We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comedy of Errors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 1 June 2014

CHECK-IN
--they didn’t know to credit the amount taken out of my card due to late arrival to that same night’s stay
--so was therefore charged twice for first night
--printed out an incorrect agreement and I had to persuade him of it
--failed to recognize me as a Gold Elite Choice Member
--told me that breakfast was a buffet (he was wrong—it was a la carte—attached restaurant)
--when I handed military ID for the discount, was told I don't need THAT, give me your LICENSE

ROOM
--both clocks were off (one 25 min, one 10 min).
--dresser drawer was sticking out and would not close
--the water would not drain properly during a shower
--the restaurant menu in the books was outdated
--told the staff at the desk of these issues, nothing was fixed during our 3 night stay

CHECK-OUT
--they had no idea what was wrong and why I was being charged twice (see above)
--sent me a very confusing e-mail bill (I had to leave after waiting for it)f
--account not credited back properly until 4 business days later
--points only showed up for 2 nights when I was there 3 nights (and charged 2x for first night)

NO PERSONALIZED SERVICE
--received a generic "sorry we didn't exceed expectations" e-mail, very impersonal
--in their defense, they did credit me with enough points for a free night's stay AFTER I reviewed on Choice.com; however, no real issue was actually addressed and no real apology was given, just general platitudes, for which I was disappointed

The room was actually very comfortable, except the few issues mentioned.
Noise was extensive Saturday night, but probably beyond the hotel's control.

Room itself a decent 3 stars, service NEGATIVE 10, followup 2 stars

Room Tip: A stay on weeknights is comfortable. Just know your stuff and get everything in writing. Verify yo...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

There was nothing special about this place. They do have a new restaurant that is a second location for Nacho Mama's. The hotel was full for a wedding and we did not have any noise problems nor complaints. The room did what we needed it to do. We had a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdogdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here on May 16, 2014 and was a tad leery after reading the reviews. However, our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Room smelled a bit musty because the A/C had been turned off, but after it ran for a bit that cleared up. The pool area looked awesome (we didn't use because of time) and they even had a little "cabana" feel seating area that looked like they might serve drinks and food. Would recommend parking on the top level of the 2 deck garage. Front desk staff were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: If traveling with a dog request a room away from the main entrance/exit area of the parking garage.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I checked into the Clarion Hotel (3207 North Blvd) in Richmond on May 17, 2014. After reading reviews from Google, who gave it three stars, we were excited to find a reasonably priced hotel on a spontaneous trip to Richmond. Immediately upon entering the "non-smoking" room, we were overcome with the stench of stale cigarette smoke. The room was reasonably clean, but the next morning after getting out of the shower, I noticed a long curly black pubic hair attached to one of the towels. I immediately dropped the towel, and reached for another... which, also had pubic hairs!! I ended up drying off with a hand towel, after thoroughly inspecting it. I hope this concern finds it way to the right department, and resolution is made. After an experience like this, I would be hesitant to stay at a Clarion Hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rbeau2zj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

As a Diamond member of the Choice Privileges frequent guest program, I stay at Choice hotel properties quite frequently, of which Clarion is one. Clarion is one of the more prestigious brands in that hotel family, so I expect a bit more than average when I stay at one. This hotel did a good job of living up to the expectations associated with the Clarion brand.

From the outside, this hotel is not impressive. It's an older hotel, in an older part of town, adjacent to I-95, and near the minor league ballpark. But once inside, I found the place to be quite comfortable, in surprisingly good repair, and the service was good as well.

My guest room was of ample size, and while the decor is, in some ways, slightly dated, it had been well maintained, the room was very clean and the furniture was in good shape - not nicked, or scratched. The bathroom was up to date and spotless. I don't know if I expected things to be this nice based on the drive-up appearance of the hotel's exterior, but I was pleasantly surprised with my room and enjoyed a good night's sleep.

The hotel itself is sprawling and consists of a number of buildings. There is ample parking, and I did not feel unsafe in the immediate vicinity.

Check-in and check-out were both handled by pleasant, efficient staff people.

One of the reasons I stayed here was because of the price, which made this property an excellent value for the money. A variety of discounts are available at the brand website, and, in addition, Choice Hotels runs frequent promotions for members of their guest loyalty program whereby even infrequent travelers can earn valuable rewards.

Overall - nice stay, good value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel as a pass thru catching up with my crew and I have to say that this is a nice hotel. The beds were very comfortable as well as the staff was very curtious as we had checked in. The only issue that I have for the hotel is that the rooms are some what out dated. They basically need to receive a face lift. Other then that...not to shabby one bit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jimhandy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

First off the grounds are very dirty..does not give a warm welcome.The rooms stink...almost afraid to crawl into the bed, dont know whether the bed is clean or the floors are clean, spider webs in the rooms, so you know it is not cleaned proper. The food in the resturant was cold and not cooked through. There was not hot water for a shower. Staff didnt seem to care about the service we were given. We are from a transportation company and travel lots and this is the worst place I have ever seen.There is nothing close by where one can walk to. Very sad location,,bums walking around hotel asking for money and food. Not a pleasant feeling.Screming adult, kids, could not sleep and have to get in Motorcoach and drive lives for 10 hours, this is safe how, all because of a disgusting hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KelT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#34 of 82 in Richmond
140 reviews
7.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#44 of 82 in Richmond
235 reviews
7.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Richmond Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Richmond Central

Address: 3207 N Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23230-4225 (Formerly Holiday Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £39 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Richmond Central 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Clarion Hotel Richmond Central....Close To Everything...Far From Ordinary! Richmond's most centrally located hotel is just off I-95 & I-64 in the heart of Virginia's state capital. Closet Hotel to Greyhound Bus Lines, The Diamond and Race Track. One of the city's convention properties, we are just minutes from the Greater Richmond Convention Center. The historic and financial districts (including numerous Fortune 500 companies, Virginia Commonwealth University, Virginia Union University and the vast array of 'Museums on the Boulevard' are minutes from our door! The Richmond Raceway Complex, home to twice yearly NASCAR races is within miles of our hotel, and we are within walking distance of the Arthur Ashe Center. Clarion Hotel Richmond Central offers 176 deluxe accommodations, including three suites. The Executive King building with 32" Flat Screen LCD and Mirco/Fridge. We unveiled our new 'queen/queen' guest rooms! ZODIAC Restaurant & Lounge is open for breakfast and dinner daily. Our parking is plentiful - and complimentary! High -speed wireless Internet access is free and available property wide. . Our flexible meeting space can accommodate groups up to 600! At Clarion Richmond Central- memorable guest experiences happen daily! ** On To Richmond!' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Richmond Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Richmond
Central Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing