We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Jefferson”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Stay at the Jefferson”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This historic hotel is well maintained, and the service is outstanding. We booked a deluxe room. It was very spacious and it included a small terrace, so we were able to sit outside and enjoy the fresh air in the evening.

There is a bar/restaurant off the lobby, where we enjoyed a light late dinner upon arrival. The food is casual, but well prepared, and the price was reasonable given the location. Also enjoyed an delicious breakfast at the hotel one morning.

The hotel has a complimentary car service which will drop you off and pick you up in the downtown area at no additional cost.

My wife and I enjoyed our stay here, and would recommend it to anyone visiting Richmond.

Room Tip: Spend a few extra dollars for the deluxe room. It was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJoelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    187
    61
    23
    14
See reviews for
262
552
50
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Take a step back into history where great service was a matter of pride, hotel lobbies were meant to be lingered in, and the hotel bar was a gathering place for locals and guests. We just completed a weekend stay at The Jefferson, and I believe it was the best hotel stay my wife and I have had, at least since our honeymoon at the Drake 26 years ago. This place has an authentic charm and the staff take pride in their extraordinary level of hospitality. The bar at Lemaire is gorgeous and the Manhattans to die for. Worth visiting, even if you live in Richmond!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank your for your review and recommendation to visitors to Richmond and locals alike!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The Jefferson is a majestic property in the heart of Richmond featuring every amenity demanding by any traveler, from the fountains when you arrive on the Courtyard to the Grand Staircase once rumored to be the one on "Gone with the Wind" (not true) to the fine restaurant Lemaire. Great people will take care of you in every way, closed for over 20 years but remodeled with the "flair" intact, being there is like traveling in time. By far the best in Richmond

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is an great property with a fascinating history. The rooms were large and well appointed and as you would expect. I echo the comments of most.
I'd not typically feel inclined to review a property of this size with such a fine reputation as it would be redundant.... That said, I wanted to call out the extraordinary service. Upon check in, there was a bit of a line. While I was waiting, I was playing with my iPhone and found a lower rate at a nearby hotel using the Hotel Tonight APP. When it was my turn on line, I was warmly greeted and advised the gentleman checking me in that I was going to cancel and save some money (not typically something I would do, but the price difference was about $100) and stay at the other property.
Without hesitation, he matched the rate and was extraordinarily polite.
Moving on, the concierge was just as nice and offered me the use of the property's shuttle to get to my meeting downtown. It was an overall great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GETAGRIPNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your review and for recognizing our helpful staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our first visit to Richmond it was for a family wedding at the Cathedral. As it was also our 30th anniversary and close to my 65th birthday we decided to 'push the boat out'. Absolutely no regrets. If the welcome and service we received are an example of the legendary southern hospitality then it is thoroughly deserved. Being from the UK we booked via a mixture of online and one phone call. On arrival the reception staff remembered detail of the phone conversation - a lovely touch. With so much to celebrate we were given a fabulous deal. Breakfasts were brilliant, as was the one dinner and the several cocktails. A wonderful old, sumptuous and luxurious environment and a weekend we'll never forget. We've previously stayed at the Ritz in KL and the E&O in Penang and this was up there without any doubt. Brilliant!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for choosing The Jefferson for your special occasions! We are delighted to have been a part of those milestones for you and your family. Congratulations and best wishes for many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
1,287 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 508 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel deserves to be the best rated in Richmond. We stayed two nights this last weekend. Great special involved two free breakfasts, free valet parking, free wifi, no gratuities, and more.
The hotel has spacious rooms that are now being updated. The updates hopefully will have work stations and chargers for computers and cells. The bathrooms are fully equipped with great lotions, etc., and definitely not the poor quality found in many hotels. The hotel is drop dead gorgeous in the lobby and food in the two restaurants is excellent and staffed with friendly and highly competent staff. The hotel is superlative in terms of service. This hotel is friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Choose a great room on the 6th floor away from the elevator. Try 604 or 608 for example.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VAChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had the good sense and good fortune to stay at this fantastic hotel again. From the arrival where one is greeted enthusiastically to checking in with efficiency, this place is magic. Stephanie at the front desk must be new and in training, at least I hope so. She was routine and barely personable BUT she will undoubtedly learn from the best, David, who has been checking us in for years! A true Southern gentleman the likes of which one rarely sees. He has always and was friendly, courteous, and efficient. The rooms were pleasant and the breakfast at the restaurant Lemaire was outstanding and delicious. Mallory who drives the courtesy van (took us to and from the restaurant outside the hotel one evening) is a wealth of knowledge of not only the hotel but all of Richmond. If you have not stayed here, do yourself a favor and check in and check it out!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferCrispPRMgr, Public Relations Manager at The Jefferson Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review and your comments regarding our staff. We appreciate both the positive and also your perspective on where we might be able to make improvements. Thank you again and we look forward to your return to The Jefferson again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
709 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,917 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
5.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 82 in Richmond
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jefferson Hotel

Property: The Jefferson Hotel
Address: 101 W Franklin St, Franklin & Adams Sts, Richmond, VA 23220-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Jefferson Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1895, The Jefferson Hotel has been recognized for its genuinely friendly service, luxurious guestrooms, breathtaking architecture and elegant decor. Guests of The Jefferson enjoy newly renovated guest rooms, two award-winning restaurants, 24-hour room service, a complimentary on-site health facility,indoor swimming pool, and complimentary wireless internet access and local calls. Located in the heart of downtown, all of the city's most popular destinations can be reached using the hotel's complimentary transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Jefferson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing