We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Ranked #13 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Fantastic Customer Service!”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I must say that the customer service was superb! Althea, was her name, she helped me with my check in process after the 1-800 number had the wrong dates for my check-in. She made sure that I still had a room before the hotel sold out. This place was wonderful and I plan on staying only at this hotel from now on every time I visit Richmond! Thank you Althea for making my visit worthwhile!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello Erin B, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Althea is a great example of our Southern Hospitality that we offer daily! We are looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    259
    123
    53
    40
See reviews for
162
168
48
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Was here recently for a couple of nights on business.
The location's in downtown Richmond was good, as it afforded proximity to several dining places nearby. Room was comfy enough, ventilation system worked.....however, decor was not my favorite. Door latch needs to be replaced as it was just a patch up on a previously broken one.

The fitness room is one place that I utilize a lot in my travels....thence this review. Treadmills, stepper and an elliptical machines are adequate. One big multi-exercise machine and a stack of free weights pretty much make up the equipment there. However, there is rust everywhere....from the joints of the machines to the door hinges. On top of that, cobwebs and dust are all over. There is dust/cobwebs even at the ventilation vents. This place looked like it was last cleaned months ago. Not good if you are allergic to dust mites.
The walls were painted a weird salmon and pale green color, very gaudy. While I did manage to do a decent workout, it wasn't appealing, and definitely needs to be refurbished.
Not necessarily brand new equipment, ....but perhaps better maintenance, and a more pleasing color scheme.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Jon C, we appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I come into Richmond approx. 6 times per year and usually stay at The Jefferson. The last two times (November and December), because of The Jefferson being booked, VCU has placed me at the Crowne Plaza. I had not been a customer since probably 2004 or so. There are A LOT of efficiency issues that keep this hotel from being an average option for those visiting downtown Richmond. For example:

- The parking situation is absolutely rage-inducing. You park in a deck connected to the hotel, and even though there's a large sign telling overnight guests to use their hotel keys to enter and exit, it's "not working yet" according to the front desk. Instead, one must grab a ticket and then get it stamped/validated at the front desk. This seems okay in theory, but what do you do when there is a line of 10 or more people waiting to check in and 1 or 2 employees behind the desk? You will wait (as I did on several occasions) for upwards of 20-30 minutes. On the last occasion, I finally looked over and saw two bell-hops doing nothing in the corner and asked them if they could do it for me. They WERE, indeed, able to do so. Then why in the world were they standing there the entire time looking at a guy with no luggage and holding a parking ticket in his hand? Also, getting out of the parking deck between 5 and 6:30 PM is a nightmare. Plan for at least 15 minutes to do so. The reason being, a busy stoplight and intersection is immediately to the right of the deck, meaning it takes forever for those exiting to get out.

Other than that issue (which is HUGE to me), the following were aesthetic issues I have encountered:

- The hotel, while seemingly clean, never feels so. It's so run down in the rooms, that you just kind of feel dirty being in them.
- The bathroom is horrible. My last room (1120) had a toilet that barely flushed and needed repeated attempts to do so. I know they were aware of the issue before my arrival because the toilet tank was ajar when I arrived.
- Lots of mold in the grout of the 1980s era tile in the bathtub.
- The shower curtain of all the rooms I've stayed in there are much too short in width. There's at least a foot on both sides exposing you to the air of the room.
- I'm only 5'7'', so not a big deal for me, but the shower heads are SO LOW, anyone that's 5'9'' or taller will probably be standing higher than the water.
- Peeling wallpaper all over.
- No smart phone charger / adapter like most hotels have now (usually with the alarm clock).
- Many outlets don't even work in the room.
- The TV is so bad. The channels don't line up with the TV guide in the rooms, and the remotes never get you to the channel you want. Also, many channels aren't HD, so the picture is fuzzy.
- Elevators are really in sorry shape. They are not in any way shape or form becoming up a nice hotel. They need a makeover.

Overall, while the staff seems polite enough, this is just NOT worth the trouble of staying here. It's not efficient and certainly not welcoming. I've seen other hotel chains that are marketed to a more mass audience with much nicer surroundings for both personal and professional travelers.

In this case, CROWN Plaza is certainly not a regal representation of the brand.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear jmfisher, thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. I do apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations. I am happy to report that this weekend we are completing the complete renovation of our entire elevator systems in the building! We are also excited to report the new exit construction that will now allow the larger flow of traffic to the south of our hotel to connect to the expressway. Again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had a conference this weekend; Ben and Orlando (Train) and Phillip were exceptionally helpful and just gave the entire hotel a positive vibe. Front desk manager was confused throughout the attendees' check-in process for our meeting, but the staff was wonderful! Tiffany is one of the best conference planners I work with.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you Sandy for taking the time to provide your feedback. We sincerely apreciate you mentioning our employees by name so that we can pass on the praise. Have a wonderful Holiday Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I had an overall great stay at this hotel in Richmond. The shuttle was a bit tardy, but apologies were offered, and great service ensued. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Richmond. The check in was a bit slow, but not the worst I've encountered. The rooms were clean and neat. The staff were professional and affable. The main restaurant is not where you want to be. The lounge off the lobby downstairs is quite nice. I went in to order a sandwich to go. I left full and happy! The happy hour consists of "FREE" house wine And beer! Also, a buffet-like layout of fruit/cheese trays stir fry meats, spring rolls, and cake! Did I mention, the staff are great? I highly recommend this hotel for your next stay in Richmond.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Rico M, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay. The IHG Rewards upgrades are great and have been a big hit!! I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Rooms were a little old and run down appearing but clean. The hotel staff was quite slow checking us into our room and they were not particularly friendly. Parking was free on the streets on the weekend which was a plus. I would likely not stay here again given the other options in Richmond.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank unccbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear unccbm, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Just today we completed our marble flooring leading to our Cafe and Banquet facilities. Our elevator remodel will be completed this week and most exciting new lighting for our rooms this winter. Again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I was a guest at the CP during the 2013 Anthem Richmond Marathon (I finished by the way) and the hotel was off the beaten path a bit but still in close proximity to other host hotels, food and the race start line. This hotel is actually the closest to the finish line which was really great at the end of the race but not good for other non race guest as the parking deck was closed the entire day due to the race. Check in was quick even with a lenghty line - and front desk clerks were pleasant and helpful (free wine a check in helped). Parking during check in was a made house but there is a deck as well as street and municipal parking very close to the hotel. Lobby area was nice but small and I did not take advantage of the in hotel restaurant but the lobby coffee was fresh and hot. The hotel also has an indoor pool and hot tub right on the first floor and an attached small but usable fitness facility. Room and bathrooms were spacious with nice work and sitting area and WI FI was free and fast - normally unheared up for a downtown hotel. Parking is 12 bucks per day for in and out but you can find closer and cheaper parking if you desire.

Room Tip: I was on the 14th floor with a view of the downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emjai1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Emjai, thank you for providing great feedback! Congrats on Finishing the Marathon and we hope to see before next years race! Perhaps the Ukrop's 10K!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Address: 555 E Canal St, Richmond, VA 23219-3837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
#22 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown and discover all that downtown Richmond has to offer. You are in the heart of the financial district, shopping, dining, and entertainment. You are within easy walking distance of Shockoe Slip, Shockoe Bottom and many of Virginia s Fortune 500 Companies.The Crowne Plaza overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and the Tredegar Civil War Museum. We are centrally located to many of Richmond's attractions with convenient access to Interstates 95 and 64, only 9.8 miles from Richmond International Airport. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Complimentary high-speed Internet, business center, and 7 layers of comfort bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Considering these options, the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown is the superior choice when deciding on a facility that has style and class, yet is ideal in location for anyone. Now open The Great Room proudly serving Starbucks Coffee, fresh pastries, gourmet sandwiches and soups, The Great Room features soft seating, large screen TV, wired and wireless free high-speed Internet connections--a great place to start or end your day! Attractions: The Carpenter Center for Performing Arts, Landmark Theatre, the Governor s Mansion, Kings Dominion, Busch Gardens, Richmond Ballet, Richmond Convention Center, Virginia Science Museum, Shockoe Slip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing