We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperate need of an upgrade”
Review of Richmond Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Richmond Marriott
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

So excited to stay at a full service Marriott...wow was I disappointed...smelly, wallpaper peeling in my room, very old carpet...very disappointed.
When I shared my concerns with front desk they said I could fill out a comment card and put it in the box...ok..here you go.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Front Office Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay. I can certainly empathize with your disappointment about the excitement before checking in. Your feedback is important to us and we are constatnly looking for ways to improve our guests stay. I will forward this information on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wonderful staff. We stayed there for a middle school convention. Staff was very patient. My daughter locked our keys in our room twice. Both times they happily let us back in. Everyone was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Typical downtown hotel. Very busy with convention business. Super, super friendly and helpful staff! Rooms are what I would consider average Marriott. Lots of electrical outlets which is nice. Room was clean and maid service very good. Good food choices with onsite restaurant and Starbucks. Offsite parking options are somewhat expensive. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Even with a full house due to convention, elevator waits were not bad at all, so any floor would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realfan112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one (1) night with my sweetie for a mini-meetup. Since we live 4.5 hours apart. We wanted to go somewhere close to home, since we just returned from our vacation out of the country.

We chose this hotel based on the location and reviews. Wonderful!! this hotel from the Valet parking to the Front desk staff.. The hotel was quite busy with a Indian wedding and Lacrosse teams. The evening we arrived it was packed with people watching the Soccer tournament, and socializing in the restaurant.

Hotel room and common areas appeared to be clean. The onsite restaurant offered inside and outside dining options. We ate there for breakfast.

Our room was small but nice for one night. The bathroom was built for one person. We had to take turns using the sink and counter.

We walked to have dinner at La Grotta. Which was very nice, we explored the historical displays and took a few photos. We happened upon a nice event going on in one of the State buildings, they had a live band and vendors on the observation deck. We went up and enjoyed the music and patronized the vendors a bit. It was a beautiful view of the city.

We will definitely stay at this location again.

PS: My man left his new watch case and new watch at the valet when leaving.. he realized it 1.5 hours later and called, and it was till there..:) He has it in hand!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avirtuouslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stay at Marriott hotels often, and this site was sub-par. When I arrived, they couldn't find my reservation and had to rebook me in a downgraded room and still charged me the same price. The following morning during check-out they made me come back to the desk to ask for my card again to re-swipe, then I asked for an electronic copy of my receipt, as a physical copy was never given to me. I gave them my email and it never came. Called back at a later date and was told they can't help me and their system was down so I would have to call back again later. Never offered to call me back or take any of my information down to check on my issue. It may not seem like a lot, but I usually receive exceptional service from Marriott, so this was a surprise.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequenttraveler707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Front Office Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time out to fill out a survey. I can certainly understand the frustration with the service you received and apologize for the confusion. I will use this as a coaching opportunity for my team to ensure we can better assist our guests. I hope you join us in the future so we can show you the excellent experience I know we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed at this Marriott with my daughter's volleyball team (along with what must have been floors upon floors of other volleyball teams). My experience was so phenomenal I felt I needed to share my feedback with others!

The customer service was extraordinary! From the valets, to the bellhops, to the front desk staff, to the staff of T Millers (the restaurant) - - every one I encountered was polite, friendly, and truly helpful!

My room was quite comfortable, and had everything I needed.

And to top it all off, the food at T Millers (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) was SO delicious (and I am quite a picky eater!) I ate all but one meal there (Friday dinner, Saturday breakfast and lunch, Sunday all three, and Monday breakfast and lunch) - that is how amazing it was!

I HIGHLY recommend the Richmond Marriott!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Our second visit here. Hotel is just very pleasant. Staff is friendly, coffee shop & restaurant on premise. Room is very clean & quiet. Beds extremely soft as well as pillows. One of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in. I do wish they had a fridge & microwave.
This hotel is attached to the Richmond convention center and is a must stay for business.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 82 in Richmond
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Marriott

Address: 500 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1812
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
#18 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £116 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, the newly renovated Richmond Marriott offers a blend of luxury and Southern charm. Guests entering this award-winning hotel in downtown Richmond will enjoy prime location within steps of the Richmond Coliseum, the State Capitol Building, and CenterStage Theater, while being connected to the Greater Richmond Convention Center via skywalk. Guests will be greeted with a warm welcome to a stylish lobby that is highlighted by modern decor, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and a concierge desk. The well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer stunning city views, Marriott's signature Revive(R) bedding, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. The onsite T-Miller's Sports Bar & Grill provides a delicious menu of American favorites combined with craft beer and signature cocktails. Guests looking to head out for the evening can start off the night at the lobby's Liberty Bar, and take the complimentary shuttle to a number of diverse dining and entertainment venues. With over 26,000 sq. Ft. Of newly-renovated event space, this hotel also provides an excellent destination for hosting business meetings, corporate conferences, and wedding receptions in Richmond. Whether you are staying for business or taking a weekend getaway, the Marriott hotel is the perfect choice for your next trip to Richmond, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Marriott Hotel Richmond
Marriott Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing