We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cramped room, not to holiday inn standards” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
Ranked #40 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
293 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Cramped room, not to holiday inn standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I am an ihg member and find this one not nearly up to brand standards. I felt safe but room was only passably clean and I am not sure that the linens were changed- I am so hoping that's not the case but they don't look so great. Sink doesn't drain. It was a decent price and not too far from downtown but I will probably not choose this hotel first again. Staff was ok but not overly friendly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lab12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear lab12345,

Thank you for being an IHG Club Rewards member and for writing us a review. We would like to apologize you were not well satisfied with the room you had and for any inconvenience you may have experienced that did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    53
    41
    32
    32
See reviews for
44
26
18
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel I thought was easy to find and close to downtown Richmond. Parking was free and ample and the lot was well lit. I walked in and was greeted with a smile. Check in was smooth and fast. My room was comfortable, clean and I was happy. I was close to my two favorite places - Starbucks and Panera Bread. Lots of shopping in the area for a couple things that I needed. The staff I encountered were friendly. Overall I felt the property was clean and as expected. Internet worked well. The television worked well. Air conditioner perfect. Bed was comfy. Bathroom clean and plenty of thick towels. Thank you for a great stay! I enjoyed my visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorryFreePhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

First things first: the neighborhood is very industrial. Almost "sketchy". Not ideal surroundings. The hotel itself is adequate at best. It appears that they're doing renovations...guess they didn't get to my room just yet. Breakfast in the restaurant was "meh"...for a freshly made omlette, it should have tasted better. Tiny, tiny bathroom with ridiculously large sink; no place to put anything down! Poor wi-fi. All in all, I'd strongly suggest finding another place, in a neighborhood you've properly investigated (that's my own fault!).

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Mike S,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had a great business stay. I generally nevery Tay t a Holiday Inn but was pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and personable. They were very helpful especially the front desk staff. Room was comfortable, clean and well maintain. Upon checking decided to stay and have the breakfast, which was a winner!! Enjoyed everything on the breakfast bar and the older gentleman serving my table was very hospitable. Overall I would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Browniect107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staff was quite friendly at desk and restaurant. Room appeared to be newly remodeled, with USB and power sources in 2 places, and was clean each day. Bed was decent. Safe location considering the surrounding area. Price was good. Had no issues to complain about. I spend 180 nights a year in hotels and was quite satisfied. Don't believe everything you read, some folks will complain no matter what. Its a nice hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The front desk typically sets the tone of the property so I should have turned around and found another hotel after such a cold impersonal check in. I took a chance because I was exhausted. As I type this I'm sitting at the bar/restaurant waiting for the cook to make his grand 30 minute late arrival. He's a no show so far so I can't order a much needed meal. There's no sundry at this hotel so a snack is out of the question.
The room wasn't very clean as there were evaporation stains in front of the toilet. Nasty!
Shelby at the bar is the one bright spot on an otherwise bleak stay. I'm regretting leaving Candlewood to be closer to my event.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBlog S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear TravelBlog S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is unfortunate that your experience at check in and at the restaurant did not make for an exemplary hotel stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for these shortcomings. As for the cleanliness of the bathroom, we have forwarded your concerns with the staff to ensure this type of situation does not reoccur. As a valued guest, we give great importance to all comments as this helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on.

We hope you would consider us again on your next travel so we can provide a completely positive experience.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The facility is run down, but maintained. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food at the restaurant was average at best while the staff was excellent and friendly. The room was worn. The sink was clogged. The television didn't work, at times: "no signal." The location was urban, but safe. The value was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Robert H,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased to know that you found the level of staff service highly commendable and our hotel of good value.

I am sorry some aspects of our hotel and room amenities fell below your expectations. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Richmond West
Courtyard Richmond West
#23 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond West End
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Richmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End

Property: Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
Address: 2000 Staples Mill Rd, Richmond, VA 23230-3109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off historic Broad Street near the I-64 and I-95 intersection, the Holiday Inn(R) Richmond - I-64 West End hotel offers easy access to everything "The River City" has to offer. The hotel is two miles from the Amtrak station and near Richmond International Speedway and downtown attractions. The surrounding neighborhood features several shops and restaurants, as well as business parks home to Fortune 500 companies. Our hotel's location is ideally close to historic Monument Avenue and a number of shopping centers like Willow Lawn and Crossroads. A short drive away, you'll find many attractions in bustling downtown Richmond, VA. The hotel is also near Richmond International Speedway and just five miles from famed Hollywood Cemetery. Business travelers appreciate our proximity to major corporations headquartered in Richmond, VA. Our hotel is close to Wellpoint, Anthem, Altria, Sears, Martins and more. On-site, the convenient 24-hour Business Center is equipped with copy, fax, print and Internet service. Hotel amenities include Crossroads Bar and Grille, a Fitness Center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Visit Richmond, Virginia and enjoy the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn(R) Richmond - I-64 West End hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond i 64 West End Hotel Richmond
Crossroads Holiday Inn
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing