We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Marriott w/ good location”
Review of Richmond Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Richmond Marriott
Ranked #20 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Marriott w/ good location”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Meets expectations of standard Marriott experience (good concierge lounge, central location, friendly staff, etc). The sports bar downstairs had better than average bar food and big TVs which was good because I was there during baseball playoffs! There are also a bunch of delicious, local restaurants within walking distance!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenCityTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities we offer and our restaurant menus! We are in the midst of vamping our restaurant menu so we look forward to hosting you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    269
    107
    41
    22
See reviews for
136
108
38
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lutherville, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a Field Hockey event in the Convention Center - location could not have been better. Rooms were clean and comfy. Parking fee is a bit of an annoyance. The hotel restaurant had decent food but clearly was understaffed for the amount of people staying there that weekend. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crcfhrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to fill out a Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the amenities we had to offer and the service our staff provided. I also did note your comments on the restaurant and have communicated to our Restaurant General Manager. We hope to see you next year where we could have a second opportunity to show you an excellent dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Richmond Marriott has the best staff with southern hospitality. From the moment I stepped out of my car to helping me set up in the convention area, everyone was friendly and genuine. They really were there to help me. The room was clean and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept on in a hotel. The elevators were quick, as I stayed on the 14th floor. Parking was the only drawback which was not that bad once you found the parking garage behind the hotel. I would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a tripadvisor! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the staff service we have to offer. I see you have noted how comfortable the beds are in the hotel, we recently bought in all new beds last year and they have been a hit! We hope to see you again the next time you are in Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
Level Contributor
361 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is older but nice. Typical for what you would expect from Marriott. Very friendly and courteous staff. Location is central to downtown. The Gym is nice and has plenty of machines. Has a pool but no hot tub. Fine place to stay if ever in Richmond.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to fill out a tripadvisor! We are glad you enjoyed the amenities we offer at our property. I see you noted the gym facilities which were recently rennovated to provide our guests an opportunity to get their regular work out routine in while at the hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BA
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Great Marriott property. I'm a Platinum Premier with Marriott (100+ nights per year) and this hotel constantly provides superior service within the chain. Friendly staff greets each guest as they come through the doors and the desk staff makes it a point to make eye contact with everyone who passes by, asking how their day is going. Concierge lounge regularly serves evening hoers devours that are tops in the chain too...seem to be more creative than many other full service Marriotts. Wish I had more business in Richmond!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mattydBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to fill out a Tripadvisor. I am so glad you enjoyed our warm staff service and got to take advantage of our offerings in the Concierge Lounge. We are committed to showing our Elite Members how much they really mean to us and soemtimes that boils right down to the food! We hope to see you again should you be in Richmond and will be sure to stock up the lounge for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My niece's wedding was recently held at the Richmond Marriott Downtown and it was FANTASTIC! The food was exceptional and the service impeccable. I was the mistress of ceremonies and I want to give a special shout out to Donna, Jay, Brandon, Amanda, Chef Janice, and the most organized & best Wedding Director ever -- Csilla K.
Thanks to Sam for the special care in hand-ironing the cloth for the cake table to be sure it looked just right. Thanks so much for making sure everything was beautiful on this special couple's special day -- much appreciated.
GREAT Job everybody!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you and congratulations! We are glad you enjyoed the event at the hotel and thank you for sharing such a special celebration with us. We have sent your comments to the team members and the staff. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
359 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed over the weekend to attend two shows at The National. Hotel was full and very busy. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Could not have been more pleased with the location - The National is a short 5 minute walk from the hotel. Room was perfect - quiet, comfortable and had a nice view of downtown. You would have never known that the hotel was full based on the noise level. Room service was prompt and food was better than usual hotel food. Would definitely stay at this hotel again and think you'd enjoy your stay as well. If you are considering the Crown Plaza, I had stayed at the Crowne Plaza in downtown Richmond several months ago and found this to be a much nicer property. Thanks again to Nate, Eleanor and Richard at the hotel who were all very helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyfromILMNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you taking the time to fill out a tripadvisor. We hope you had a wonderful night and event at the National. We have also shared the wonderful comments about our hosts and hope to see you back the next time you are in Richmond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Marriott

Property: Richmond Marriott
Address: 500 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1812
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
#18 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, the newly renovated Richmond Marriott offers a blend of luxury and Southern charm. Guests entering this award-winning hotel in downtown Richmond will enjoy prime location within steps of the Richmond Coliseum, the State Capitol Building, and CenterStage Theater, while being connected to the Greater Richmond Convention Center via skywalk. Guests will be greeted with a warm welcome to a stylish lobby that is highlighted by modern decor, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and a concierge desk. The well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer stunning city views, Marriott's signature Revive(R) bedding, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. The onsite T-Miller's Sports Bar & Grill provides a delicious menu of American favorites combined with craft beer and signature cocktails. Guests looking to head out for the evening can start off the night at the lobby's Liberty Bar, and take the complimentary shuttle to a number of diverse dining and entertainment venues. With over 26,000 sq. Ft. Of newly-renovated event space, this hotel also provides an excellent destination for hosting business meetings, corporate conferences, and wedding receptions in Richmond. Whether you are staying for business or taking a weekend getaway, the Marriott hotel is the perfect choice for your next trip to Richmond, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Richmond Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Marriott Hotel Richmond
Marriott Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing