We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel
Ranked #27 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Right in the heart of Richmond and close to the Virginia Legislature. Excellent spacious accommodations with a full living room, microwave, refrigerator. Both the bedroom and living room have TV's. There is a fitness center, small but has sever Enjoyed breakfast in the dining room - look for James P. a terrific server.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    139
    43
    21
    24
See reviews for
88
103
27
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Convenient to state government buildings, clean, roomy and an extremely responsive staff - Commonwealth Park can't be beat for price, location and service.
James P is an incredibly courteous, enthusiastic and effective staff member who runs the restaurant. JCHjr

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I came across this hotel when searching for someplace to stay with family over Christmas. It was perfect for us... an accessible suite for mom and me and a room nearby for my uncle. The suite was spacious and very comfortable with a couch and club chairs in the sitting room for TV watching. The roll-in shower was a bit small but it worked just fine however a shower shelf would be a great addition so there is a place for the shampoo bottle to go. Loved the towel warmer and the bidet is a unique touch.

The dining room has great potential. The gentlemen working there are so nice and the setting is pleasant but the food options were very limited. Perhaps it was due to the holiday timing but I don't think so. We has soup and salad there the first night and it was fine. The first change that needs to be made is with the menus themselves. PLEASE have them reprinted and laminated. They do not entice anyone to even give the restaurant a try and it is such an easy and inexpensive fix. First impressions and all...

Everyone was friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat. We enjoyed our stay here very much and would stay here again.

(Pay no attention to the 'Swimming Pool' rating. I can't get it to clear and there is no pool.)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

If you are looking for contemporary, move on, This place has classic charm and absolutely huge suites that swallow you up and hide you away. So much room we were able to move the furniture to the walls and practice the mother-son wedding dance in the sitting room. Excellent bedding, cleancleanclean bathrooms, even a towel warmer. Superior staff (thanks especially to Kenny and James P!), no grouches here. Exactly the quiet little jewel that you might be looking for, and don't let the price fool you, you get sooooo much more than your money's worth here. A+ all the way.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter due to city noise, but you won't get the great view of the Capi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Check in was a breeze. Did I mention the location? Literally across the street from the State Capitol. Room was large and well appointed, if somewhat dated. There was a 10 to 15 foot hall from inside the door to the room that was completely unlit which was weird. First room I've in which i've stayed in a very long time with a bidet, which give some indication of the age of the place. One thing- why would you bother to invest in large, flat panel televisions and not spring for HD? Watching sports on Non-HD television is like watching kids play in the street through a dirty window. And one ice machine in the entire hotel? And no bar? Like I said in the title, I hate to nitpick. Overall, this place is a great value and the staff is excellent. I think what bothers me is that the negatives could so easily fixed, so why don't they?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floppedthenuts_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit.
We thank you for your advice and in all honesty I can say that the ownership is already aware of these issues and are going take care of them when the hotel goes into extensive renovation next year. However we do have a wine and beer bar located in the lobby level. Unfortunately, we can not have an Ice machine on each floor due the space constraints however we do have another back up ice machine.
We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
403 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The staff is very helpful. Friendly, welcoming, warm, efficient.
Suites are very large. Excellent when someone wants to sleep and someone wants to stay up later.
Maxine's restaurant has an excellent breakfast: both cold buffet and hot made-to-order. James is always ready to make your meal exactly what you want.
Location is wonderful. You can walk to many Richmond places.
The valet parking is convenient with in/out service so you can come and go as you want without being concerned about Richmond parking.
While older, the hotel is very charming. Definitely a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Suites facing Capitol Hill are definitely the best. Higher up is best to avoid the traffic noise on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_from_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit.
Unfortunately the central heat / air conditioning is only available in the Lobby level due to infrastructural constraints.
We are happy that you enjoyed the rest of your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for the weekend of the marathon. Found this to be a really charming old hotel. Lots of great character, and the location is perfect for just about anything downtown. Walking distance to almost everything you'd want to do. The staff was excellent - perfectly friendly and helpful at all times. Our suite on the 9th floor was massive - a huge living room and an equally huge bedroom, high ceilings, and a large bathroom. Nicely renovated as well. Bed was excellent. Only real complaint was the lack of central heat/AC. They've got the older-style wall units which are a bit noisy and hard to control. But honestly that was a minor issue for us. I'd stay here again, and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Keep to the higher levels to avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnInVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommonwealthPark, General Manager at Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your kind words. I will share your comments with the rest of the team and look forward to a future visit. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to our Hotel.
Sincerely
Anshu Kapoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richmond - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Property: Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel
Address: 901 Bank St, Richmond, VA 23219-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Richmond
#8 Business Hotel in Richmond
#19 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#21 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commonwealth Park Hotel Richmond
Commonwealth Park Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing