We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Richmond West End
Ranked #32 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“almost like home”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We felt so comfortable in this spacious 2 story penthouse with 5 people . The loft bedroom with bath was a favorite with the children. The living room with fireplace was cozy and the kitchen was roomy. We loved the wonderful breakfast which was also included. We will choose this hotel from now on.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkweso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    58
    22
    15
    5
See reviews for
54
32
15
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We were in Richmond for our son's wedding at the Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens. Everything we did was within 3-4 miles of the hotel. We had the 2 BR Penthouse. Initially the upstairs shower would not drain. I talked to Tish and she made sure it was fixed. We did not take advantage of it but the kitchen was real nice. 3 flat screen TV's. Parking seemed to be somewhat limited. Would not hesitate to stay in again. Tish was extremely helpful and friendly, not just to us but anyone you came in contact with her. Must be her southwest VA roots.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSHS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICWWGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond West End, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I would like to apolgize for the shower drain not working upon your arrival. We do quarterly preventative maintenance in each room and clearing the drains is part of the program. Unfortunately, every now and then a drain clogs ahead of our maintenance schedule but, I am glad to hear that it was taken care of quickly for you. Tish is helpful to everyone she encounters and is a delight to have around the hotel. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Greene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

After having spent two nights on the road and staying at a couple of other hotels along the way, it was so nice to get here!!!!! We were greeted by one of the sweetest front desk clerks. An older lady whose name is Tish. She was adorable and really cared about her guests. We wanted to bring her home with us! She is one of those employees who go beyond her duties. Every morning while we were there she was working, always had a smile and always engaged in conversation with us. Her manager should reward her in some way. Our room was excellent. The property was extremely quite even though it looked to be filled to capacity according to the parking lot. They could use a few more parking spaces, but who cares when you have an extremely nice room and extremely nice front desk clerk. Our morning breakfast was wonderful! The food preparer kept the area clean and tidy and made sure the food was prepared well. Sunday morning we didn't get eggs, but we had a family of four teenage boys in line ahead of us and they really loved eggs and the chef just couldn't get the fresh eggs cooked quick enough! LOL!

Anyway, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Richmond area. There were office complexes across the street and if you had business at one of those it would be ideal. You can just walk straight across the parking lot. The area on the other side of the interstate had all your up to date stores and restaurants. There's a Sam's Wholesale Club and Walmart about 3 miles away and a grocery store about a mile away. Felt very safe in this neighborhood and will visit them again next year when we go back for our annual show there. And again, I have to say THANKS AGAIN, TISH for all your sweetness and kindness. It's the way I was raised to treat and respect people and we truly loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rstewart1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICWWGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond West End, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. I am happy to hear that you had an "awesome" stay with us! Tish truly is a great asset to our team. She has been on our staff for nearly 15 years and I can't begin to imagine what we would do without her. I have already passed on your kind words to her and to our breakfast staff.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Greene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

First time stay for 4 nights and liked the updated kitchen studio room. However, the cleaning was fair--seemed like the staff was running behind and rushed because the basics were cleaned well, but then I found old cleaning rags left behind one day, the toilet seat left up another time and a dirty stained bathroom floor yet another day (covered floor with extra towel to avoid). Except for that, my stay was okay. Breakfast variety was good for me but I didn't try the early dinners. Staff was friendly and helpful but would I stay there again? Maybe if they improved their cleaning service but I wouldn't know until I actually stayed another time I guess LOL!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1978Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICWWGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond West End, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. I am sorry to hear that the housekeeping service was lacking during your stay. We pride ourselves in the cleanliness of our rooms and I apologize that you didn't receive that service while you were here. We would love to have you give us another try the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Greene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We've stayed here occasionally for about 30 years. It's definitely an older Residence, but it is clean, the staff is friendly, and the rooms have been updated a bit. I really like the two-story set up available in the 2nd floor "penthouses". The breakfast is pretty good, too. This Residence is pet-friendly--we saw many dogs, several cats, and a sign that you could bring your pet for a non-refundable $75. We just had a family function in Richmond; most of us stayed here, and it was very nice to gather in each other's "apartments". It's really perfect for that. Good for families with kids; its relaxed, they can run around, there's an outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter, and that's where you can get a 2-story penthouse, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICWWGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond West End, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Wow! I can't tell you how much we appreciate you continuing to come back and stay with us for so many years. Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and we look forward to serving you the next time you are in Richmond.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Greene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I stayed with two other people at this Residence Inn and was surprised by the updated rooms! From the outside, this property does not look like much, but the updates inside the room are a nice, modern touch! We loved the kitchen with the granite counter tops as well as the sitting area with the fireplace. I brought my dog and the staff accommodated us by providing us with a walkout room to the grassy area (Room 712)! The breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold items and was FREE! You can't complain much there! The only complaint I had was the mattress was super hard. It was tough for me to fall asleep actually. We didn't have time to use the pool, but it was a popular place to be when we got to the hotel since it was so hot outside. It looked clean and was a good size for a hotel pool.

Overall, we had a great experience! It did the job and would be a nice place for someone who may want to stay a few days in Richmond, since it has a full kitchen and living area.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, request room 712 since it's a walkout room to a grassy area! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICWWGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond West End, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Richmond.

Jonathan Greene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We were looking for a Marriott property (to get nights credit for a promotion) convenient to the Staples Mill Amtrak station and selected this one. We stayed there two nights on two separate stays within a period of a week. The layout was typical of the older RI buildings but was somewhat more recently remodeled than some we've stayed in. Clean, in pretty good condition, with a decent breakfast. Only real complaint was that the bedroom area was small, which meant that the hotel had no king beds, only queens, the desk clerk told us. We've had some substandard queen mattresses in older RIs in the past, but we're happy to say the mattress was pretty good here - didn't sag toward the middle of the bed. Except for the lack of kings, we would return if we were going to be in the area in the future. And we certainly like this property far, far better than an ill-maintained TownePlace Suites we stayed in when the RI was not available.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsforwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICWWGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Richmond West End, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear that other than not having a king bed, both of your stays with us were pleasant one's. Our hotel was renovated in June 2011 but unfortunately due to the size of the bedroom we could not upgrade to king size beds. Thanks for choosing Residence Inn and we look forward to serving you the next time you visit Richmond!
Sincerely,
Jonathan Greene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Richmond West
Courtyard Richmond West
#23 of 81 in Richmond
200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Richmond West
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Richmond - W. Broad Street - Glenside - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Richmond West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Richmond West End

Property: Residence Inn Richmond West End
Address: 2121 Dickens Rd, Richmond, VA 23230-2003
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Richmond West End 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Richmond West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Richmond West End Hotel Richmond
Richmond Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing