We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Staff, Corporate Friendly”
Review of Richmond Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Marriott
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Attended a Motorcoach Conference at the Marriott and stayed in one of their King rooms for 4 nights and I was very pleased with my overall experience. We wore name badges for the duration of our stay and the staff made every effort to address us by our names and always with a smile. The lobby was beautiful and the lengths the staff went to make our experience pleasant was impressive. We all work in the hospitality industry so we can be critical but I would definitely stay again! Only issue is the side my room was on didn't have much of a view but the rooms on the opposite did showcase the city. I basically looked out over a roof that was under construction and a parking garage.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BarbieJo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was recently at the downtown Marriott, the staff was friendly for the most part. Although it was busy, the front desk associates were unable to do anything without management approval. The hotel is huge which seemed to cause some problems. The lobby and hallways were extremely hot, I was personally sweating from the time I left my room. There was a mobile AC unit in the street, but it did not seem to help. The room was extremely clean and well cared for. My BIGGEST complaint about the ENTIRE hotel is that the wifi was VERY SLOW. Furthermore, the rooms downstairs had NO SERVICE, no wifi, no cell reception. This made life extremely frustrating. I would think a hotel of this size would have a robust wifi system and cell network boosters. The Greater Richmond Convention center had a similar problem with reception. Lastly, given the size, be prepared to wait 5 to 10 minutes for an elevator.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stopped in for a night due to business meeting. Lobby is excellent. Greeted by several staff right away. Front desk staffer, Joe, is outstanding in customer service and communication skills. Concierge floor hospitality suite wasn't open on this Friday night yet I was offered either a complimentary breakfast or additional points, awesome. Room on the concierge level very nice, well equipped with a fridge and up to date bathroom. Gym and pool reasonable. Definitely a place to keep on the stay list.

Room Tip: Top or higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a full service Marriott. The valet helped to unload the car and explained how their valet parking worked. We were going right back out to dinner in a little while, so they left the car out front for us, which was nice, so we wouldn't have to pay for an additional time taking the car in and out of the parking area. The front desk was offering all kinds of help for various things. We were going to be there only one night, so we didn't need much. The room they gave us was nice and clean, but the lamp on one side of the bed did not work and the room was hot when we arrived. Most places have the room at a comfortable temperature when you arrive. We showered and dressed for dinner and the room still hadn't cooled off very much, even after turning the temp down to 70. We figured it would cool off by the time we came back from dinner.They gave us directions and off we went to dinner. Several hours later after returning from dinner, the room still had not cooled off very much. We turned the temp down a few degrees more and finally, cool air came out of the vent. The next morning, we went downstairs to breakfast to use our food vouchers they had given us. There wasn't very many people in the dining room, so we were seated right away and our orders were taken. After awhile, the dining room began to fill. We waited and waited, and still our food was not served. After a very long wait of over 30 minutes or more for eggs and toast, our orders arrived and they were both wrong. My omelet wasn't even the one I had ordered and my husband's was supposed to be without cheese, and it was full of cheese. We called the waitress and she apologized, retook our orders, and said she would take care of it. We were just about to give up and leave after another 30 minutes of waiting, when our re-orders finally arrived. Mine was ok but my husband's was still wrong. It was still full of cheese so he decided he would just pick the cheese out and eat it because by that time we were both starving. Then an extra order of wheat toast we ordered came and it was white bread instead of wheat. We tried to get refills on coffee and that took forever too.The waitress told me that they weren't expecting much business so they sent half of the kitchen and wait staff home. She was the only waitress for the entire dining room! Poor girl was almost in tears because quite a few people were being rude to her and walking out. Hopefully things would have been better if they had kept sufficient help, but for a hotel this size, someone made a very poor decision by sending half of the staff in the restaurant home before breakfast was over.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lslkj1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Front Office Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank for you taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad our staff was able to provide you assistance wherever needed from valet to the desk. I can certainly understand the disappointment you encountered with breakfast and have shared this with the restaurant general manager. We hope you stay with us the next time you are in town so we can show you the excellent experience I know we can provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great place to stay and the meeting rooms were good and it was run in a very professional manner. I had no problems as a quest or as a participant of the meeting. The food in the meeting was good too and I was quite surprised at how good it was. Thanks, and great job!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacerDad0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

So excited to stay at a full service Marriott...wow was I disappointed...smelly, wallpaper peeling in my room, very old carpet...very disappointed.
When I shared my concerns with front desk they said I could fill out a comment card and put it in the box...ok..here you go.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy P, Front Office Manager at Richmond Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay. I can certainly empathize with your disappointment about the excitement before checking in. Your feedback is important to us and we are constatnly looking for ways to improve our guests stay. I will forward this information on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Wonderful staff. We stayed there for a middle school convention. Staff was very patient. My daughter locked our keys in our room twice. Both times they happily let us back in. Everyone was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#13 of 82 in Richmond
1,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
0.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#7 of 82 in Richmond
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Marriott

Address: 500 E Broad St, Richmond, VA 23219-1812
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#17 Business Hotel in Richmond
#18 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £116 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of downtown, the newly renovated Richmond Marriott offers a blend of luxury and Southern charm. Guests entering this award-winning hotel in downtown Richmond will enjoy prime location within steps of the Richmond Coliseum, the State Capitol Building, and CenterStage Theater, while being connected to the Greater Richmond Convention Center via skywalk. Guests will be greeted with a warm welcome to a stylish lobby that is highlighted by modern decor, a Starbucks Coffee Shop, and a concierge desk. The well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer stunning city views, Marriott's signature Revive(R) bedding, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. The onsite T-Miller's Sports Bar & Grill provides a delicious menu of American favorites combined with craft beer and signature cocktails. Guests looking to head out for the evening can start off the night at the lobby's Liberty Bar, and take the complimentary shuttle to a number of diverse dining and entertainment venues. With over 26,000 sq. Ft. Of newly-renovated event space, this hotel also provides an excellent destination for hosting business meetings, corporate conferences, and wedding receptions in Richmond. Whether you are staying for business or taking a weekend getaway, the Marriott hotel is the perfect choice for your next trip to Richmond, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Marriott Hotel Richmond
Marriott Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing