We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of The Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Commonwealth
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed here for one night in October. While the lobby was slightly outdated, and yes the elevator is humoursly small, the room was a good size, the staff was nice, the bathroom was huge and it's a few blocks away from the bumping bar scene and higher class restaurants For the price, it was a great stay. If you are looking for swanky, stay at the Omni up the road (and pay $75-100 more a night!), but if you want to be close to the hubbub for cheaper, this is it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NorthSideLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review . We value you as a guest, appreciate your patronage, and hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

I loved this hotel. We went to Richmond to watch my sister run the Marathon. The location was great for us to watch the event. We were welcomed at the front desk by ?Henry who was very pleasant. The rest of the staff was also friendly and accommodating - especially the valet service they were quick and efficient - never had a problem. The room was great, beds were comfy and the pictures do not do justice to how BIG the rooms are!! After the marathon we went back to the hotel - 7 of us and sitting in the living room recapping the day and we could have fit more people easily! Felt like home

Thanks for a great stay...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lizze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review . We value you as a guest, appreciate your patronage, and hope to see you again in the near future. I have conveyed your compliments to Henry, he joins me in thanking you for a kind review.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel in October of 2011 for 2 nights. I checked into my first room that overlooked a very nice park, but the noise from the street was really loud so I asked to move. I was able to move to an interior room that had a view of another building, but was much quieter. Both rooms I saw were very similar and appeared to be clean. It's a different hotel experience in that they spent money to put a bidet in each bathroom and a large flat screen TV in both the living room and the bedroom, but the necessary maintenance to keep the hotel modern and in good shape was lacking. Multiple doorknobs were loose and doors wouldn't shut completely. Lightbulbs blown in the bedroom lamps. Either way, no big deal, it seemed clean, just strange priority for where money is spent, in my opinion.

I did not think this was a bad place to stay until I pulled back the covers to go to sleep. On my pillow I noticed several dark, aprox 2 inch hairs and halfway down the bed was a crusty yellow stain. I was appalled. I called the front desk and the woman was very nice, she personally came upstairs and helped me changed the sheets on my bed and told me she would notify the manager. She also took pictures with her camera phone. Take it for what it's worth, but I think the housekeeping staff here is lacking... The first attempt by the hotel to make up for this event was a free breakfast coupon - not acceptable...I complained and my first nights stay was discounted 50%. I've stayed in many hotels for business and feel that this was not a typical response to a problem like this. At many other hotels I feel that the entire night, if not the entire stay would've been discounted more than that. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gabbyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Dear Guest
I would like to apologize for your stay being anything other than great! It is our goal to make sure each and every guest is more than satisfied. Please rest assured that this is an isolated incident. Regarding the noise we did find that the window in your original room was opened from the top and our staff had inadvertently only looked at the bottom section of the window which was closed. This was an oversight on our part. The bed sheet issue is an isolated incident. We take great pride in our housekeeping and our maintenance as can be seen by the numerous reviews and our ranking on tripadvisor. Please contact me to let me know when you will be visiting the Richmond area again so that we can prove to you that our hotel and staff excels not only in customer service but also in good housekeeping and maintenance.

Sincerely

Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I recently stayed at the Commonwealth on business. I had previously stayed at one of your competitors and had both good and bad experiences. When I first walked in, the lobby and elevators looked small and I doubted my choice. However the warmth and friendliness of your staff and the extremely large rooms made for a wonderful stay. I also want to mention the breakfast which was absolutely authentic Southern cooking. Tasted like something my Grandmother would have made.

I'll be returning around Christmas for business but will be bringing my family and will plan to stay with you again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review . We value you as a guest, appreciate your patronage, and hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I always come in Richmond for business trips and stays in this hotel. Rooms are very large and clean. If you have kids, you should really consider this option because kids get large space for play.Plus, if you are interested in sightseeing, the Virginia State Capitol building is right across the street. Overall good option to consider..!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohit_Agarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review . We value you as a guest, appreciate your patronage, and hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I chose this hotel on a recent business trip because of the reasonable price and was not disappointed. The suite was HUGE and well appointed, except for some general maintenance issues such as the A/C vents that almost fell off the wall. The staff was helpful and friendly for the most part (especially in the cafe) and the location is right across from the Capitol. Be aware that the area around the hotel is mostly deserted at night and some may want to take a taxi from dinner places or bars. Not that the area is unsafe, but people should watch their surroundings.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from Bank Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 42492Escamillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I went to Richmond this past week and the Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel exceeded my expectations. The rooms were large and very clean, and the staff was extremely helpful.
Plus, if you are interested in sightseeing, the Virginia State Capitol building is right across the street. Fun stuff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wprch123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review . We value you as a guest, appreciate your patronage, and hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richmond - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Graduate Richmond
Graduate Richmond
#33 of 82 in Richmond
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commonwealth

Address: 901 Bank St, Richmond, VA 23219-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Richmond
#8 Business Hotel in Richmond
#19 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £109 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Commonwealth 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You may think you know The Commonwealth, as it has been a landmark hotel in Richmond for over 100 years. And much of what we have been known for—excellent service, spacious suites, and a location that can't be beat—remains. But we have totally reinvented ourselves, and now offer a uniquely Richmond experience. From the tattooed entrance doors on our suites (did you know that RVA is the 5th most tattooed city in America?), to furniture and art hand crafted from some of the area's most talented artisans, to java from Richmond's own Black Hand Coffee Company, The Commonwealth will surprise and delight you at every turn. All guestrooms feature: Handcrafted furnishings and artwork from local Virginia artisans and artists; Beds with Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, luxurious cotton sheeting and your choice of pillow firmness; 50” flat screen TV with HD programming; Complimentary high speed wired & wireless internet; Clock radio with bluetooth music streaming; Refrigerator/freezer & microwave ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Park Hotel Richmond
Commonwealth Park Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing