We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Ranked #15 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 February 2011

The service was superb!! The rooms were very modern, spacious, very clean and with all the amenities you could ask for! The view to downtown was great. Close to everything yet very quiet! All the good restaurants at a walking distance (we went to 6 different ones during our stay and walked to all of them) even though the hotel had a shuttle bus available. Management, meeting planners and organizers at the Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown were very professional and always available. Ready to make last minute changes (which were a lot by the way)!!! and making it happen right away! The food was excellent! With a bar right next to the lobby (that was a convenience!!). Very good taste in decoration. A lot of meeting space available for us when requested. Definitely a “must go back” hotel if we need to have another event meeting in Richmond, VA. (E. R. with A. Polymers, Inc.)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERoman036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonesScott, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2011

Dear E.R., thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza. I was excited to see your review of your experience with us. We are grateful for your business and the time you have spent reviewing our property and the services that we provide. Thank you again and we are looking forward to hosting your upcoming Catering and Hotel needs.

Sincerely,

C. Scott Jones
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

821 - 827 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights on a business trip. The hotel is located in a safe, nice area of downtown, walkable to restaurants and right next to the Canal Walk. The staff is very nice and accommodating. The building itself can definitely improve. The rooms were clean, but everything is old (especially carpets, bathroom and curtains). Also, the walls are pretty thin. I heard the person next to me coughing all night. They have free wireless, but it can be a little slow at times. Parking is attached to the hotel and costs $10 per night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LennyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Downtown for a business meeting/conference lasting 7 days. It has recently been renovated according to staff because it became smoke-free in January 2010.
Bathroom has no vent fan, and shower curtain not big enough, so entire room humid and bathroom floor wet after showering. Also the tub would not drain properly, so after 10 minute shower I was standing in ankle deep water.
No in-room safe.
Tiny 4 cup coffeemaker. In the closet.
Elevators deciding when THEY wanted to work, not reliable at all.
Hotel still has 1980's connecting room doors between rooms. Not 100% secure.
Get the complimentary "Sleep Package" at the front desk. This includes a nightlight (?), earplugs, and a drape clip to close the drapes completely. The earplugs were needed for the PAPER THIN walls. I could hear my neighbors TV at night, and Saturday night with 4 wedding parties in the hotel...Well, let's just say I had to bang on BOTH sides of the room walls to make the neighbors quit celebrating at 2am.
Free WiFi--not in the rooms. Very weak signal at the top of the hotel, had to go to lobby to get any signal.
Finally- the coup de grace- my door lock refused to work on the next to last day of my stay. Noticed it when I came back from dinner. Lights didn't light up, nothing. Stayed in, felt secure inside the door with interior security measures. Went to front desk first thing next morning to report. While waiting, the hotel manager approached me and inquired about my problem. He immediately went upstairs with me and tested the lock, then waited personally until maintenance could come repair the lock.
This hotel is in the middle of downtown, and the restaurants in Shockoe Slip are within walking distance at night.
I would not recommend this hotel and would not stay here if I return to Richmond for a personal trip.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Ideal for our needs to look around the city as it is within easy walking distance of the capitla building and many of the attractions. Tour the cpaitla building is a must for everyone to see the early days of the state.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uk2sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

This property could you a complete interior re-build, not a face lift, a complete gut job and re-build. Upon entering the lobby, the musty smell is over-powering. Staff frequently walk through the lobby area spraying de-ordorizer. The rooms are old, the bed and chairs are loose and squeak. The tub drains don't work, and at the end of your shower you're standing in 12 inches of water. The bar is brightly lit in the evening, hardly relaxing. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostonian83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJones, General Manager at Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a family wedding. The hotel was completely sold out, and a son came a day early unexpectedly and Crystal went beyond the call of duty to make our family as comfortable as possible making sure we were able to switch to a room that would also accomodate our adult son until he could move into a room of his own. She also made sure another family member was able to check into his room early so his toddlers could nap. I hate to be corny, but Crystal is a real gem! The hotel is lovely although you need to walk a bit to find a restaurant. They do have a coffee shop and a place for meals...but after a few days variety is nice. Our room could have been a bit cooler but that may have been because the jr suites have a lot of windows and it was unseasonably warm in RIchmond that week. The bed was VERY comfotable and the bathroom immaculate and that is BIG in my book. Very nice pool also.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
Thank graceoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Attended a wedding reception at Crowne Plaza and stayed for a couple of nights. Pluses: Front desk was very accommodating and helpful. Staff in cafeteria was courteous. Staff at ballroom were polite and professional. Rooms were clean. Negatives: Elevators were very stuffy. Needed some sort of ventilation to keep air moving. Rooms have thermostats with motion sensors of some kind. At night when we were in our beds, the A/C stayed off so the room got very stuffy. Tried to get the fan to run for the night but it was impossible. Each time I got up to lower the thermostat, the system kicked on. But after 5 minutes, it shut off and stayed off. Way too warm. Noise in hallway was disruptive. Cost for brunch in cafeteria is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunny1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,983 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,291 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 82 in Richmond
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
Richmond Marriott
Richmond Marriott
#19 of 82 in Richmond
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown

Address: 555 E Canal St, Richmond, VA 23219 (Formerly Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Richmond
#13 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#22 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £119 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the NEW Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown! Our hotel features rooms with beautiful views of the James River, spacious indoor pool, 24/7 fitness center, fast free Wi-Fi, microwave & fridge, in-room safe, onsite parking & complimentary downtown shuttle. We are located near many of the city’s top businesses, such as Federal Reserve Bank, CoStar, SunTrust, UPS, VA Biotech Park, Dominion Energy & VA Commonwealth University; and are just minutes away from the VA State Capitol, Coliseum and Richmond Convention Center. Just outside our doors is Brown’s Island, host to many festivals and where you can embark on the best urban whitewater rafting & mountain biking in America! Delta Hotels Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of American Civil War Center, Altria Theatre, Dominion Arts Center & The National. Our over 13,000 sq. ft. event space is perfect for meetings, conventions, weddings & more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown Hotel Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing