We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, poor service”
Review of Richmond Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Richmond Marriott
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed for a convention. Our rooms were not ready until 9 pm, six hours after we arrived. The hotel is a convention hotel, but is clearly overwhelmed by conventions. The front desk staff just said, well, this is normal when we are fully booked. Even though some rooms were ready, the staff would not release room keys until all the rooms in our block were ready. We all had to change for dinner by fetching our clothes from the trunks of our cars, changing in public bathrooms and returning to our cars. That said, the rooms are lovely and beds the most comfortable I have slept on, ever.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nothanks49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
There are newer reviews for Richmond Marriott
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

Very high end service from the moment you get out of your car. Be prepared to tip. Excellent Fitness area. Breakfast buffet is good. Try to get a special rate ahead of time. Concierge area closed weekends. No passes for breakfast normally given to gold members unlike other Marriotts when concierge area is closed.

Room Tip: Get a high floor to avoid traffic noise.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdvoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed here with a large group for a conference at the hotel. Our entire group was amazed by the friendliness of the staff at every turn. From the desk staff to the bell staff to the housekeepers, everyone went out of their way to provide excellent customer service. I cannot stress enough how refreshing and important this is. Top that off with comfortable beds and great water pressure and I am a happy customer!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JME727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel within the downtown area. Stayed for a conference and appreciated the restaurant suggestions and shuttle service although it was not running on the weekend. Still could find a taxi right away. Spacious room and great bed. Loved having Starbucks there and enjoyed a beverage at the bar each night. Walking distance to the Capital and Confederacy Museum.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdog612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

OK, if you're going to a convention at a hotel you'll probably stay at that hotel. And if you're at the Richmond Convention Center, you'll probably stay across the street. If you're in a convention hotel, you probably know what to expect: cavernous lobby, a restaurant on the order of TGI Friday's, health club, lots of meeting rooms, and decent rooms. And high prices, even at the "special conference rate." Check, check, check, check, check, double check.

It's an ok hotel. Rooms are fine. Hotel is very pricey. I expect to pay an arm and a leg for parking at a downtown hotel and not have too many alternatives.

What I do NOT expect to pay in 2013 anywhere in the developed world is an add-on fee for wi-fi. Are you kidding me? And this was a real fee, not a nominal $5.

Also, while the rooms weren't overly noisy, there was some hallway noise. At $145 a night in RICHMOND (face it, Richmond isn't San Francisco or New Orleans), it should be hermetically silent.

There seemed to be a fair number of weekenders and casual tourists here. I can't conceive why. Hilton Garden Inn is much preferable.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hilton Garden Inn.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonsreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I am a loyal Marriott customer and have been for many years. However, I have been annoyed lately at the lack of expected amenities and upkeep at the older Marriott brand properties. I recently stayed at the Key Bridge Marriott in Arlington and this week at the Richmond Marriott. I really cannot believe that neither provides a cup of coffee in the morning (no doubt due to agreements with Starbucks now located in the lobbies). No complementary wifi in guest rooms (clearly not a technical problem since service is additional for an additional fee). While the property is generally updated with a nice lobby and decent sports bar, the room was a bit dated with a malfunctioning shower head. Also, I was put off that the parking fee was not added to my room charge but rather I had to pay separately (and the concession machine did not provide a receipt ... not Marriott's fault but a poor reflection on them nonetheless).

As always, though, the staff is fantastic. And that makes up for a lot!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CburgHokieHoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I stay at this hotel once a year while attending an event at the Greater Richmond Convention Center. I like that it's connected by a walkway and also has a parking garage connected.

The hotel is comfortable the rooms were spacious and clean. The lobby was pleasant and I found the sports bar to be a bit better than most hotel restaurants. There was a manager visiting tables which was a nice touch.

The staff was helpful with suggestions for places to eat. There is not a lot of options for within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StayCationNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,062 reviews
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,279 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Marriott

Address: 500 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1812
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
#18 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £121 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, the newly renovated Richmond Marriott offers a blend of luxury and Southern charm. Guests entering this award-winning hotel in downtown Richmond will enjoy prime location within steps of the Richmond Coliseum, the State Capitol Building, and CenterStage Theater, while being connected to the Greater Richmond Convention Center via skywalk. Guests will be greeted with a warm welcome to a stylish lobby that is highlighted by modern decor, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and a concierge desk. The well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer stunning city views, Marriott's signature Revive(R) bedding, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. The onsite T-Miller's Sports Bar & Grill provides a delicious menu of American favorites combined with craft beer and signature cocktails. Guests looking to head out for the evening can start off the night at the lobby's Liberty Bar, and take the complimentary shuttle to a number of diverse dining and entertainment venues. With over 26,000 sq. Ft. Of newly-renovated event space, this hotel also provides an excellent destination for hosting business meetings, corporate conferences, and wedding receptions in Richmond. Whether you are staying for business or taking a weekend getaway, the Marriott hotel is the perfect choice for your next trip to Richmond, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Richmond Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Marriott Hotel Richmond
Marriott Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing