We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
Ranked #10 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I was pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

I "won" this hotel on Priceline at a very reasonable price. Then I looked up the reviews on Tripadvisor and was quite nervous. Frankly, I don't get the bad reviews. I travel on business often and found this hotel to be much above average. The hotel lobby is newly renovated and lovely. There are beautiful view if you ar facing the back. The linens etc were up there with the better hotels. So, don't listen to what you have read if you have planned to stay here. I was pleasantly surprised and will stay here in the future when in town. The only down side is the usual hotel fare in the restaurant and there are no good dining places within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertonkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    204
    104
    54
    37
See reviews for
193
81
41
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

We were to arrive on a Wednesday night, but we missed our flight and did not arrive until the following day. Manager would not give us a refund for the night we were not there. When we ran out of coffee in our room, my husband asked where he could get a cup and was told that he could get one for a dollar in the restuarant. Also, my daughter needed to send a file to her professor, but the hotel's internet was down. We will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisyshepherd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nlaudani, Director of Revenue at Four Points by Sheraton Richmond, responded to this review, 3 June 2010
Many of our promotional and limited time offer rates are non refundable. Details of these specific rates are listed on the rate description and the terms and conditions sections. We do our best to alert potential guests when they are booking a non refundable rate.
During periods of severe weather, we occasionally lose connection to our internet service. On average, this will last 30 minutes to one hour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

I got a deal staying here through Hotwire. I travel a lot with my kids to go to swim meets, and am not picky. Just want a clean place to stay.

Hotel looks fab on first glance, but if you look closely, they really need to do a punch list and address many small issues.

Place is pretty beat up. Our room had a huge dent in the wall-like someone had body slammed it, but due to the wallpaper, you could only see it when the light was right. There were scrapes elsewhere on the walls and grout pulling out of the tiles in the bathroom. In common areas there was crown moulding coming down, huge bangs and scrapes from luggage carts. The area where you push the button for the elevator was filthy.

They offer free wireless Internet, but it is S L O W. Forget about watching anything that streams...video, etc. Connection is bad. To me, this is pretty lame. It isn't that hard to ensure that connectivity is good throughut the building.

The most aggravating thing that happened was being misinformed about breakfast. We were on a specific time schedule, so I asked the desk staff what time breakfast was, and was told 6:30 a.m. The next morning there was another family waiting, and questioned the manager about the time of breakfast. He said 7. We both stated that we were told 6:30, and he got defensive. There is a sign posted at the desk that says 6:30, but he said the sign was wrong. I told him that I didn't look at the sign-I asked. The next morning...the incorrect sign was still there.

I would stay here again for convenience, but I certainly wouldn't pay more than $75 to $80 per night. I got it for $54 via Hotwire.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2009

It was my first trip to Richmond. I loved the hotel as soon as I saw their lobby. They have the new Sheraton Link which came in very handy for me.

I was there for several nights. When their staff found out I had never been to Richmond they were all eager to help me get familiar with the surroundings. When I wanted dinner, not only did they recommend their on-site restaurant, Cafe Palm, but also nearby restaurants to which they provided complimentary shuttle service. The food at the hotel was quite good, especially the Breakfast Buffet with the omelet and waffle station.

My room was spacious and I appreciated the white linens which gave the room a fresh, clean appearance. The bed was great...and I found out you can buy the mattress on line. I also really enjoyed the large flat screen television complete with HDTV...better than I have at home!

I plan to return to Richmond later in the year and will definitely book my room at the Sheraton Park South.

  • Liked — ROOMS
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2009

Unacceptable staff. Extremely unprofessional. Several staff members carried on personal conversations, or discussed operational items directly in front of hotel guests. Picture the opposite of unobtrusive. That's the hotel staff. Cheap Suits and in your way, the whole time, not realizing that internet, breakfast, and serenity are all expected from hotels these days.

Rooms are decent, comfortable beds. The area around the hotel is run down and old. Don't choose this area unless you absolutely have to. Parking is free, breakfast is either $9.00 for continental, or $11.00 for full buffet, which is about the equivalent of any other free hotel continental breakfast. Don't bother with the rest of the hotel restaurants, chances are they will be closed just like they were during my stay. I guess there weren't enough guests to keep the restaurant open. Perhaps they shouldn't advertise it then.

You can find this hotel on Hotwire. 3*** Midlothian area. There is a Holiday Inn Select, about three minutes away, Holiday Inn Koger Center. That may be a better choice.

  • Liked — Comfortable Beds
  • Disliked — $11 Internet, $11 Breakfast, Bad Value, Bad Staff, Bad Location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelwiththebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

Horribly rude and unprofessional front desk staff. They were argumentative with guests and seemed to be poorly educated when it came to the hospitality portion of the hotel business. I would never stay here again. The food in the restaurant is not worth the money spent. The bathroom tiles were falling off of the wall revealing holes and the cleaning staff failed to remove washcloths used by the previous guests. There is a beautiful Hilton about three or four blocks away and I am sure the Best Western across the street is a much better bet!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank amf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed there on Nov 6 and 7 as part of a wedding. We saw two bugs on one of the bed and little did we know these were bedbugs! We had never seen one before despite the fact that we both travel all the time in the US and abroad. Two days later my boyfriend had the "classical" triple bedbug bites in his torso and arms, and in another couple of days he had such a bad reaction to them they were huge red circles and he had a fever. The hotel told me that bedbugs have become "a reality in the hotel industry" and that the general manager would call me on Monday. Not only did he not call me but he didn't respond to my second call and voicemail. When I finally got him on the phone, he told me that he needs to get an exterminator to confirm that there are bedbugs in the room. He did not even apologize for the unpleasant experience and laughed when I asked him to fax me the report showing he requested a third party check. For talking to a customer, he sure was disrespectful and obnoxious, and utterly unsympathetic. For all I know, the hotel could have changed the mattress since they had had 4 days since I first called them.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bedbugs and general manager attitude
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ttouzhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
8.2 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#11 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
7.7 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#2 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Richmond

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
Address: 9901 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235 (Formerly Sheraton Richmond Park South Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Richmond
#18 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#20 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Richmond 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where You Want to Be. In a fast-growing county in southeast Virginia, the Four Points by Sheraton Richmond is located among beautifully landscaped grounds, walking paths, and serene lakes. Despite our private setting, we are still conveniently situated just five minutes from two major shopping centers, 15 minutes from Richmond's lively downtown, and about 20 miles from Richmond International Airport (RIC). This great location puts city attractions like the University of Richmond and the Fan District just outside our door. All in One Place. Starting with the warm atmosphere of our lobby, we always have your comfort in mind. Make a splash in our indoor/outdoor pool, spend time with family and feed the ducks at our scenic pond, and enjoy an energizing workout in our fitness center. Enjoy delicious meals and drinks in our restaurant and lounge. For meetings and events of all sizes, we offer nearly 8,000 square feet of function space, and a business center provides support services. Home away from Home. Our inviting guest rooms and suites have everything you need for a great stay. Warm earth tones create welcoming environments for business and leisure guests alike. Take care of work at a spacious desk with High Speed Internet Access, relax in front of a flat screen TV, and get a good night's sleep in a Four Points signature bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Richmond
Richmond Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing