We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude, obnoxious staff. Awful hotel. Horrible customer service. Made my sister cry on her wedding day.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Arlington, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude, obnoxious staff. Awful hotel. Horrible customer service. Made my sister cry on her wedding day.”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My sister got married in Richmond, and as her matron of honor, one of the things I helped her out with was finding a hotel near the reception for the out-of-town guests to stay in, and hopefully one with a bar so that we could continue the fun there after the reception. I found this hotel and it seemed great and I called the sales office and they were very friendly and helpful. Laura, the head of their sales department said they had a big bar/restaurant area that they'd be happy to keep open until 2am for all of us since we had just a big group coming. My sister called to make the wedding room-block reservations and Laura said the same thing - of course they'd keep the bar open for all of us. So all of us made reservations at the hotel based on the fact that they said they would keep the bar open - we were trying to be safe and not drive anywhere under the influence.
My sister and her new husband arrived at the hotel first and checked into their room. Then they went down to the bar and got some drinks and all of their friends started trickling in. I know they were really looking forward to this time with friends because, for anyone who's been married before, sometimes you don't get to talk to everyone you'd like to during the actual reception, so I know they were looking forward to catching up with friends they hadn't seen in a long time, especially ones who had come from out-of-town.
But then, at 11:30 or so, they said they were closing the bar. All of us had just gotten there. My sister and her husband told the bar staff that Laura, from sales, had told them the bar would be open until 2am for all of us. They demanded that my sister show them an email from Laura...sure, like she'll just pull it out of her wedding dress. Apparenlty there had been some miscommunication between sales/management and the bar staff that night. No one in our group was being rude, obnoxious or was too drunk. All of us had just gotten to the hotel and most of us hadn't even gotten a drink yet. The bar staff told my sister it was "too bad" and that they'd have to leave - they were extremely rude - obnoxiously rude. She started crying. They started taking people's drinks and food out of their hands. The bar staff was not only stupid (they could have made more money from us that night in tips than they probably would in a whole week), but they had no heart. How would you kick out a bride in her wedding dress who's crying?
The front desk staff was not much more helpful. They said there was nothing they could do and were also being very rude to everyone. My husband and I said we wanted to cancel our room since the whole reason for staying at the hotel was because we were planning to be at the bar until late. At that point, we were both stone sober (we had both had 1 drink at the reception 3 hours earlier - I had to give a speech at the reception so I was purposefully not drinking). . We were also very polite considering the circumstances. The girl at the front desk told us we were drunk. Angry does not mean drunk. She then said she was going to cancel our room like we had asked. When I called the next day, she hadn't done it. She had lied to us.
Awful experiece all around. I definitely wouldn't book any wedding blocks at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megpeg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    67
    40
    24
    23
See reviews for
85
39
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel twice in three months. This May 31st stay I was alone and wanted to write a review since I enjoyed my stay here. The location is on 95 is just south of Richmond main city. The staff is great, check in was a breeze. Everyone always said hello and made me feel welcome and safe. Consider trying the Holiday Inn Restaurant which is called The Sporting News Grill for dinner and breakfast, I did mainly because I was alone, and it was surprisingly good with a nice waitress both times. The menu is varied and I had a vegetarian item for dinner, with a nice glass of red wine for a very reasonable price and the veggie skillet for breakfast. Locals came in to eat there so I figured it would be pretty good.
The room is newly decorated, great bed, nice pillows, nice fridge, microwave, large flat TV and a very pretty pool outside with a spray fountain. I enjoyed watching a family enjoying an evening swim.
I will definitely be returning again soon on my way South.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeeourUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My overwhelming impression, from a two-night stay, was of a property where pleasant, earnest front desk and housekeeping staff had been abandoned by an absentee management which simply didn't care. My room was clean and attractive, but there were TWO non-working bedside table lamps, a toilet that repeatedly hung up, and a bathroom fan that never shut off. (Not much fun when you need to get to sleep.) The business center was adequate, but it proved impossible to use the multi-purpose printer to PRINT – and the young lady at the desk was unable to correct this. I had other issues. There was the bizarre decision to make FOX News the default station whenever the TV was turned on. And the obvious attempt to steer guests to the on-site sports restaurant, by offering no in-room refrigerator or microwave, and no complimentary breakfast. All in all, a two-star hotel masquerading as something better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brabantio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okeechobee,Florida
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

With easy access to hwy 95 this hotel is perfect for traveling. This hotel looks brand new, its rooms are good size,very clean, with everything you need aka.. fridge,microwave coffeemaker and really comfortable beds.. The Sporting News Grill is a great addition, it had great food and a friendly staff. Its menu stretches the gauntlet to cover a variety entrees for kids as well as adults. The staff was very friendly and helpful, but I had to retrieve my own rollaway bed ( which was a one piece bed extremely light, brand new with no crossbar in the middle , my daughter said it was the best) because evidently it is Holiday Inns policy that only one person is working at this hotel during the weekends. In order for them to get someone anything during the weekend they have to close the front doors and shut down the desk. Rather than ask them to do that I just told the girl that I would carry the bed up to the second floor, although I have to question Holiday Inns concern for their employee and patrons safety, especially in an emergency situation. All in all though this is a great hotel especially for the price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ErininOkeechobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Hill, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My husband and I traveled to Richmond for a Garden Show. After checking online, the reviews were pretty good for this Holiday Inn. Location not great, lindustrial with nowhere to eat, except in the Hotel Restaurant....terrible food, travel for a meal! The room was clean and seemed comfortable, at first. Time for bed.....the bed was so hard, felt like we were sleeping on the floor...that might have been more comfortable. AND the A/C was so loud, if you did dose off, it woke you up when it started up to recycle. OMG we were exhausted by morning. My husband complained to the front desk. Her comment was "never heard a complaint like that before". No apology or attempt to make things right. I definitely would warn travelers to seek other places to stay.

Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank Antique4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnita B, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Suzanne C,

Thank you for sharing your comments and feedback. I am sorry that your experience at the Holiday Inn Richmond-South fell short. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you at your convenience, so we can address the specifics of your stay. Please contact the Operations Manager at 804-592-2900. We value all comments so that we may continually improve guest experience. We pride ourselves in having clean rooms and I sincerely apologize for your inconvenience.

Respectfully,

Dawnita Bernier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
state college
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Not very good responding to email inquries. Never heard from mgr regarding issue but his front desk team was great in spite of mgr. Resturant/sportsbar closes at 10pm n o drinks allowed to leave resturant without hotel employee escort.

Room Tip: 410 odd smell bathroom vent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i-sell-weather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

I could never fault a hotel for the conduct of other guests. I can fault a hotel for not picking up the phone at the front desk for hours on end when I called to complain about how loud another group of guests is being. The problem only went away after I called the police at 3am and they came to the hotel to take care of the issue.

The morning 'manager' was rude and acted like I was inconveniencing him by asking why no one would pick up the phone and if he knew the police came to his property. He was clueless to both, but promised to follow up on why the issue occured. I am still waiting for that follow up.

Looks like I will need to find another hotel for my frequent stop overs in Richmond. I would highly recomend that you also find another place to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel for the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JDeF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Hampton Inn Richmond South
#29 of 82 in Richmond
413 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#43 of 82 in Richmond
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
6.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road

Property: Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Address: 4303 Commerce Rd, Richmond, VA 23234-2239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WARM WELCOME A new signature arrival will welcome you to the property including new lighting, to guide your way, landscaping & design features that creates an energized & branded sense of welcome that is universally recognizable. Customized music & scent selections engage guests in a full sensory experience. New Service Promise: A Best-in-Class service culture Stay Real to further ensure the team develops the behaviors & skills to serve guests so they feel like individuals & not numbers; genuine people delivering real service. We are Richmond s NEWEST Holiday Inn located near the airport (RIC). Located off of I-95 at Belles Rd., exit 69 & near I-64 & I-895. Our full-service facility will take care of all your needs & exceed your expectations! See a different game in the Sporting News Grill, a sports themed restaurant to provide the perfect place to connect, dine & catch your favorite team in action during a stay at the Holiday Inn Richmond. CLOSE TO WHERE YOU NEED TO BE Minutes away from; Richmond International Airport (RIC), Phillip Morris, Honeywell, Dupont & Fort Lee & the other many companies in the area. Also, enjoy the many attractions in Richmond; Richmond International Speedway, Kings Dominion & Brown s Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing