We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy but convenient hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Richmond Marriott
Ranked #15 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Noisy but convenient hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Went to see a concert at the National Theater and this Marriott's location is only 1 block away. Staff tries very hard to accommodate guests, especially Platinum members. Happened to be placed in a room next to a wedding guest room block. Guests were noisy and had to be warned by security multiple times before settling down for the night. Breakfast was included as part of a Marriott Platinum/Gold membership special and was quite tasty. All in all a decent stay based upon the circumstances.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dnumgis02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    257
    104
    36
    22
See reviews for
130
105
37
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
303 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Made up my mind to go to Tarrant's Cafe for dinner before choosing a hotel (it's that good) and the Marriott is only 4-5 blocks away. Had no trouble walking to and from hotel. Worst part of the walk was seeing all the empty storefronts on Broad Street. Have stayed in many a Marriott and this one served its purpose. Staff friendly and helpful as always. Room what I expected including being clean. Rate was excellent. Save some money and park in the public lot behind the hotel. Paid $8 for the entire weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

A bright open lobby. My friends did not like the restaurant in the lobby. Overall comfortable room but I was dismayed by mildew in the grout in the bathroom. Very disappointing. The counter in the bath seemed low as well. The front desk staff was friendly. I have to say while the person helping me was friendly she was a bit clueless about by simple requests yet she did accommodate me after I had to be very specific. For instance, if one is leaving a note for a guest rather than handing me a post it to write the note hand me paper with an envelope that can be slipped under the guest's door by the staff.

The hotel location is central but on a one way street making access to the garage very awkward. One has to drive a couple of blocks away to turn to park in the garage in the next block that has adjoining bridge to the hotel. One can't turn directly out of the hotel driveway to the parking garage. Haven't seen more awkward set up to get to parking, but once parked the parking was convenient with the adjoining bridge.

Overall it was a pretty decent stay except for the mildew.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dctraveler6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte Nido, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

First off, I have to say that my review is colored by the fact that I am never a fan of the excuse from a hotel "we have a big group here tonight". As if that were a bad thing and something out of the ordinary for a hotel. I always feel like inquiring, "have you ever had big groups here before?"

Even so, I understand big groups can stress a hotel, but if that's the case then don't promise me room service in 30-40 minutes, and make me call down after an hour to find out you don't know what's going on and can't really give me an estimate on my food getting there. Up front tell me to go eat somewhere else if I want prompt service. Okay, I'm done with my rant.

This is pretty much the same Marriott you would find in any other small(er) city. This hotel unfortunately suffers from a location that puts you at least 1/2 mile from any restaurant, and many of the storefronts along the way are vacant or going out of business.

As a side note, we were putting on an event at this hotel and the a/v guy was late, not prepared, and adjusting mic levels after we had started - unprofessional.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Great staff, clean rooms and wonderful location.
i have been travelling to Richmond 3 of evey 4 weeks a month now for the past 18 months. The Downtown Marriott is my favorite place to be. Parking attendants, bellhops, front desk and concierge staff are very friendly and helpful and seem genuinely glad to see me when I show up. The location is right on the edge of great restaurants and fun bars and the shuttle will take you anywhere in the area. Rooms are clean and fresh and most importantly, consistent. I always know what I am getting when I stay at the Marriott in downtown Richmond.

Room Tip: The 17th and 18th floor have rooms with bay windows and floor to ceiling glass making these rooms fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorinKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Had a wonderful stay here. Everything was so clean and the staff was very friendly from the front door coming in to walking me to the car when leaving. I will stay again for sure! I'm not one to write reviews, but really felt the need to today!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I travel for work, and I always stay at the Marriott. There are a couple reasons.

1. Location - It is right downtown off all the major roads. While many can consider the area sketchy, there are a lot of up and coming restaurants and bars in walking distance. There are some great running routes that offer flats, hills, and more. Need a larger gym than what is offered? Walk on over to the YMCA which is only a few blocks away.

2. The Staff - They are the friendliest staff I've ever met. Early on I thought they were being disingenuous, but they are really THAT friendly. They go the extra mile for every guest. I am fortunate to have access to the lounge. Unlike most Marriott hotels, this lounge offers real meals that are unique and not just some fried chicken fingers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Marriott

Property: Richmond Marriott
Address: 500 East Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
#18 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, the newly renovated Richmond Marriott offers a blend of luxury and Southern charm. Guests entering this award-winning hotel in downtown Richmond will enjoy prime location within steps of the Richmond Coliseum, the State Capitol Building, and CenterStage Theater, while being connected to the Greater Richmond Convention Center via skywalk. Guests will be greeted with a warm welcome to a stylish lobby that is highlighted by modern decor, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and a concierge desk. The well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer stunning city views, Marriott's signature Revive(R) bedding, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. The onsite T-Miller's Sports Bar & Grill provides a delicious menu of American favorites combined with craft beer and signature cocktails. Guests looking to head out for the evening can start off the night at the lobby's Liberty Bar, and take the complimentary shuttle to a number of diverse dining and entertainment venues. With over 26,000 sq. Ft. Of newly-renovated event space, this hotel also provides an excellent destination for hosting business meetings, corporate conferences, and wedding receptions in Richmond. Whether you are staying for business or taking a weekend getaway, the Marriott hotel is the perfect choice for your next trip to Richmond, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Richmond Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Marriott Hotel Richmond
Marriott Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing