We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff, Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Ranked #21 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Convenient Location”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I booked this hotel for myself and several family members as we were in town for my nephew's graduation. Upon entering the hotel, the first thing I noticed was that it smelled really good inside. I just couldn't help but notice that during my entire stay! I stayed in a room with my husband and 5 year old son. We were very impressed with the size of the room and especially the size of the television! The hookups to the the television also made it easy to connect devices.

This hotel was really convenient to everything and I found everything I needed from a CVS to a Marshalls (forgot my son's swimsuit) within a 3 mile radius. Food options were also plentiful! It was easy to get into downtown Richmond, but one mistake I made was not having enough change for all the small tolls! Be sure to have extra change on hand.

The only small complaint was that the bathrooms are super teeny. In addition, the hotel was booked due to a baseball league and elevators took forever.

The breakfast wasn't what I expected, but because the hotel was full, what they did have out was fresh and quite tasty. The french toast was pretty decent and the fruit was good. Don't expect a full spread...

Overall the staff was extremely friendly and we were greeted by anyone we came across. Customer service was definitely not an issue here.

Room Tip: Double rooms are much larger than the king rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferAH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    109
    54
    26
    11
See reviews for
139
56
18
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel (3 nights) for a swim meet at Collegiate School. The staff was fantastic and accommodating. They opened breakfast early for us which was great. The hotel is about three miles from the Chesterfield Mall but very convenient via highway to the pool so a good location for us. It is a Hyatt Place, so not as upscale as a Hyatt or Grand Hyatt, but for $99 a night a good value.

Each room had a large flat screen and the vanity was updated with granite and located outside the shower and toilet. The heating and air unit was a window unit so was noisy. The rooms were big with a partition between the beds/bed and front of the room that had a large sectional sofa that was also a pullout. There also was a small refrigerator and sink in this area with a desk.

The pool area was private with towels available, chaise lounges, and table and chairs. The lobby was set up with a bar and food service area that was nice.

We would stay here again with the team.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwimMom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The rooms are very nice, and the staff is fun. They have a decent bar downstairs if you want a short list of cocktails, beer, or wine. The limited menu is nice. The exercise room as 2 treadmills, an elliptical trainer, and a bike. But there are 3 problems: 1) The breakfast is free but not very good, 2) they ran out of hot water most mornings and one morning the pipes "coughed" out some brown water, and 3) if you're on the highway side of the building the road noise can be a nuisance. Plus a pet peeve of mine is the lack of outlets on the bedside tables.

Room Tip: Avoid the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 days as we came down to tour Richmond, va. Its actually off of the highway and if you want to drive into downtown Richmond you had to pay multiple tolls.

The room we stayed in wasn't bad, fairly decent size. It had a newer flat screen tv with multiple hookups. The couch in there was kinda outdated. The bathroom was super small with almost no room to even sit on the toilet.

The lobby has a bar with pretty good food to eat if you want to just sit and relax. Offered a decent choice for breakfast. We stayed from fri night and checked out Monday. They didn't notify us that the times for breakfast change from weekend to weekdays.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We are members of the "Hyatt Family" but you would not know it from our stay. WE were given a room with a broken bed (we were moved the next day after we notified them). Note: the hotel was not full, so why were they even using this room? The breakfast is HORRIBLE. My "skillet sandwich" would break a tooth, given the opportunity. They remove the complimentary lobby coffee ASAP, so then your option is to purchase the expensive stuff. The first room had a bathroom that had experienced some type of ceiling damage-let's say water-and the fan didn't work. The heating/cooling system was loud and not especially efficient. You are either too hot or too cold. They did acknowledge our displeasure after we responded to a survey and gave us some points. Wish there was a better choice in the area.

Room Tip: Stay at The Jefferson in town.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Teressa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was my second time here in three years. My first time was quite nice. I traveled with my mother for the holidays. Prior to arriving we both agreed that we were more excited about staying at the hotel than visiting family.
When we arrived we were well past the 3pm check-in, yet our room was already reserved and there was no wait. We walked in and it felt like home. There was enough space for two people to spread out and not get in each other's way.
I was shocked the next evening when I discovered that they had a bar available and they had expanded on their grab n' go menu. Breakfast was available, but like most hotels it ends early.
The best part is that room service did not bother us at all! We went three days before letting room service clean up and it as a job well done.
Though the building is from 1998, I still felt like it had everything I needed. The price was a steal for everything that is offered.
If I could change one thing it would be the toiletries. This is we're the price showed. Bring your own.
One suggestion, bring dish detergent if you plan on using the wet bar sink.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet choose and upper floor and ask for a microwave in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Signal Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before because it is so close to family. This time when I asked for the room to be defeathered I was told there was no housekeeping people available to change it out. They brought me new pillows, but they were feather, too. I sent an e-mail to the on-line site and got an answer pretty quick. I thought this was not professional. I am allergic to feathers and needed them to fix the room which I paid for.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
11.6 mi away
HYATT House Richmond-West
HYATT House Richmond-West
#5 of 81 in Richmond
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
1,784 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
11.9 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum

Property: Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Address: 201 Arboretum Place, Richmond, VA 23236 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Richmond
#24 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum Hotel Richmond
Hyatt Richmond
Richmond Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing