We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older Property but clean, nice staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian
Ranked #14 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Older Property but clean, nice staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

For some reason most of the Double Trees that I have stayed at are older. This one was originally a Holiday Inn. However, it was very clean and the room was updated. Good service, small but adequate bar. The best part was the complementary shuttle to Ruth's Chris steak House.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina B, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us, and hope that you will return to our hotel again. We are constantly updating the hotel to comply with very rigorous new DoubleTree standards, and know that you will be pleased to see our improvements each time you stay with us. Again, your feedback is very important as we strive for perfect service, and we thank you again for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    192
    104
    32
    18
See reviews for
127
71
24
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I called the front desk twice to complain about noise. I could hear loud music and people talking loudly over the music. My first call was around midnight, second call around 1:00am. Finally, I got out of bed, got dressed and walked downstairs using the stairs. When I passed the room directly below mine, I could clearly hear that they were having a party in their room. I walked to the front desk and told them which room the noise was coming from, and they addressed it at that point. But our night of sleep was ruined and I did not sleep until about 2:00am. Besides the party in the room below mine, which was the main problem, there was also loud noise coming from the atrium/bar area in the lobby of the hotel and from people at a back door of the hotel where people were going out to smoke. I could hear noise from all these locations and I think the hotel staff is so accustomed to getting complaints regarding noise from the bar/atrium that they did not think to look for noise in an adjoining room. Going forward, this hotel needs to find some way to reduce noise when guests are trying to sleep. I think they should close the bar earlier if they can't keep the noise down, and someone should walk the lobbies to make sure there are no parties like the one below my room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina B, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We are so sorry to hear of the noise issues you experienced when you stayed at our hotel. We did address these concerns first thing the next business morning, with our staff. We had a very busy evening in our Atrium Lobby Lounge that night, and we have taken any measures possible, going forward, to reduce the noise, including closing some hallway doors, shortening the bar hours, and doing whatever we can to make sure our guests enjoy a comfortable night's sleep. This one night was rather unusual but I know that doesnt change the fact that you did not have an enjoyable time with us. Please accept our sincere apologies and please be kind enough to contact us again if you do come back to this area, as we'd like to make it up to you with an upgraded room and a gift, and offer our apologies in person. Thank you for sharing your comments, and please know that we are truly sorry for your inconvenience. Kind regards, Tina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Interior changes nice but food for conferences and service has gone way down since Hilton took over property. Food was cold and vedry unappealing for lunches. The lobby bar tender was very unfriendly and non service friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank German-1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina B, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay with us. If you would be kind enough to contact me directly, I would love to provide you with an upgraded experience and gift on your next visit. Our hotel prides itself on wonderful service and I am surprised and disappointed that your experience was not a pleasant one. I am addressing your concerns with our staff, and assure you that your comments will be shared with our Food and Beverage department. I am so sorry, and hope that you will put your trust in us again at some point. Kind regards, Tina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed two nights at this location in a Junior suite. Room was a very nice size and had everything we need. Bed was very comfortable and plush. The cookies are also amazing. Great value and service for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina B, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you so much for posting a wonderful review of our property on TripAdvisor. These kinds of comments help us tremendously and we pride ourselves on providing great service to all of our guests. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed here on a five-day business trip. I would go back. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and inviting. The TV was huge! The WIFI is free but slow at times. The area is clean and safe. A mall is within a half-mile as are dozens of eateries. There is a wooded park about two miles away with a walking trail and play areas.
The hotel also has a full-service restaurant. The continental breakfast is free with the room using the coupon they give you at check-in. But if you want to get eggs, bacon, sausage, grits, and biscuits and gravy, it costs an additional $4.00.
Dinner was nice. I tried many different dishes, from the ribs to the sea scallops and have no complaints.

Room Tip: Don't forget your free cookie!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina B, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you so much for choosing us for your recent stay, and especially for taking the time to send a guest satisfaction survey to us. These responses are critical to our continued goal of excellence in terms of our service and accommodations, for all of our guests. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, and hope that you will choose us again soon, for your lodging needs. It will always be our top priority to ensure that you receive a warm, ‘DoubleTree’ welcome, and that every possible need is met during your visit. Please always let us know, at the desk, if there is anything at all we can do to enhance your stay. Again, sincerely, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I called the hotel a few hours after checking out, when I realized I'd left my pillow in the room. The staff has been very helpful; I'm told that my pillow is being shopped to me promptly. Big thanks to Brenda and James in the housekeeping department.
Our bed was very comfortable, the room was nice, standard hotel offerings.

Room Tip: One tip, ask for a room away from the lobby, regardless of the floor. The bar in the lobby opens up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cwc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina B, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay. We appreciate your comments! We pride ourselves on offering great customer service and are so glad that all went well with your stay. We agree that our lobby lounge can get a little busy (and therefore noisy) late into the evening, and we are doing our best to monitor this and to place guests on higher floors based on availability. Thank you again for writing a review, and for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This is a great location for business meeting, tourists and the traveling worker. The in room service is a treat for the tired traveler. The dining room is worth the trip. The food was prepared well and the salad bar was superb.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina B, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you so much for choosing us for your recent stay, and especially for taking the time to send a guest satisfaction survey to us. These responses are critical to our continued goal of excellence in terms of our service and accommodations, for all of our guests. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, and hope that you will choose us again soon, for your lodging needs.It was great to hear that you had such a great night' sleep! It will always be our top priority to ensure that you receive a warm, ‘DoubleTree’ welcome, and that every possible need is met during your visit. Please always let us know, at the desk, if there is anything at all we can do to enhance your stay. Again, sincerely, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
10.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian
Address: 1021 Koger Center Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23235 (Formerly Holiday Inn Koger Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Richmond
#11 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#12 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel welcome the moment you arrive at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Richmond – Midlothian, with a freshly baked cookie at check-in. This recently renovated hotel is only a short drive from downtown Richmond and is close to business areas, corporations, entertainment and shopping destinations. Offering impeccable service and great amenities, our hotel specializes in making travelers feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Richmond-Midlothian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Koger Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing