We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel next to the convention center”
Review of Richmond Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Richmond Marriott
Ranked #18 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel next to the convention center”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here during the Wine Expo weekend. We arrived a little early on Saturday and the front desk went out of their way to find us a room that was ready. We checked in, left the luggage, and went across the street to the expo. Afterward, we came back to the hotel and ate in the restaurant on site and again, the staff went out of their way to get us a table quickly on a very busy night.

The hotel seems to be a little older, but is well cared for. The location is a big plus next to the convention center and easy to find off of the Interstate. The room was a little small by today's standards but was well appointed with a comfortable bed, flat screen TV, and nice desk area. Had breakfast in the Starbucks in the lobby the next morning and were on our way. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavenBethinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    280
    110
    43
    22
See reviews for
144
110
40
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Everyone was so nice to us. We had a great ladies weekend this weekend. We wanted to spend time together at night and we were given a room. We ordered pizza, brought games and wine, and had a great time . The staff couldnt have been kinder! The brunch on Sunday was delicious with fresh fruit and great made to order omelets.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone~

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathyu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you foe taking the time to fill out a tripadvisor! We are so glad you enjoyed your girls night as we all know sometimes they are desperately needed. We had a great time being the host hotel to the Wine Expo and hope we see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was here for a conference geared to educators. The price of parking is ridiculous and they hover until you tip. There is no free wifi service, and for what you pay per room plus parking that is the least they could do. The service staff for the meals were rude and sloppy. They did not allow enough space between diners even though almost an entire third of the room was left vacant. The conference part was great, the hotel was clean, but I would think twice before attending an event here again.

Green Features: Who cares? I am away from home, I'll use a new towel everyday please!
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I had GREAT service from the front desk staff. I arrived in the hoteal about 11:45p and had told Sheena at the front desk that I it was not a great travel day and my 1.5 hour layover was reduced to 20 minutes in Atlanta and was not able to grab any dinner. Sheena suggested the bar for a quick snack. The bar had closed the kitchen and I went back to ask Sheena about other options. The only option was to order in. I had said that it was too late and was tired. She said she would see about getting me a snadwich or something adn gave me a extra bottle of water. Right after I got to the room she called and asked said she was sending me up a turkey sandwich. About 10 minutes later, I had a sandwich, salad and a dessert delivered to room. The next day the bill did not have any charges for the meal.

Sheena went above and beyond to help a weary traveler on a bad travel day.

MAJOR KUDOS TO SHEENA and the staff at the Richmond Marriott

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DW1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to share your experience with us. We are always happy to hear such great feedback on our team especially Sheena. I am glad she was able to take care of you after your long travels to Richmond and provide the kind of service we are proud of! We have shared your comments with our team and will continue to share the excellent feedback. We hope to see you soon and provide the same great service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruther Glen, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed one weekend night. Location is really good as it is near the National Theater. Service was good, room was good and clean. Check in was very quick. My only complaint is about the restaurant - I did a separate review of T-Millers restaurant specifically but what I refer to here is very limited in-hotel restaurant choice since the only restaurant is a sport bar and grill.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on your experience. I am glad you enjoyed the location, room size and the speediness of the check in process. I also noted your review on the restauarant and apologize for the limited menu. We are constantly looking for feedback to better enhance the experience of our guests and will use this opportunity to take another look at the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here for a business trip. It has nice amenities and is in the heart of downtown Richmond. I was able to walk to most of the sites I wanted to see. Richmond is always on my short list of places to visit. There's so much to see and the history is everywhere.

Watch out for the Internet charges. You get charged for usage and there is a price per page to print over 20 pages.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevins80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel and facilities are nice, perfect for a quick business trip or convention. The hotel is tailored for the busy business traveller looking for a nice place to relax.

Unfortunately, the hotel seems to be in a rather unsavoury part of town. Drunks and homeless people abound. Keep you cars parked in guarded ramps or under bright lights if its parked in an unsecured location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your most recent stay at the Downtown Richmond Marriott! I am glad you enjoyed our facilities and recent renovations at our property. Additionally, we take the safety of our guests and associates with the utmost importance. We have security on property at all times and we conduct walk through each hour.

We look forward to your future stay should your travels brings you back to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richmond - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 82 in Richmond
1,918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Marriott

Property: Richmond Marriott
Address: 500 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1812
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
#18 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, the newly renovated Richmond Marriott offers a blend of luxury and Southern charm. Guests entering this award-winning hotel in downtown Richmond will enjoy prime location within steps of the Richmond Coliseum, the State Capitol Building, and CenterStage Theater, while being connected to the Greater Richmond Convention Center via skywalk. Guests will be greeted with a warm welcome to a stylish lobby that is highlighted by modern decor, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and a concierge desk. The well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer stunning city views, Marriott's signature Revive(R) bedding, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. The onsite T-Miller's Sports Bar & Grill provides a delicious menu of American favorites combined with craft beer and signature cocktails. Guests looking to head out for the evening can start off the night at the lobby's Liberty Bar, and take the complimentary shuttle to a number of diverse dining and entertainment venues. With over 26,000 sq. Ft. Of newly-renovated event space, this hotel also provides an excellent destination for hosting business meetings, corporate conferences, and wedding receptions in Richmond. Whether you are staying for business or taking a weekend getaway, the Marriott hotel is the perfect choice for your next trip to Richmond, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Richmond Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Marriott Hotel Richmond
Marriott Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing