We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish there was a 3.5 in the rating scale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I wish there was a 3.5 in the rating scale”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The hotel itself is definitely a 3. It could use some work. The door to my room had about a .25" gap all the way around it so it let in a LOT of light. The AC was noisy but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom looked to have been recently remodeled. The staff was what almost made this place a 4, they were absolutely terrific,.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkelly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you for your observations from your recent stay. We have made a minor adjustment taking care of the gap and also adjusted the a/c so that it runs much more quiet. Again that you for your business and our staff as you said are Terrific!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    262
    124
    53
    40
See reviews for
164
168
48
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I stayed here for the Richmond Color Run with 2 friends. Check in was slow as there was a long line (of mostly other runners) and only 2 people at the desk. Other than that I don't have any complaints. We even received free continetal breakfasts for our stay that we did not know about. We heard noise in the halls in the morning, but that's typical of most hotels. We enjoyed the bar with starbucks coffee and the breakfast buffet had a lot of nice options. Overall we had a good experience and would stay here again. The location is only a few blocks from the farmers market, cobblestone streets and the canal walk.

Room Tip: They have a 'quiet' section on the 13th floor. We did not stay there but saw a sign advertis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philliesfan80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Dear Philliesfan80, thank for booking our Color Run package with your friends!! Breakfast included is a great deal. Our 24 hour Starbucks pantry has been a hit! Our Crowne Plaza management team also had a great time participating in the Color Run. See you next year for the 2013 run..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

i have stayed here a couple times for breakfast. The rooms as decent (as one would expect) but the walls are just so thin that i can hear the guy next to me dialing the phone and talking at 3am, not his fault that the hotel is poorly built. The breakfast offering is ok, the guy cooking at the live station did a VERY poor job. I was quite disappointed and wish they had a bit more to offer

Room Tip: get one away from the elevators and hopefully no one staying on either side, but how would you know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popo-tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accokeek, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at the Crown Plaza this weekend and were expecting to find a nice clean room. We were sadly mistaken. My daughter spilled some water on the carpet in the room and when I went to clean it up the towel came up brown! So GROSS!! The beds were uncomfortable and the couch didn't pull out forcing our son to sleep in just the couch instead of a bed. We asked for a crib at check in (5pm) and when we got back to the hotel after dinner (7:30pm) still no crib. We called again and waited 30 minutes for it to be delivered. The walls were also paper thin allowing us to hear EVERYTHING from the hall and the next room. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bet1550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Bet1550,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. I am delighted that you found our location commendable. I apologize your stay was negatively affected by the cleanliness of the room accommodations received. I wish to thank you for your valuable comments as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

In town for a weeding. Under time constraints to sign in, get Grandsons outfitted with tuxes, and go to a rehearsal. Front desk was super in letting us sign in early, helped us with a shuttle to the rehearsal dinner and the next day to the reception. Everyone with whom we interacted was polite, helpful, and cheerful. Clean spacious rooms were great, price was competitive, and would stay there again. Can't emphasize the level of quality service in all parts of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mooseman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 3 October 2015
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

Dated furnishings and long wait for elevators which also stop at every floor takes away the joy of staying at this otherwise great hotel. Buffet breakfast was a daily event to look forward to with friendly servers and a decent spread. Good that this remains a business hotel, which would otherwise be passed over by comfort seeking leisure travelers like me.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank instantclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear instantclick,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am pleased you liked our breakfast. I also appreciate the compliments on the breakfast staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. On the other hand, I am sorry that you encountered some issues with the elevator. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen Gray
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I think the biggest issue I had with this hotel was that it was not the quality I was expecting. I had stayed in Crowne Plaza’s in other cities in the past, and historically, the name is associated with luxury. The Crown Plaza in Richmond was not luxurious in any capacity. Certain standard amenities I would expect at a Crowne Plaza that are not offered at this hotel include: valet parking, on demand movie rental, in-room bar, and high quality room service. There was a choice of 1 bad bottle of red wine or 1 bad bottle of white wine to be delivered to the room.
If I was paying to stay in a lower-end hotel, I would have been happy with what I was provided, but I was paying to stay in the Crowne Plaza.

Besides the lacking standard amenities offered in high-end hotels, the food at the hotel restaurant was horrible (and cold). I should have taken a hint when we walked into an empty restaurant at 6:30 on a Friday night.

Our room was OK. It had a low-quality fake wooden laminate flooring that felt like plastic, and all the cleaning room had swiffers on their carts, which I thought was funny. One other item about the room was that the walls were paper thin. We could hear everything happening in the halls, even if it was just someone walking down the hallway, not talking. Overally, probably not a place I will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
832 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
1,228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Address: 555 E Canal St, Richmond, VA 23219-3837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#22 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown and discover all that downtown Richmond has to offer. You are in the heart of the financial district, shopping, dining, and entertainment. You are within easy walking distance of Shockoe Slip, Shockoe Bottom and many of Virginia s Fortune 500 Companies.The Crowne Plaza overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and the Tredegar Civil War Museum. We are centrally located to many of Richmond's attractions with convenient access to Interstates 95 and 64, only 9.8 miles from Richmond International Airport. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Complimentary high-speed Internet, business center, and 7 layers of comfort bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Considering these options, the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown is the superior choice when deciding on a facility that has style and class, yet is ideal in location for anyone. Now open The Great Room proudly serving Starbucks Coffee, fresh pastries, gourmet sandwiches and soups, The Great Room features soft seating, large screen TV, wired and wireless free high-speed Internet connections--a great place to start or end your day! Attractions: The Carpenter Center for Performing Arts, Landmark Theatre, the Governor s Mansion, Kings Dominion, Busch Gardens, Richmond Ballet, Richmond Convention Center, Virginia Science Museum, Shockoe Slip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing