We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I really loved this place. It felt grandiose. The bar and restaurant very excellent. I loved the choices of wine and happened to be there on Wine Wednesday when the bar served many good bottles for $15 a piece. The bar had an ancient Rome atmosphere , which was kind of interesting. The restaurant was good. Most people in my group loved their food. I thought it was ok but maybe it was just my dish (pork chop).

Rooms are very nice and I had turn down service. I can't remember the last time I had that. (or maybe I just stay at the wrong places) :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisnva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you did not love your dish in Lemaire but do hope that you'll dine with us again on your next trip to Richmond to try another of Chef Bundy's specialties. Thank you also for mentioning turndown service. It's a service that we are so pleased to continue to provide for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    184
    60
    23
    13
See reviews for
250
525
48
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emmitsburg, Md
Level Contributor
190 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

There are very few places to stay whose welcome is so warm that you feel like you are actually "coming home." Such is the fabled Jefferson in Richmond. The service is nothing short of extraordinary. I would mention, in particular, David at the front desk and Mallory, who drove us on the courtesy van. The rooms are exquisite, even the details-great heavy towels, fine window-treatments, and, the clincher, excellent mattresses. This is the hotel that dreams are made of! Have to mention the Lemaire, the fine restaurant near the lobby. It competes with the best of the best of Richmond's many excellent dining places.
Any caveats? The hotel is undergoing extensive renovations, so there are some very minor in conveniences. Do not miss this grand hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review and your mention of two of our exemplary team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The service we experienced was top notch.
Yes, the rooms vary in size is this truly is a historic property. Our room had a curved wall, good windows and was simply divine. Other reviews are simply unfair to compare this to a hotel built within the last five or 10 years. Housekeeping and maintenance were well above average and certainly they have lots to look after. Read up on the history to enhance your visit
I would highly recommend this historic hotel is a once-in-a-lifetime visit worth a trip to stay or more often if you are in Richmond again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review! The Jefferson does have a rich and fascinating history and we love to share it with our guests, so thank you for that recommendation to others. On Halloween, the hotel will reach its 120th year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It is a grand hotel!! The restaurant inside is good, a bit pricey but it is worth not having to go outside and find some place to eat. The lobby takes you back in time and thinking what it would have been like during the grand balls etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank GmaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We hope that you'll visit again this fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had only one night in Richmond, and the Jefferson ended up being the highlight. The staff is quite friendly and highly competent at all levels. The hotel itself is a wonderfully restored Victorian treasure. I don't think I've seen anything like the two story atrium lobby. The bar is very pleasant and the Lemaire restaurant is a truly beautiful room (and excellent food and service at a price that will astonish big city dwellers.) We had an upgraded room which was spacious, but a not particularly well furnished. The bathroom however, was large and outstanding. The towels and linens were are high quality. This isn't a built for purpose Four Seasons or Ritz where everything meets the currently acknowledged five star standards, but instead a quirky old building where the staff manage to create a five star experience in rooms that are close enough. You could find issues, but then, you would be no fun. Just go and enjoy a great meal and nice stay in a wonderful place full of history.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you found your stay to be a great experience and do appreciate your gracious comments regarding our rooms. We are quietly working in our guestrooms and look forward to providing our guests with a "new" Jefferson guestroom experience in the months ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is the Grandest of Grand Hotels. We loved hearing the stories of alligators traveling up north from Florida. We loved cocktailing in the grand lobby. The staff was very friendly and professional. If your travels take you close to Richmond you must make this a stop. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BQ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for choosing The Jefferson and recommending it to others. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed three days on the "summer at the Jefferson" offer. Nice idea to send an email requesting preferences before we arrived, although the results were slightly odd; our daughter stayed with us so we requested non-allergy bedding, but this resulted in the complete removal of the feather "comforters" on the beds with no replacements, so strangely the first night we were cold. The air conditioning was effective, but smelled of ionisation: that was efficiently fixed the next morning in both respects. In the first case I feel they should have used replacements or explained the proposal. The air conditioning issue was I guess on of those things, although it did spoil the first nights sleep.
We found the mattresses a little uncomfortable compared with other top class hotels.
The staff were lovely, Tommy the limousine driver took us to the Hollywood cemetary and the staff thoughtfully packed water bottles for us as it was a hot day; when we were picked up Tommy checked what we had got to see and then drove us to the section we missed, and gave a mini tour commentary, great!
Room a little lacking in power outlets for all the technology we carry, wifi a little flaky from time to time, safe a little small (all that technology). Would prefer minibar empty and complementary waters for the room; also we like to have coffee making facilities in the room, ideally nespresso.
Room quiet, good sized TV modert chioce of channels, but in house films too expenive at $13.99 which is much more than we pay to own a DVD or steam on line these days; a little out if touch, I feel.
Valet parking smooth, although ideally they would turn on air conditioning for you as an option so the car is cooler.
I have reviewed Lemair and TJs separately.
The prices charged strangley did not match the prices quoted on the email booking.
Good location in town, wonderful public spaces

Room Tip: High room, ideally one of the larger ones in its catagory (which ours seemed to be). Not some refurb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MootHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay. Please know that we have carefully reviewed your comments with our team. We do hope that you'll again consider The Jefferson when visiting Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing