We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thinnest walls ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Checked in on Friday evening, a large group in town for soccer tournament had just arrived , clerks completely overwhelmed, no help in sight.
Around 1 AM started hearing porn film worthy noises from rooms on both sides which continued until approximately 3:30 AM
Checked out Sunday morning, Called valet parking 15 minutes before leaving room. 45 minutes later still no car. Found out , 2 valet drivers on duty work triple duty, bell-hops, running shuttle vans and valet parking when and if they have time. Lady waiting nearby had her car brought around only to find it locked and the keys gone with the shuttle van

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Robert K, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We apologize that your experience was not what our hotel strives towards. We do try to remind our guest to be considerate of others while enjoying the weekend. We will pass your input about your valet experience to our management team so that we can improve our service for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was visiting the hotel for the Governor's Cup and stayed overnight. In our joy of winning a gold, we may have been a tad loud (but it was early - really!). So, I heard a knock at the door and immediately knew what it was. It was a Security Guard. BUT, this gentleman met me with a very nice and warm smile. He was the most pleasant man, and suggested we head to the bar. He showed us where it was and talked to us for a while (outside the bar though). This young man will go far in life because he knows how to treat people. He was an ambassador for the hotel. When I stay in Richmond again, you can be sure I will stay here. I am only sorry I lost his name, but I hope the hotel can find him and thank him again for us! Great work, sir!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles0797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Hello Charles0797, thank you for your feedback.... Governors Cup Winner!! Congrats! I will pass on your wonderful feedback to our Security team! Return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I was expecting this hotel to be special based on reviews, but our experience was less than wonderful. Front desk seemed busier with other things than with checking us in, and were fairly curt responding to our request for a room with a nice view. Our room had a musty unpleasant smell.
However, it was very comfortable, and had nice amenities, as we would expect from this level of hotel.
The valet parking staff was very courteous, but the front desk was less than helpful in arranging transportation for us to a restaurant. Breakfast buffet in the hotel dining room was just okay. The food was mediocre and not well prepared. No one seemed to be too concerned with our experience until the check was brought over. Basically, only the shuttle driver and the valet guys showed us any graciousness. I won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view when you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notlostyet36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear notlostyet36, thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. I apologize that you did not receive the experience you deserve and our management team expects to provide. We will share your feedback with our F&B department in an effort to improve what we offer to our customers. Our management team would like further discuss your experience and invite you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a fine experience for first time. was on a business trip. Althea at the front desk made sure I and my two Clients were clustered together. Took care of everything. David, Floor Manager for Breakfast service ran the restaurant like a well oiled machine: Seriously: I am a broker in hospitality and entertainment properties: Was very pleased with how he ran that restaurant: and BTW: Buffet was EXCELLENT. Valet parking was fine, and for $4 more well worth it to do that.
The rooms are less expensive than the Omni, and are about 100sf LARGER than the Omni: you do the math....

Room Tip: Definitely do the breakfast buffet if possible...and request if available a river view (of the James...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H Winston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear H Winston H, thank you for your kind words and general overview of your past weeks experience with our hotel and staff. Althea and David both are a great example of Southern Hospitality at its best. Again thank you for taking the time and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Wonderful location. Close to everything downtown. Great staff , very friendly, and the view of the river was spectacular. Room was clean and I really appreciated the quality of the sheets and pillows.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curly3761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Curly3761, thank you for taking the time to provide your review of your recent stay in Richmond. Southern Hospitality is alive and well here at the Crowne Plaza Richmond. Please return soon to our Great Location!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel for a business event in Richmond with Performance Food Group. The check in was well organized (loved the lemonade and cookies at check-in); and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and very nice and the hotel itself was updated and clean.
The shuttle servoce was very helpful and readily available too which really helped us. This is clearly an outstanding value for the type of upscale hotel and service I received.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 838AWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Hello 838AWS, thank you for taking the time to provide your review of our property and your stay. Our staff are the Heat Beat of our business!! Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

I took my daughter to a cheer competition and we stayed overnight at the Crowne. Although some of the amenities could use upgrades, we enjoyed our stay. Clean. Excellent staff- went above and beyond to meet our requests. The staff was patient with our cheerleaders, and kept the pool area well-stocked with towels. Will stay there again in the future.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank KristinRN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hello Kristin...thank you for providing your review of this past weekend. We are looking forward to your return..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,291 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 82 in Richmond
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#19 of 82 in Richmond
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown

Address: 555 E Canal St, Richmond, VA 23219 (Formerly Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#22 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £119 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the NEW Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown! Our hotel features rooms with beautiful views of the James River, spacious indoor pool, 24/7 fitness center, fast free Wi-Fi, microwave & fridge, in-room safe, onsite parking & complimentary downtown shuttle. We are located near many of the city’s top businesses, such as Federal Reserve Bank, CoStar, SunTrust, UPS, VA Biotech Park, Dominion Energy & VA Commonwealth University; and are just minutes away from the VA State Capitol, Coliseum and Richmond Convention Center. Just outside our doors is Brown’s Island, host to many festivals and where you can embark on the best urban whitewater rafting & mountain biking in America! Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of American Civil War Center, Altria Theatre, Dominion Arts Center & The National. Our over 13,000 sq. ft. event space is perfect for meetings, conventions, weddings & more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing