We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Ranked #41 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Lisbon Falls, Maine
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Had to stay here for two weeks for business. The hotel was very accommodating and friendly. Staff consistently greeted you in the lobby and hallway. Rooms are very clean comfortable beds and very willing to help you out at anytime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday Inn R, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We appreciate your kind words and look forward to hosting your future stays.Thank you

Prince Clement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    63
    38
    23
    22
See reviews for
83
37
26
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I stop here on my way from nyc to Florida around December. I have an English bulldog so I chose this hotel cause it was pet friendly. I was charged an extra 25$ for the dog which I think is fair. 2 months later on my way back to nyc the fee for the dog had changed to 75$ that is crazy within 2 months. The second time the service was arrogant except one guy on the from desk( sorry don't remember your name ) the rooms where filthy and I agree DONT EAT AT THE RESTAURANT.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolibol7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Bolibol7,

Thank you for leaving us a feedback about your recent stay. We are sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the level of cleanliness and service received from our staff. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for one night-booked via Priceline and got a decent rate. We should have spent a little more money and stayed in downtown Richmond, though. The hotel is right off I-95 so that was very convenient, but there is not much else around as far as restaurants or entertainment. The vibe of this Holiday Inn was interesting, to say the least. I did not feel comfortable parking my car in the lot. I was initially given a smoking room and the stench of smoke was overpowering in this room (I was unaware of the smoking room at the time of check-in). The receptionist kindly gave me a non-smoking king room and this new room was fine. We had a nice view of the drained swimming pool with brown water/muck on the bottom. The A/C unit was loud, but that is really my only complaint about the room itself. Basic accommodations, free wifi, nice flat-screen TV, room seemed clean enough.

We decided to eat dinner in the attached sports bar/grill and immediately regretted this once we got our food. Our draft beer was stale/flat-exchanged it for bottled beer and that was fine. Both of our meals didn't taste right, including the french fries. I don't know if they are using rancid cooking oil, but something was definitely off. We should have eaten at the Subway across the street.

I'm glad I had to wake up early the next day because the alarm clock in the next room was going off for over 30 min and was very loud. The next time I go to Richmond, I will be staying in one of the hotels downtown. This Holiday Inn would be OK for a one night stay passing through. You have been warned about the restaurant.

Room Tip: There are smoking and non-smoking rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitziOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear MitziOC,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your thoughts regarding your recent experience with us. I am pleased that you liked the location of our hotel. It is always our goal to provide the best possible service and create memorable experiences. And on this occasion we apologize for the disappointment you had with our parking lot, the noise from the Air Conditioning unit has caused you, food and service you received from our Sports bar. Rest assured, your comments will be reviewed by the management of the hotel and will be used to target opportunity areas to avoid same incident in the future. We hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

On a holiday road trip, we stayed here for sleep, arrived late exhausted, and off early. I learned a lesson. Turn on the lights and check the bed! I woke to find that I had slept in human waste. I took pictures and reported it. This Holiday Inn was the worst. That's the worst part, but overall the carpets had large stains, and the shower drain was gross and broken. I will never go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Suzanne C,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to your response and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Arthur, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had to lay over and went to this hotel as it came recommended.It is a very nice hotel with friendly staff that are very helpful.It has a restaurant within it and it was a decent priced restaurant.I would definitely stay here again.Room was clean and had everything I needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillFogarty3026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnita B, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear BillyboyF,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We are happy tha you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the positive comments about our hotel and staff. We look forward to seeing you when you return to Richmond.


Sincerely,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I arrived here with my boyfriend after being denied a room at the candlewood suites right across the lot because I wanted to pay with cash. the woman at the front desk was so helpful and immediately offered me a room at the same rate! it was so nice and clean and the room as well!! me and my boyfriend really enjoyed our stay and will be staying here again soon!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pippylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnita B, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Pippylove,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. We are very pleased that you had such a great time and experience. Your comments will be passed onto the entire staff.

We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,
The Management Team,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We always stay at this hotel on our way back to South Carolina from Pennsylvania.

The staff is always friendly and professional and the fact that this hotel is pet friendly is the icing on the cake.

Everything about our stay was great and we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLR156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnita B, Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear JLR156 ,

Thank you for taking the time to post comments about your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.


Sincerely,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Hampton Inn Richmond South
#28 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
6.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
14.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road

Property: Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Address: 4303 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WARM WELCOME A new signature arrival will welcome you to the property including new lighting, to guide your way, landscaping & design features that creates an energized & branded sense of welcome that is universally recognizable. Customized music & scent selections engage guests in a full sensory experience. New Service Promise: A Best-in-Class service culture Stay Real to further ensure the team develops the behaviors & skills to serve guests so they feel like individuals & not numbers; genuine people delivering real service. We are Richmond s NEWEST Holiday Inn located near the airport (RIC). Located off of I-95 at Belles Rd., exit 69 & near I-64 & I-895. Our full-service facility will take care of all your needs & exceed your expectations! See a different game in the Sporting News Grill, a sports themed restaurant to provide the perfect place to connect, dine & catch your favorite team in action during a stay at the Holiday Inn Richmond. CLOSE TO WHERE YOU NEED TO BE Minutes away from; Richmond International Airport (RIC), Phillip Morris, Honeywell, Dupont & Fort Lee & the other many companies in the area. Also, enjoy the many attractions in Richmond; Richmond International Speedway, Kings Dominion & Brown s Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing