We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!!!! TALKING ABOUT REAL SOUTHERN HOSPITALITY!!!”
Review of The Commonwealth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Commonwealth
Ranked #27 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I recently had the pleasure to stay at this hotel and can't wait to return. I have traveled extensively and can't remember when I was treated so kindly and attentively. Thank you so much for taking care of me and making my stay memorable. I'LL BE BACK VERY SOON!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilbert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for The Commonwealth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

James P restored my faith in great customer service. He was on top of his job and his experience really showed through his service and interaction. He was kind, polite, and worked to ensure I had a great experience at the hotel. I would return to this hotel because of James P.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PH639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with James and the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

James P was a wonderful breath of fresh air during my stay in Richmond. He works in the restaurant and is a terrific customer-service gentleman.

I will be going back to the Commonwealth Parks Suites during my next stay in Richmond

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 703John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with James and the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We arrived ahead of time in town and I called to see if I could get early arrival. We had booked our reservation online and the front desk could not find our reservation on their books. I managed to look up the email on my phone and they found that it had never "ported" over. That being said, the front desk did get me a room early!! All was good except when I got to the room and looked out the window. I must preface this comment by saying it was through no fault whatsoever of the hotel itself, but it's just that the room we had (401) was directly outside some part of the roof access with pipes and equipment. Pretty unsightly! I never said anything so I never go to find out if they would have changed the room. Otherwise the room itself was comfortable and had everything we needed.

Everything else was great. Henry at the front desk was most accomodating. He allowed us to leave our car at the hotel after we checked out and put our luggage in the luggage hold area so we could sightsee. The valet guys were very polite and friendly. James P. who ran the breakfast room was charming and very helpful, especially since we were straggled in at the last moment. All in all we had a really nice stay and we would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask where the room is if that is something you consider high priority. Internet is a breeze to get...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Painters1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I am sorry that you were not upgraded to a suite which we usually do if we have one available, we look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I really enjoyed my stay. My only complaints were that the room was very cold and did not have great lighting. The room was very clean, nicely decorated, and the staff was incredible! At breakfast I met James P. and found him to be the nicest man I have ever met while traveling.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the side of the building where the bus stop is located.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review . I apologize for the temperature in your room. I would appreciate a quick call from you so that we can check the heat in the room you stayed.We are in the process of putting new lamps in the rooms, all the rooms should be done by end of this week. I will share your comments with James and the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Excellent hotel for both short-term and long-term stay. The suites are spacious and accommodating for guests one may have during an extended stay. Everything was very clean and neat. The staff is great and always helpful. The management staff is equally pleasant to work with. James, who manages the breakfast restaurant, is top of the line and will ensure your morning is off to a great start with his cheerful and encouraging personality. You cannot beat the convenience of the location. Overall, a great stay each time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with James and the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel as a member of the legislative team for the college I attend. The suite was very comfortable and adequately appointed. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful, if not for the food, then definitely for the service. James P. was a great waiter. After having worked in foodservice for a number of years, I can honestly say that I would be honored to work in a restaurant with him. I have had service equal to, but never better than what he provided. I would recommend the Commonwealth Park Suites to ANYONE coming to Richmond.

Room Tip: 1106 was wonderful. Rooms toward the back and right coming off the elevator have very little street...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Earl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at The Commonwealth, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. We look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Downtown
0.2 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richmond - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
0.5 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commonwealth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commonwealth

Address: 901 Bank St, Richmond, VA 23219-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Richmond
#8 Business Hotel in Richmond
#19 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#21 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £155 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Commonwealth 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You may think you know The Commonwealth, as it has been a landmark hotel in Richmond for over 100 years. And much of what we have been known for—excellent service, spacious suites, and a location that can't be beat—remains. But we have totally reinvented ourselves, and now offer a uniquely Richmond experience. From the tattooed entrance doors on our suites (did you know that RVA is the 5th most tattooed city in America?), to furniture and art hand crafted from some of the area's most talented artisans, to java from Richmond's own Black Hand Coffee Company, The Commonwealth will surprise and delight you at every turn. All guestrooms feature: Handcrafted furnishings and artwork from local Virginia artisans and artists; Beds with Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, luxurious cotton sheeting and your choice of pillow firmness; 50” flat screen TV with HD programming; Complimentary high speed wired & wireless internet; Clock radio with bluetooth music streaming; Refrigerator/freezer & microwave ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Commonwealth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Park Hotel Richmond
Commonwealth Park Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing