. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband and I booked The Jefferson for a 2 night stay to celebrate our anniversary, I had had a few meals and meetings here, but hadn't ever stayed and we wanted a quick getaway. The lobby is beautiful, and the decor is historic and grand, but our room and the rest of the hotel were a disappointment. I travel a lot for work, so I really like a NICE hotel. Our room was basic and small and for $300 a night, we had expected more. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were scarce. The view from our room looked directly into the neighboring building which was under construction (not what we hoped for - Room 605.) Honestly, we could have been at a $100 a night hotel for the room, but I guess you are paying for the grand lobby and the name with a stay here. Unfortunately, there isn't much to do in the rest of the hotel or the surrounding areas (within walking distance) so we had to drive everywhere. There were a few highlights that made the trip worth it, breakfast in the restaurants was amazing both mornings (we had it in TJ's one morning and Lamaire the other.) Also, the hotel offers free transportation within the local area, and we had a great driver to take us to dinner and pick us up. He offered up lots of advice on things to do in Richmond, and other restaurants we needed and to try. We ate at Stella's, Lunch and Acacia - Stella's and Lunch were the best of the 3! Basically, it was fine, but we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We appreciate your review and were pleased to hear that many aspects of your visit were positive but we do sincerely apologize that your room view did not meet your expectations and that this would prevent you from choosing The Jefferson on a future visit to Richmond. Please know that we are always happy to provide alternatives for our guests, such as a room move, different pillows, etc., so that they can enjoy each aspect of their stay. We hope that perhaps you'll again consider The Jefferson and allow us to select a room that better matches your preferences. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is oozing with character and history. The staff was very professional, the dinner and breakfast excellent along with the service. My wife and I will definitely be coming back the next time we're in Richmond.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 101 at the end of the hall. It was an upgraded room with a king bed and a very la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armandoandangeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We look forward to your return to The Jefferson and to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 81 in Richmond
783 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W. Franklin Street, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing