We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Connected to the Convention Center”
Review of Richmond Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Marriott
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stay at this hotel once a year while attending an event at the Greater Richmond Convention Center. I like that it's connected by a walkway and also has a parking garage connected.

The hotel is comfortable the rooms were spacious and clean. The lobby was pleasant and I found the sports bar to be a bit better than most hotel restaurants. There was a manager visiting tables which was a nice touch.

The staff was helpful with suggestions for places to eat. There is not a lot of options for within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StayCationNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
There are newer reviews for Richmond Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 730 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Visited Richmond for area college tours. Originally tried to book the airport facility (for convenience) but it was booked to capacity. They recommended and booked me for the downtown location.
All staff members extremely polite and helpful as we checked in late at night. It was easy to get to from the airport. The room was cleaner than I have seen in a hotel for some time. Beds very comfortable. They have a valet with a $25 fee which seemed maybe a bit steep but the car was ready in no time when requested and turned over to me with big smiles and genuine wishes for a good day.
They have a bar/lounge area with several large screens, and a good sized dining area with morning buffet. All served by very friendly staff. I would give this location an excellent rating in terms of cleanliness, staff, location and amenities. If we return, we would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin4301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here for Lego Kids Fest. Every staff member from the valet parking attendant to bell hops to the front desk were warm, friendly, helpful, and polite. They all seemed genuinely happy to be there and happy to help. Our room was a little small, but very clean with comfortable easy and desk chairs. There was not enough drawers for three people to put their things, but this wasn't a problem for our one-night stay. The bed was comfortable enough, but too soft for my liking. I like the desk panel that had plenty of outlets for plugging in your portable electronics as well as auxiliary inputs for the TV. They charged us for valet parking even though it was part of our package, but removed the charge immediately when it was brought to their attention. They also removed the charge for our awful breakfast. We'd definitely stay there again given it's great location right next to the convention center and close to many downtown attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rirri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed at the Richmond Marriott during the LEGO Kidsfest at the Richmond Convention Center. Given that the hotel was sold-out and swarming with families and kids, I really could not have asked for a better experience. Every member of the staff was extremely polite, professional, and helpful. When our room service order took longer than expected, they called to let us know it was on the way and went out of their way to make sure everything was as we had requested.

The pool was a complete zoo of kids, but really, what do you expect when almost every guest was there for the LEGO event? I will say, the pool area was clean and housekeeping did a great job keeping pool towels in stock.

We have Marriott platinum status and received a room on the top floor. Very quiet, very clean and the beds (as others have mentioned) were extremely comfortable. There is a skywalk to the garage (city-run, $8 weekend rate) and to the convention center.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Downtown Richmond for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Top floor facing James River.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecky75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night stay with friends at this hotel. We were going to spend the weekend end in Richmond to do a bit of sightseeing and go to the Lego Fest event for my son’s birthday. As a Platinum member I am bias to the Marriott brand however as such I do expect a high level of service. We arrived quite early in the day I asked if the rooms were ready and told they were not, no real problem as we were very early and were heading out to Capitol building. I had contacted the hotel prior my arrival to request adjoining rooms, I reminded the lady behind the desk of the request. She informed me that we had been upgraded to a premium room and they would be opposite each other on the 18th floor.
On our return later in the day I went to check in only to be told that the rooms that were no longer available and that they could give us rooms on the 17th floor but one was a king (We were two families and needed 2 Queens for the kids) After about 15 mins the lady was finally able to give us 2 rooms on the concierge level. The rooms in general were fine and clean, a wee bit small.
The following morning we woke with a bill under the door for the one night, I phoned down to reception to ensure they had us down for 2 nights they said they did and told me to disregard the bill. We headed out for the day and the Lego Fest and had a wonderful time.
We returned to the room around 4:30 to find that our rooms had not been serviced, when I informed the front desk, they said they were sorry and would send someone up straight away. Unfortunately we had been on the go all-day and just wanted to chill out so we just got new towels and toiletries.
My friend and I then headed out in the car, so I called down to the front desk to make sure key was sorted for the garage. I was then informed that the hotel did not have a deal with the parking and I had to pay direct with them. So I did, only to find out later when we had to head in the car later that every time you go in out it costs $8 !!!!!! I checked the hotel website and it does say that they have on site parking !!!!I
When checking out I was asked if everything was alright with our stay I mentioned the items above to a lady called Brenda I think, she told me she would tell her manager. I then asked if he/she was around I would like to speak to them, she informed he was in a meeting and another one wasn't in until 10.
Now for the good things about the hotel - THE PEOPLE- Nearly every member of staff were very friendly and helpful, as you walk around the hotel nearly every member of staff say's good morning or hello very nice touch. John in the concierge lounge was exceptionally nice and friendly and a real asset.
Overall we all had a good time but as my friends normally stay a Hiltons and I had suggested staying at the Marriott I feel a little let down by the overall service. I guess next time we hook up we will be going to a Hilton.
I do think the Hotel needs to be a little clearer on the parking on the website.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlenElgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusanGDOSM123, Director of Sales at Richmond Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

GlenElgin,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review and being a loyal Marriott guest. All of your feedback is truly appreciated. We want to create an excellent experience for our guests during every stay and every review helps us to do so. Rest assured that the parking verbiage on our website is being review and edited to clarify all of the options offered to our guests. As we do not own the garage, unfortunately, we do not have control over the pricing. We look forward to having you back again soon and exceeding your expectations during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for Lego Kids Fest. Great location right next to convention center. Room was very small. It was a adjoining room so we could hear the neighbors. Pool was crowded and murky. Bed was comfy. Shower head was way too low. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenba97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Out of my kids mouths" these beds are so comfortable ! "
We typically stay in a suite , but wanted to
Stay with our cheer group that had a standard room . These rooms were comfortable and nicely set up for a small room .
Bellman were professional and courteous - this is appreciated . On a snowy day , valet was a dream !
We ate at the in house restaurant for sandwiches and food was great ! Their brunch buffet was fresh and goat cheese / spinach / crab omelet to die for !

Front desk staff ready to help you at all times .
It is nice having coffee shop in Lobby.
Able to walk to many restaurants

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwsmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,063 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Marriott

Address: 500 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1812
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
#18 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £120 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, the newly renovated Richmond Marriott offers a blend of luxury and Southern charm. Guests entering this award-winning hotel in downtown Richmond will enjoy prime location within steps of the Richmond Coliseum, the State Capitol Building, and CenterStage Theater, while being connected to the Greater Richmond Convention Center via skywalk. Guests will be greeted with a warm welcome to a stylish lobby that is highlighted by modern decor, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and a concierge desk. The well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer stunning city views, Marriott's signature Revive(R) bedding, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. The onsite T-Miller's Sports Bar & Grill provides a delicious menu of American favorites combined with craft beer and signature cocktails. Guests looking to head out for the evening can start off the night at the lobby's Liberty Bar, and take the complimentary shuttle to a number of diverse dining and entertainment venues. With over 26,000 sq. Ft. Of newly-renovated event space, this hotel also provides an excellent destination for hosting business meetings, corporate conferences, and wedding receptions in Richmond. Whether you are staying for business or taking a weekend getaway, the Marriott hotel is the perfect choice for your next trip to Richmond, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Richmond Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Marriott Hotel Richmond
Marriott Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing