We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & Economical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here on a Sunday night, May 4, 2014. The rooms were very nice and clean, and adequately spacious. It seemed to be an old hotel but very well maintained. Restaurant was closed on a Sunday night, which was disappointing, but was able to get a decent meal in the bar, which was prepared by the kitchen. Breakfast bar was good way to start the day.

Room Tip: ask for a room over looking the river
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Wayne P, thank you for providing your review. We appreciate you taking the time. We apologize that you had to dine in our Great Room but are glad you enjoyed your meal. Return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
There are newer reviews for Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I am staying in Crown Plaza, Richmond, Downtown, VA for many years.
Their Front Desk Employees Ms. Geeni, Karen and Supervisor JL and Room Service Ms. Pat are of great help and always pays attention to our requests and always ensure that every stays are made as comfortable as possible.

From My experience, Crown Plaza Down Town always give me the best comfort, clean rooms best breakfast.

Great location, nice views.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Kris M., we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your business and comments. I will share your comments with our staff and mangement. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful even at busy times! Janet helped us out on many occasions and did so with a smile!!!!! The staff bent over backwards to make it a great stay. The location is OK.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ca2ha3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Hello ca2ha3, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our property. We sincerely appreciate your input and hope you return again soon to visit Richmond and enjoy our Friendly/Helpful Staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was in town for one night and had a great experience! Especially Michael Dunsworth. Michael took excellent care of us all night! On a crowded night, as everyone came down to watch the World Cup games, we never once felt like we had to wait for service. Many thanks to Michael and E Ron.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sshafaei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hello Sshafaei. thank you for taking time to provide your valuable feedback. Our team in our GreatRoom Bar and Lounge will be proud to hear your feedback. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I am a huge advocate for great customer service. The second I have to deal with a grouchy worker, the experience is completely ruined for me. We stayed here for our 1 year wedding anniversary. This place not only has great rooms for a very reasonable price, but also has the very best customer service. From the lady that checked us in, to Tamas who drove us to and from dinner, to Artilo who served us drinks and food at the bar, the service was over the top. They went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. The lady at the front dest even offered to call the restaurant herself to ensure our reservation would be held because we were running a few minutes late-- (the place told us prior that they would only hold a reservation for 10 minutes). The room was awesome-- aside from a lack of sound insulation-- but you definately can't beat it for the price! We had a suite with hard floors, no carpet, and a huge, almost wrap-around, window view of the city and river. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMereLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mrs. Mere Lynn, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide your valuable review of our property. Yes, we believe in Great Service! I will pass your comments onto Tomas and Attilla they will be proud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel appears nice in the lobby, however, my room was not very clean and there were blood strains on one of the washcloths in the bathroom. The beds air worn out and need to be replaced. As soon as I entered the room, my eyes began to water and throat began to ache due to the overuse of air freshener that the housekeepers had sprayed in the room. The walls are paper thin... Even WITH EARPLUGS - I could easily hear the guy in the next room coughing along with what seemed like 30+ doors being opened and closed in the hallway. I still can't figure out why there were so many people coming/going from/to their rooms at 1:45AM in a Thursday morning! Would NOT recommend staying here.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Av8torGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Av8torGuy, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide our hotel with your review and feedback. We apologize for your multiple issues. Your stay was at the least was unacceptable and not what you deserve. Our management team will review your input and share with our staff today. Again thank you for taking the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed here for travel for 4 days/3 nights, and it was a nice enough hotel. The room was clean (except for the previous occupants water bottle in the mini-fridge...gross because I took a sip of it before I realized that it wasn't new). The staff at the front desk wasn't overly friendly, but it isn't something that would keep me from going back on my next trip. If you like to enjoy some alone time with lots of quiet and good service for an adult beverage, the hotel lounge is for you. It was nearly empty every night (weeknights), and the bartenders were FANTASTIC! They even got us blankets to curl up on the couches when they saw that we were chilly.

The hotel's restaurant makes made-to-order omelets, which was really nice.

Would I stay there again? Sure...however, if I were craving a bit more entertainment and things to do, I might look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlover155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hello Beachlover155, thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We hope you return soon to our Very Quiet Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,280 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#19 of 82 in Richmond
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown

Address: 555 E Canal St, Richmond, VA 23219 (Formerly Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#22 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £127 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the NEW Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown! Our hotel features rooms with beautiful views of the James River, spacious indoor pool, 24/7 fitness center, fast free Wi-Fi, microwave & fridge, in-room safe, onsite parking & complimentary downtown shuttle. We are located near many of the city’s top businesses, such as Federal Reserve Bank, CoStar, SunTrust, UPS, VA Biotech Park, Dominion Energy & VA Commonwealth University; and are just minutes away from the VA State Capitol, Coliseum and Richmond Convention Center. Just outside our doors is Brown’s Island, host to many festivals and where you can embark on the best urban whitewater rafting & mountain biking in America! Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of American Civil War Center, Altria Theatre, Dominion Arts Center & The National. Our over 13,000 sq. ft. event space is perfect for meetings, conventions, weddings & more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing